Currently … March

March is that weird in-between month. It’s not yet spring, not really winter anymore [though the temperatures in the mornings around here would make you second-guess this]. And Thursdays are those in-between days – not yet the weekend, not bearing the fresh [or if you’re usually facing a heavy workload on Mondays: heavy ] feeling of a new week anymore. As my brain is apparently caught in a weird in-between state where I can’t seem to finish one post but draft three at once I decided to forgo either of those. What better way to solve the problem than go with some thinking out loud and a little glimpse into life as I currently know it?

Currently_2

 

Drinking:  This tea. Tea snobbery is a thing and thanks to BuzzFeed a verified obsession in my case so there’s no denying it. Honestly, though, if you can get your hands on this Yogi Chocolate Chili Tea: do it! I won’t drink any other [at home] right now.

Yogi tea wisdom

Eating: All the Cs once again. I seem to do that every March – actually: have been doing so for months now.Carrots, Cauliflower. Chocolate. Coconut milk. Not together, mind you.Shown here is a  sneaky b that has been making its way into my life on an almost daily basis: Brussels sprouts. A vegetable you either like or really despise. Which team are you on?

Brussels sprouts_stir-fry

 

[Non-] Guilty Pleasure:  Ich habe heute leider kein Foto für dich. <- Guess that show. Okay, only Germans will know. .Do you remember my mention of trash TV for relaxation? I didn’t spill the beans on what exactly so the cat’s piut of the bag now: Germany’s Next Topmodel. I actually have what I’d call a very low tolerance to trash TV and I’m not saying this judging others. It’s simply that I find a lot of what’s on German TV to be unbearable to watch [and I know I’m not alone on this one – American shows have a much better reputation]. But watching this show somehow lured me in again afters years of lot watching it anymore. I’ll even overlook Heidi Klum’s bad grammar😀. The show is on tonight so

Nail colour and outfit: Forever not taking the classic nail polish show-off picture. Also forever being into all shades coral/pink/red. This is Essie’s Manhattan Ave-hue which I really recommend not only for its colour – the obvious one – but as it’s one of the few I’ve found to truly last on my nails. Almost every other polish has started chipping by the second or third day so far.

Currently_nails_Essie_Manhattan Ave-hue

Obsession: The pictures of my nephew my sister sends me. I’ll keep it at that to spare you my gushing once again.

Reading: More like:  the last book I finished: Poor Economics. It’s the one I mentioned in my Week in Review a while ago and while I think a full-on review is impossible – there’s too much information – I could give summing it up a try if any of you are interested. A lot of thought-provoking, enlightening insight and many a-ha moments.

Poor economics_book

Listening To: My current playlist  is an all over the place mix-up but fitting my current mood. Including this gem right here – judge all you want but if your key criteria for songs is getting you in a good mood: this delivers.

Need:  After reading the book mentioned above it feels very first worldly [not a word, I know] to see any of the things coming to mind as actual needs. A new laptop – mine’s been failing on me for months, if not a year already  – would be quite helpful with blogging and … everything, though.

Bane of Existence: Late nights resulting  in lack of sleep. There’s no denying the fact I’m a night owl but also none in this not meshing well with regular working hours.

Listening to: My current playlist is a wild mix of songs – some new, some old, some slow, some fast. Main criteria: cheering me up. This one delivers:

Excitement:   It might get old for you but … my sister coming to visit on Easter weekend. Obviously with the little boy who stole my heart. Needless to say Easter can’t come fast enough.

Procrastination: All kinds of blog work to be done. It’s not that I don’t want to get started – the problem is deciding on where to do so.

Triumph:  Sharing recipes on here again – and ones that are approved by others.  For actual food bloggers this isn’t a major feat. But me? I’m neither a chef nor baker by nature – too much of an overthinker  [creativity in the kitchen for a part is about letting go, no?!] – so recipes actually turning out and being a huge success with others feels very rewarding. A little preview of what’s to come your way next week …

Bienenstich_Coconut slice

Link: This website. Fun and helpful at the same time? Yes, please.

Mood: Am I the only one who finds this hard to answer and odd for a post summing up a month of currents? <- that would be me trying to slip away from answering it. Honestly, though, this changes quickly for me at the moment.

That was a long post. Over to you now!

Happiness inducing today: So. much. sunlight. until early in the evening. Spring is on its way!

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Tell me your current

  • a) book
  • b) needs
  • c) food
  • d) bane of existence
  • e) triumph.

23 thoughts on “Currently … March

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m not crazy about TV, but I -loved- watching America’s Next Top Model. It got a little weird and lost some of it’s magic over the years, but the early seasons? Gold. I still go back and watch them on YouTube sometimes😆 And I have the same problem with the inconsistencies in Essie’s polishes. Some of them are great and last forever, and some seriously chip on the first day😡

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Same here. I actually don’t own a TV but just watch the episodes online. It’s also the same about the new Germany’s Next Topmodel seasons: not as good as the first ones.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      An interesting comparison. I really like Brussels sprouts cooked pretty much any way – not raw, though – but tofu isn’t one of my favourites. How do you like to prepare it?

      • Jade says:

        As long as there is some kind of marinade and/or seasoning on the tofu it’s good, but horrible when not cooked or cooked completely by itself

  2. Hollie says:

    I agree that March is such a strange month. It always feels like it should be warmer than it actually is. Sometimes it’s icy and cold…sometimes it’s beautiful. Who knows what this Spring will bring.

    I like Brussel sprouts a lot myself.

  3. Laura says:

    Brussels sprouts=(mini) cabbages. There’s your “C”!

    Let’s answer some of these questions, shall we?
    a) book: ugh not currently reading. Netflix wins.
    b) needs: a day off from work!
    c) food: OBSESSED with hummus recently.
    d) bane of existence: the “tease”‘whether. Yesterday felt like spring but next week it’s going to get cold again.
    e) triumph: hmmm…definitely the hardest question. On Tuesday I helped someone at the bar call an ambulance and go to the hospital since he was suicidal. It was really sad but I felt really helpful!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Triumph? I agree I wouldn’t call it that, either. What you did is way more than that. You saved somebody’s life, Laura, which is huge. Do you know how he’s doing now?
      And thank you! Little cabbages – I like that🙂.

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Oh my goodness I am currently OBSESSED with brussels sprouts, which is weird because I’ve never liked them until this new freelance gig of mine started requesting recipes with them. I’ve made two “salads” using them and I love them. I make them on a weekly basis now!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, right, I remember seeing one of those salads and it looked good but I’m not sure I could eat the Brussels sprouts raw. Not like I didn’t trust you but I can’t imagine what it’s like.

  5. Emily Swanson says:

    I LOVE March…🙂 It’s wonderful to watch as God transitions the world from season to season, from winter, to spring, to bringing new life back into the earth. ❤ He is such a good Father through our Lord Jesus. ❤ And all those 'C's' sound delish!

  6. mylittletablespoon says:

    C…. For me is for cookies, chocolate and coke. At least that’s all I seem to want these days. How healthy does that sound?
    I should paint my nails. Would add some colour to this dreary month .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      All those Cs have a place in my diet as well. It sounds like you were taking care of your mental health at the moment which we should never forget about. Sometimes we eat all the carrots, others we just need chocolate. It all balances out in the end.❤
      Go and paint your nails! It really helps in combatting the nasty weather grumpiness.

  7. Sarah says:

    I love the quotes on the Yogi teas, honestly that’s why I buy that brand! Current need is for this week to be over so my Spring Break can start!

  8. Ellie says:

    The book I’m reading now is about how women’s running helped influence women’s rights and feminism both in America and in the USSR. It’s really fascinating and relevant to what is happening today with women in sports. The current excitement is that I am job searching. For nothing specific, but the prospect of anything new makes me excited🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That sounds like a really interesting book, Ellie. I actually just got one about a similar topic. I hope you’ll share a little more about your book after you’ve finished it.

  9. Kate Bennett says:

    I love watching trash TV when I am at the gym. Mindlessness.
    I am so excited for your weekend with your sister! I love when I get to see my siblings. It isn’t often enough!
    And you say you’re not a baker? Could have fooled me.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Will you believe me gyms over here don’t offer you that option? I feel I’d enjoy it there, too.
      I honestly am not a baker – not just saying it for sympathies or compliments🙂.

Leave a Reply

