Week in review: Living that adult life

Some weeks I – maybe you, too? – just feel like no. No to that whole adulting, responsibilities, paying bills. Can I please take a trip back to childhood where the biggest problems were broken toys or not getting our will?  Then again, there are many silver linings to that grown-up life, too, so I won’t go on whining. Rather, let’s get listing with Meg for another Week in Review.

Week in review

Worked the usual five days. Stlll not my dream job but the past week provided me with diversified tasks so that’s good. Always looking for the silver linings.

Published three posts again and read many great ones by others – in case you haven’t seen yesterday’s post: I really like the food for thought I happened upon in the past week.

Bought my mum chocolate. Not for any specific reason  – we’ve never celebrated Mother’s Day and I actually wouldn’t have known it was yesterday had it not been for Instagram – but just because. It’s the kind of chocolate I don’t really fancy but the favourite of her and my dad so when I saw it on offer I bought four bars. These are triple the regular size so technically should last for a while. Technically = not with my dad around.

Milka chocolate bars

Met/dealt with my non-friends, the spiders, again. Read: I cleaned my apartment including the ceilings that  said non-friends have chosen to be their territory. I’d like to disagree.

Learned new skills at work. It’s nice to grow into a more responsible position rather than just watch others do the important tasks.

Fuelled my brain by reading. I got a new issue of my favourite magazine and it’s just as good as any of theirs.

Experimented with another recipe that I’m not sure will come to fruition yet. While not difficult it took some more time – preparing my own non-dairy and refined sugar-free condensed milk – which was intimidating but fun. The verdict on its taste and success versus fail is still out as it needs to chill in the fridge overnight before cutting into it. Let’s hope the combination of multiple ingredients that taste fabulous on their own will result in a delicious outcome.

Recipe testing

Finally took a trip to the glass containers to discard my empties. Am I the only one who keeps procrastinating on this? I’m not even sure why because it literally takes less than two minutes once I’m there but I still drag it out every time.

Did some laundry. Another one of those adult tasks I dislike with a passion. Fresh clothes and sheets? Yes. But hanging the laundry up, taking it down and folding? I’d rather clean the bathroom and that’s to say something.
.
Went to the cinema semi-spontaneously on Saturday night . The movie was a-okay but the fact I didn’t stress over fitting it into my schedule short notice was good. It probably sounds odd as I enjoy these kind of activities but I can become pretty unflexible in my routine if I haven’t gone out in some time.

Flowers

Relaxed on Saturday. It stressed me out knowing I hadn’t accomplished anything by the end of the day but I also knew I  somehow needed this kind of day.

Went on several walks again, one with my mum that allowed for a really good [= deep] conversation.

Treated myself to an order of Yogi Chocolate Chili Tea. Like I mentioned it’s not available where I live so ordering online is my only chance to get it. I find spending a lot of money at once hard. Buying twelve boxes of tea over the course of several momths? Fine. The same sum at once? Whew.

Yogi Tea

Prepared another batch of these No-bake fudge brownies – and managed to almost kill my Vitamix in the process. Ooops.

Worked on drafts for several blog posts. The only problem is that none of them is finished yet because apparently my mind is either on strike or flooded with ideas for four different posts at once. A little slower, please.

Tried to keep calm when one of the German classes I teach didn’t go well at all. It’s a constant up and down – some days the kids actually want to learn and others they’re driving me crazy. I’m trying not to get too mad at myself for feeling somewhat clueless in those moments.

That’s it from me for now. Make this Monday a good one!

 

Happiness-inducing today:  A very sweet e-mail by a blogger friend.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
What’s your last favourite part of adult life/household duty?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Week in review: Living that adult life

  1. Lyss says:

    Three achievements from my past week were: working out, finishing up my last week of school before spring break, and making the trip/arriving to Florida! My least favorite household duty is probably doing dishes… or laundry haha

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad you got a lovely walk in with momma, along with a chocolate break. Chocolate for no special reason is always warranted.

    There’s something which needs to be said about walking away from adulting for a minute. I spent Saturday and part of Sunday with my family in Buffalo, and it was so nice not to have to do anything other than chill.

    Whatever is in that bowl, your recipe experiement, looks fantastic. I’m crossing my fingers it comes out good and that you’ll make it for me.🙂

    Happy Monday!!

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    Your point about your mind being flooded for ideas and not finishing a post – me to a “tee” this week. With everything it seemed – not just blog posts (though that was definitely a big one).
    I’m so intrigued by your homemade non dairy condensed milk. I’ve definitely never heard of anyone tackling this. Can’t wait to hear more about it – and your other recipe experiment.

    Ugh. Adulting. Even the most “adulty” adults need to step away from time to time. Watch a kids movie, buy something silly, make a craft….all things are good for the soul, no matter the age.

    Learning new skills at work, spontaneous night out at the movies, fighting those demons that say don’t spend too much money on tea (I know those well)…. so many congrats.

  4. Kristy @ Southern In Law says:

    I hate adulting so much at times that I actually have a shirt that says “I can’t adult today. Please don’t make me adult”. Jesse knows that if I have that shirt on, girlfriend needs some SERIOUS chocolate or netflix bingeing or something haha!

    I totally feel your frustration with your German classes. Kids are so unpredictable so you’re bound to have those days where nothing goes to plan and all they do is run amuck! Sometimes you’ve got to teach them in a way that they don’t actually realise is learning. I know teaching numeracy/literacy to kids I had to get creative because some kids just simply didn’t want to pick up a book or work on equations – instead we played games, read recipes or wrote words in different materials.

    Hope this week’s a better one for you! xo

  5. Ellie says:

    My least favorite household duty is feeding my cats wet food. It smells and I want to hurl…but I do it because I love them right? Actually the other day when my cat Sterling threw up and then knocked over my garbage I yelled “STERLING! YOU AND DONALD TRUMP MAKE MY QUESTION MY MORAL THAT ALL BEINGS MATTER!”
    Oh man they test my limits! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

