Week in review: When life hands you limes …

What a title  … the meaning? I’ve been finding myself in an odd mix of feelings lately: craving change so badly. Yet also appreciating what I have right now  [job – wise, safety]. Yes, I would really like to move, find a job that actually excites me and live closer to friends/have better chances to make new ones again. But that’s not as easy as snapping my fingers or clicking my heels twice. Rather than pity myself and cry a river about the circumstances I’m trying to accept them for what they are and see the silver linings. Once again hrough a new Week in Review  joining Meg, who leads by example by never losing sight of the bright side of things. Without further ado: here’s some of what I did this past week.

Week in review

 

Made the best of Monday as another day off from work – yay for long weekends! – by spending time with my family and also meeting a friend living further away. While too short a meet-up it was great to catch up nonetheless.

Life’s lime: no internet access at all on Saturday [hence my late night mention in yesterday’s post]. While definitely bummed I took the opportunity to prepare a new batch of coconut butter and test another recipe …

No-bake slice

Success, I’d say. So in case life hands you oranges the next few days you might want to save them for these delicious bars coming your way on Thursday.

Worked four days. While a little exhausting I’m not complaining because this meant more time well spent and less for procrastination at home.

Received several hours of training on Easter Sunday which are now paying off. Working for a relative meant my boss asked me to come in on the holiday weekend so he could introduce me to a few more tasks. More important tasks which means I haven’t felt bored at work at all the past week so this lime life handed me resulted in a good outcome.

Publshed three blog posts. One of which I was hesitant to share but I loved* really enjoyed reading all of your opinions on the topic. That’s truly one of the best things about blogging.

*obviously not😉

[Below: my belated Easter chocolate haul – none bought myself but gifted/from the office’s stash].

Easter chocolate bunnies

Became my dad’s designated driver. No, he wasn’t caught drunk driving😉. Poor guy hurt his arm and isn’t supposed to drive [or really use his arm much , i.e. no heavy lifting etc.] for a few months. Now if only he’d stop giving me advice on how to  drive … [<- does anybody else’s dad/spouse/boyfriend do that even when you’ve been driving for years already, too?]. Still, it’s an interesting situation of him depending on me rather than the other way around as it used to be for so many years during my childhood.

Very spontaneously went to an exhibition in a museum locates in an old tower with my dad. He asked me to join him completely out of the blue on Saturday and despite not feeling it I said yes. It turned out the exhibition was tiny but we – mind my acrophobia! – climbed up to the highest point of the tower and had a spectacular view of our town. Well worth the entrance fees and climbing up those steep stairs. This wasn’t a lime but yet another small step on building a better relationship with my dad. Progress not perfection.

Ausstellung_exhibition

Also very spontaneously called one of my cousins. We don’t get to see each other nearly enough and talked for what felt like forever – deciding we should turn this into a regular thing.

Remembered to take my iron supplement every morning. I’ve been taking it for several months already as my levels are too low and diet alone wouldn’t have amped them up quickly enough. Yet I dislike any kind of medication and occasionally “forget” [sometimes genuinely forgetting, sometimes not feeling it] to take it. Especially since you have to take it pre-breakfast and that doesn’t sit well with me. Handling this lime by at least insisting on a vegetarian pill [many are not]. And yes, I know: it’s pink but this was not by choice – not like I was complaining, though! Hi, Barbie world.

Iron pill_pink_Tardyferon

Did the usual household tasks like cleaning dishes by hand, loading and unloading the dishwasher as well as cooking every day. Yes, food pictures have been lacking on here but I promise I still eat.

… and because it’s late once again that’s a wrap for now. I hope you’re having a great start into the new week!

Happiness-inducing today:  Productivity! And a very nice evening walk.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Week in review: When life hands you limes …

  1. Kristy @ Southern In Law says:

    I cannot wait for that recipe as it looks chocolatey and deeeeeeelicious and that’s my favourite kind of recipe ;P

    If that After Eight bunny is a mint chocolate bunny, I am TOTALLY jealous and that really needs to be a thing in Australia ASAP!

    I feel you on forgetting to take medications too. I keep mine in my bedside table drawer now so I see them when I go to put my phone on charge each night – otherwise I’d be constantly forgetting them!

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I take iron every day now too. It’s part of the prenatal package and yes it’s really hard to find vegetarian vitamins. I can completely relate.

    I love the silver lining aspect of this post. Life always gives us some lemons, limes, and even bad avocados, and it’s what we do with them that makes all the difference. I think bars sounds like a great option, especially if they involve citrus.🙂

    Kudos on more relationship repair with your dad. I’m so proud of both of you.

    Happy Monday!!

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    So much respect/adoration for you saying “yes” to so many things here – especially when not feeling it in the moment (good lord I know how hard this can be). Saying yes to your dad (that tower museum sounds so cool! sorry about the heights though), taking the back seat driving (parents will NEVER stop this), accepting the crappy internet situation and just doing what you can with it, and feeling good about your productivity at work. You’re doing such good things.
    Ps I would like one of those bars and that after eight (!?!?) easter bunny. Please and thanks.❤

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Orange and chocolate is a fantastic combination. Definitely looking forward to that.
    Sorry to hear about your dad’s injury. It’s really sweet of you to help him out like that. Sounds like you got to spend some nice time together, though.
    Have a great week!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      While not voluntarily – there’s no declining this task – it is nice to do my dad a favour. Also since it’s “forcing” us to work on our relationship. Silver linings all around🙂.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If you’re not sure I’ll insist you give yourself a pat on the back for that. Because I’ve always been that last-minute finisher, too, and that’s just not a good habit.

  5. Ellie says:

    I’m glad it isn’t just my family who loves to comment about other people’s driving! I’m like SHUT UP IT’S MY CAR AND DO YOU WANT TO GET ANYWHERE?!?!?! But of course I don’t say that, I just nod or ignore them (maybe this is why I hate driving hahaha). I had a success on the family front: my parent’s came with my sister to our race on Sunday and I was pleasantly surprised to see them! I consider that a win🙂

  6. Ms.J says:

    A perpetual lime in my life: lack of internet. Not that I miss having an overwhelming amount of info at my fingertips really, but it irks me inexplicably to have my drafted email -along with your reply- get swallowed up by my phone – never to see the light of day again. I’m not crying :lowerlip wobbles: . Oh jobs! Tell me about it. My head is stuck somewhere in Kenya in the Maasai Mara plains – perhaps tracking a lion or herd of buffalo..except when I blink I’m in the kitchen peeling potatoes for an order. Lol. And no I don’t hate it at all..its just not my first choice. BUT a definite improvement from my previous form of employment we know😉 . No more panic attacks thankyouverymuch. Aahhh you’re doing SO well on the Dad front lady😀 !!! I need to remind myself that its a two-way thing in relationships; we have to meet halfway. Ooohhh how gorgeous is that chocolate fudge topping! I’ll take a bowl of that please🙂 .

Leave a Reply

