Good good links #129

Bring back, bring back, oh bring back my Saturday to me, to me …

Apparently I have a newfound thing for song lyrics as evidenced this past Sunday, too. Honestly, though, this week feels like there had been no Saturday. Everbody dislikes vague blogging – myself included – but the day started out wiht a serioiusly scary happening for my family. Things are better again now but that really threw me off for the remainder of the day. Life is precious. Tell your loved ones how much you appreciate having them in your life often – not just on Valentine’s Day.

Okay, onto nicer topics though I do hope you love love.

I’m sorry I haven’t replied to comments on this post yet – I’m happy it resonated with so many of you. The reason are laptop troubles once again which led to it crashing in frequent intervals [I’m pretty much expecting the next one to happen as I type …]. I will get back to them, though. Promise.

Before I go I can’t forget to send a special shoutout to Kat. She’s the birthday girl today and also had a pretty amazing chocolate theme going on her blog this week which you can’t miss because: chocolate.

Happy Sunday and happy reading!


Good good links

Good good [food for thought]

Why I (and Everybody Else) Should Learn to Take a Compliment via Popsugar

“Playing small and being timid about my beauty or strength are not doing anyone any favors”. And yet many of us do it. Time to make a change.

when you just want someone to take care of you via sometimes, always, never

A beautiful reminder that it’s okay to be aching and we’re deserving of love and hugs.

 

 

Good good [advice, inspiration and other insightful reads]

10 Things You Should Never Post to Social Media via PureWow

Take some advice from Ed Sheran and just: don’t! It’s for your own best – not just others!

12 Things You Don’t Need To Apologize For via Peace, Love & Oats

Like what you like, be who you are and don’t scare away from talking about it.

3 Everyday Words That Make You Sound Pretty Rude in Emails via The Muse

#3 aside I fully agree here. For all my fellow friends of language and grammar.

32 Must-Follow Food and Nutrition Blogs via Greatist

Trust me, neither your nor my Bloglovin’ feed is overflowing yet – oh, the lie! Honestly, though, this is a great list festuring some blogs I’ve been following for years and some great new additions.

7 Ways to Live a More Creative Life via The Private Life of a Girl

While the last sentence sums it all up every single one of these tips is worth trying.

How to Make a Gratitude Journal Even More Transformational. via Elephant Journal

An interesting idea to turn our view around and one that actually makes a lot of sense

 

Health

12 Healthy Foods You’re Overeating on Accident via Run to the Finish

“Guilty” of #1 hence why I don’t buy it anymore. Some of these you’ll know but others might surprise you (#8!).

 

Blogging

Are you an authentic blogger? via Skinny Fitalicious

Blogging is a lot of work and for some, outsourcing certain parts of it might work – as long as the community aspect doesn’t get lost.

Little Known Tools to Design a Dazzling Blog via Gina Alyse

While I’m still far from thinking about blog design these are some seriously clever strategies to create the blog of your dreams.

What It Takes to Make a Recipe Go Live via The Blissful Balance and Behind the Scenes: A Day in the Life of a Food Blogger via In It 4 The Long Run

Georgie and Christina are true blogging mavens and these insights into their days and creative process were very interesting.

 

 

Good good [posts to make you smile + DIYs]

10 Things to Never Say to a Healthy Eater via Popsugar

Once again a pinch of truth in these to take with a grain of salt. We can’t really like healthy eating, no?!

Obama Sends A Valentine’s Day Message To His Wife, With A Little Help From Ellen via Huffington Post

Because it’s Valentine’s Day and I can’t deny that while not being into the whole fuss about it I’m a hopeless romantic.

 

Good good [food]

chocolate covered strawberry cheesecake bites via love me, feed me

Careful whom you’re sharing these with because they look like they might cause spontaneous marriage proposals😉.

Clean Eating Vegan Strawberry Mousse via The Healthy Family and Home

Do you sense a berry topic here? This sounds dreamily creamy and – if you happen to have coconut milk chilling in the fridge – would make a fabulous last-minute dessert.

Fudge Truffles {vegan + paleo] via Katalyst Health

These look amazing and make you wonder why storebought ones contain a million [crappy] ingredients when these heavenly bites use a mere five.

Vegan Fondue via Healthy Slow-Cooking

Just reading the ingredient list of this is making me hungry and feel like getting out the dipping vehicles [= vegetables galore].

No-Bean Roasted Carrot Hummus via Physical Kitchness

If you’d told me chickpea-less hummus could sound just as good as regular I’d have doubted you. But look at this …

How to make vegan pasta via Amuse your Bouche

Making pasta from scratch is on my life “kitchen to-do” list and this recipe doesn’t even require a machine.

Plantain flour via Immaculate Bites

A tutorial on how to prepare your own paleo-friendly flour – no oven or dehydrator required.

 

 

 

Happiness-inducing today: First and foremost that the situation alluded to above has improved again and then also thankfulness for kind people being there to help right away.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Good good links #129

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve definitely posted all of those “10 things you shouldn’t post to social media” at one point or another. What can I say? My cats are cute, my yoga studio is my sanctuary, and all I want to do after two glasses of vino is share EVERYTHING with EVERYONE!!! Ahhhh…life.

Leave a Reply

