Week in review: The one with THE mental trick

It’s all about the mind[set]. And. The mind is a powerful thing. That’s what they say. What I say: They*are right. If I wanted to sum up my accomplishments from the past week in one two words: mind tricks. Or rather: One mind trick. THE mind trick if I dare say so. Read on to find out how I manipulated myself  the positive way. As usual through a new Week in Review following the lead of  our lovely host Meg.

**whoever they are

Week in review

We’re looking back at a week where I …

Posted three times. One of these times sharing the recipe for these Triple Coconut Chocolate Caramel Bars that involves making your own non-dairy condensed milk. I wouldn’t blame anybody preparing just that part …

Taught German twice. The holidays started for students here on Thursday hence missing that day’s lesson. It was also my last time teaching on Mondays. We’re visiting different schools on Monday vs. Wednesday/Thursday and we’re resigning from the former after the holidays. Part of me is happy as things in that school just didn’t work well. But part of me is also sad for the children not getting the support anymore.

Worked four days in my regular job.Same old, same old aside from the fact I …

Took Friday off to …

Semi-spontaneously hop on the train and visit my sister – and that special someone😉 – in Hamburg. When it’s been a while since previous travels I can find it harder to get out again – despite knowing I’ll enjoy it in the end. We had a lovely day: Walking, talking and – news alert! – eating sweet potato fries from a vegan food truck that just so happened to be on our route😉. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you’ll know I’m not exactly declaring my fondness of sweet potatoes on the daily  [read: along the lines of the opposite]. These fries however? Wow, wow, wow. The sweetness made these such a great alternative to regular fries. And the vegan curry mayonnaise wasn’t half bad, either, which is even more suprising because mayo is one of those foods I’ve never liked. Never.

It was awesome visiting her that day, too, as my grandparents stopped by shortly so I got warm grandpa and grandma hugs, too. And I hugged them tightly. Call me dramatic but I think all hugs we give loved ones should be extra long since we never know when or if we’ll meet again. #notmorbid

No-bake fudge brownies_close-up

Also semi-spontaneously prepared a batch of these No-bake Fudge Brownies for my sister upon her request. This is when the mind tricking started. Thursday was rather stressful and the last thing I wanted to do was prepare anything that required several bowls and cleaning the Vitamix. So I told my sister I was sorry but it wasn’t going to happen. Yet I dislike disappointing and really like gifting others. This – on top of everything else on my Friday night to-do list – stressed me out. I’m not saying this to complain but describe a mental fight I feel I’m not alone in: needing relaxation, wanting to do others a favour. What’s a girl to do? Trick herself. I told myself I’d just go along the brownie making process step by step. If at any point I didn’t feel it anymore I could stop. You know it: once you pop, you can’t stop finish the task at hand because finishing feels so darn good. It’s the mental trick that works a charm in many situations: studying, exercising, baking, …

And the mental manipulation into productivity didn’t stop there. Rather, once I noticed what I’d done I tricked myself constantly. That sounds weird but fine, fine. I cleaned my kitchen sink plus bathroom (sink, toilet) – at 9 PM on Saturday night. Because that’s when my Saturday-wasn’t-productive-enough panic set in. As usual, I wasn’t feeling it but told myself that I had to do just the kitchen sink. Almost a favourite task because it’s nice to see it all sparkly again [even if that effect lasts a mere minute only]. Obviously, I was hit by motivation and finished the bathroom, too.

Took a million and one pictures of the flowers on our yard but since my laptop isn’t cooperative tonight a little throwback will have to make do.

Flower

Finally replied to a mail I’d been meaning to for weeks months. Again using said trick by a) telling myself I had to only write as much as I felt like and b) that it’s not normal to proof-read your mails more than once. Here’s to hoping I didn’t make too many mistakes.

Scrubbed that one nasty spot behind my sink that’s been overdue for some cleaning. That was some stress-cleaning that I’m glad to hear others do, too.

Gave myself a little pep talk after a very uncomfortable conversation. Which – now that I’m thinking about it – reminds me of this fabulous little site. Coincidentially, it brought up this one for me right now:

You are smart. You are a force. You can ask for what you want, jump-start your car battery, eat at the bar by yourself, and open a Roth IRA like an alpha-fem supreme queen. You’re not a Dime—you’re one of those rare steel pennies the U.S. Mint circulated during WWII to preserve copper that are now worth $100k+. Sometimes your twenties feel like playing a video game on the ‘Difficult’ level, but you are unstoppable. You are insatiable. You are a warrior. Take your sledgehammer and smash that glass ceiling to smithereens. Keep doing EXACTLY what you’re doing, babygirl. Chin up, shoulders back.

Caught up with a good friend.Unfortunately just via phone but nonetheless. Why is it so hard to stay in touch with everybody we want to?

Called my grandma on Thursday night when I was feeling it the least – Thursday was oneof those no days . I do believe in destiny and this conversation was well worth it brightening both her and my mood. Funny how that works.

Proof-read one of my sister’s papers for university. Somebody give me more of those tasks. Is it very weird that I get honestly excited about editing? It feels neirdy to say but I truly like it. We all have our quirks, no?

 

Happiness-inducing today:  Productivity! And a very nice evening walk.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
Let me know any other mental tricks or productivity hacks you’ve found to work for you!
 

8 thoughts on “Week in review: The one with THE mental trick

  1. Kristy @ Southern In Law says:

    So not weird that you love editing because I love it too. I will even print out documents that I’m editing for my clients and edit them by hand because I feel like I’m reliving my childhood days where I’d pretend to be a school teacher and correct my sister’s work, haha!

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I need to start playing mind games with myself, especially since it clearly works. I did clean my kitchen sink this weekend though and much like you, I like the way it gleams. Granted if I realized I was going to spend the vast majority of yesterday working, I would have spent my morning more horizontal, although I do love a clean kitchen.

    I’m glad you got to spend time with your sister and the babe and even see the grandparents in person. Family really is everything.

    I can’t wait to see the flower pictures. You know I love those.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    I truly love a sparkly sink.
    Productivity can be a hard mind game. While I firmly believe there are times when doing anything is just a plain “no,” and that this is okay to just “do nothing,” there are other times when maybe the reason we don’t feel like doing anything is actually because of other factors (eg. mood) and that just a simple kick in the butt to get started can actually prove to us that getting up and doing something is what we needed. That was a rant, sorry. All in all, I’m glad you found a mind trick that works for you, especially if once you got going you felt good about it. Your sister would have obviously been tremendously gracious that it got you making those brownies.
    Beautiful mail. No mistakes. Was such a joy and honor to read.

  4. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    I’m so thankful that God makes spring every year. I love that you made fudgy brownies. And I get to call my grandma today which is always such a blessing. She’s a really sweet, precious Christian lady, and it’s always such a blessing to talk to her.

  5. Kate Bennett says:

    The difficulty of staying in touch makes my heart hurt! I wish I could see all the people I care about every week.
    A vegan food truck sounds amazing! We have this new taco food truck that has been calling my name every time I pass it. I need to get there!

  6. Ellie says:

    I totally do the same thing with blog posts. I tell myself to start writing and if I run out of things to say or it sucks, I tell myself to stop. Usually though, my mind starts going and I end up enjoying the therapeutic part of writing.
    One thing I don’t like feeling forced to do is cook or bake, so you got me there! I hope you have a great week🙂

  7. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    OMG YOU HAVE IT RIGHT WITH MINDSET that’s for sure!!!!! I had a mini panic attack that I couldn’t get my mind out of on Sunday night – hot damn… Woke up on Monday PISSED AT THE WORLD – lol… But… It all changed when my mind set changed! Oh and it also changed when man friend came home, LOL!

Leave a Reply

