Week in review: Back in the kitchen and many smiles.

… and here we are on the last day of February (!) with another Week in Review. First things first, though: I’m not usually the kind of person to get all sappy but thank you for all of your feedback, opinions and link shares for Thursday’s post. It was a post dear to my heart and seeing how many of you could relate was overwhelming. Due to limited internet access once again I haven’t been able to reply to comments yet but I will.

If you belong to the large part of the population who has a fierce dislike for Mondays here’s a song to get your week started with a happy dance party. Actually, today as an extra day we’re only granted every four years necessitates a little cheerful dancing as is, don’t you think so? Anyway, let’s kick the week off in proper listing style with Meg again.  Here’s a glance into my past week:

Week in review

My favourite achievement/happening first: I spent time with my nephew. [Insert goofy smile and lots of oooohs and aaawwws <- even I as the language fiend am unable to keep up my whole sentences and can’t find the right words here.] My sister, her husband and the little bundle of joy stopped by for a short visit on Sunday – my mum’s birthday – and I forgot pretty much everything else. I know I promised to keep gushing to a minimum but he started smiling this week and -proud aunt moment – I was able to make him smile a lot. Forget about boys, I found my new crush😉.

Because I felt a bit guilty for the gushing – okay, no, just because I like you – I  baked no-baked you some treats that my whole family went crazy about [and they’re my biggest food critics]. Remember what I said about this recipe being the one you need to try if you make any of mine? I may or may not have fierce competition for it. Just take a look … Recipe coming on Thursday and yes, my hands got covered in chocolate in the making. Worse things have happened before – can you say broken plates?!

Raw brownie

The usual weekly: Ran errands for myself as well as some for my parents.Did the dishes by hand as well as loaded and unloaded the dishwasher. It’s nice to have one but I still try to be aware of how many dishes I use.

I wrote and published three blog posts including one for NEDA week. What’s funny is that I remembered NEDA week was coming up all January and then it somehow slipped my mind until the past Monday. I’m glad I still published the post.

Worked five days a week and it’s a busy time at the office so I’ve been stayin longer pretty much every day.

Taught German three times again. Two of those were quite successful – students looking forward to lessons and actively asking for tasks make every teacher happy – and one sub-par.

Cleaned my apartment including the floors. Not the fridge yet, though. Just one more saved for the next week in review, right?

Had a really nice conversation with one of the clients at work. Her positive outlook on life despite suffering from a deathly illness is inspiring.

Relaxed. That one’s hard for me. Lack of sleep meant I was tired to the max when returning home after work but actually allowing myself to accept this and just lie down is so.freaking. hard. Allowing myself some trashy TV – it’s a true guilty pleasure – for the first time in who knows how long. What is it about mindlessly watching TV – or in my case a live stream online – that is so relaxing?

February_flowers

Made my own cashew butter for the first time. Or in other words: finally starting to really use my Vitamix. I’ve somehow had/still have that fear of wrecking it when making nut butters though that ironically was my main reason to want one. I make myself laugh.

Walked after work every day. With it still getting dark fairly early that usually means a quick 15-minute lap only but fresh air nonetheless.

red shoes_walk

Braved the geese again. Not intentionally. If I could avoid them for the rest of my life you better believe I would. But heading out for my walk on Friday  it wasn’t long until I saw … geese! This time they were even further away from the path I was walking on but upon seeing me one of those beasts started hissing and running towards me. No screaming on my part this time but I –ran– and my heart was beating as fast as I feel it would if I met Adam Levine. Only Adam wouldn’t scare me😉. Either way, I waited for some time, watching the geese through the trees lining the path and then ran past them as fast asI could  [wearing a heavy winter coat and no running shoes, mind you]. Ridiculous? Maybe. But I won’t let those feathery friends foes steal my opportunity to get some fresh air in.
Whatever you’re calling me for this: stupid goose is not an option!

That was a little wrap-up of my recent going-ons that I’ll also share for MIMM. because despite some ups and downs it was a good week.

Whatever comes your way today: take it and see the silver lining. Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Read the first point on my list. Sorry not sorry.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!
How well are you able to relax? What’s your favourite way to do it?
 

 

12 thoughts on “Week in review: Back in the kitchen and many smiles.

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I am so ready for the little crocuses to start making an appearance. Considering we had 66 degree weather yesterday (19 degrees Celsius), I might have some in my yard right now, although this warm weather is definitely unusual for us this time of year, and it’s already threatening to plummet. Oh well, you can’t win them all.

    I’m glad you got to spend time with your nephew. Hopefully you’ll feel the same about my little babe when you visit Cleveland…um hello, we are getting the room ready.😉

    There is something about trashy television which is oddly soothing. Keep on watching and relaxing. It will get easier over time, I promise.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    You need some serious geese ninja gear to wear as you stealthily sneak past those guys. Maybe the next geese fighting superhero…
    Relaxing is work for some of us, ironic as that is. Something to be practiced and slowly made more comfortable. Trashy tv and some chocolate – as were my companions last night – usually help test the waters.
    Sounds like it was a nice week! I can feel both yours and your nephews smile from here!🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      A superhero? I like the sound of that. Actually, just having the standard superhero abilty to fly would help me here already😉.
      It’s really funny how what comes easily to others can be so hard for us. I’m happy to hear you relaxed with some good old trash TV, too. And chocolate obviously gets my approval any time.

  3. Kate Bennett says:

    I went on a walk at a pond yesterday and thought of you thanks to all the geese!
    I think most weeks come with ups and downs, but it’s always a win when the ups outweigh the downs!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      You’re one brave lady in choosing a walking route close to geese😉. I’d honestly avoid them altogether but it’s the only route possible after work when it’s not that light outside anymore.
      Even if my weeks are heavy on the downs I force myself to find the positives. I’m just coming back from working with a colleague who is almost completely blind to the silver linings and constantly complaining. That can’t be healthy.

  4. Ellie says:

    I wish I had a Vitamix! I use my food processor to make nut butters and it works rather well (knock on wood). Geese always accompany me on my runs during the summer and I can’t say I’m not a bit frightened of them :-X
    The brownies look amazing! I bet your family loved them🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, I’ve actually heard food processors work better for nut butters. Only they’re not common to have at all over here. Which one do you have? The Cuisinart one is suposed to be amazing.

      • Ellie says:

        Mine is Black and Decker. I got it for less than $15 and it has lasted me over 3 years and so many uses. It will never fail!

Leave a Reply

