Quirky and I know it.

Sometimes your head is rumbling with so many ideas and thoughts it’s sheer overwhelming and impossible to calm down the internal chatter. My situation right now and – aside from what I said on Monday – one of the reasons my blogging schedule has been erratic lately. The solution? Get random. Especially after reading another blogger’s post spiked with lots of funny tidbits about herself the other day. Quite a while ago I read a quote somewhere saying that by blogging we felt “a little less lonely and weird”. I’d dare to say it’s true. We”ve agreed that adulting can be pretty rough leaving us entirely fed up with it at times. Good to know we’re not alone in wanting to curl up with a [possibly Disney] movie and … It’s our quirks that make us both special and let us bond with others. That being said I hope you’ll no t only have a good laugh at my quirks but share some of yours in the comments, too. Ready, set, random!

Thinking-Out-Loud

  • As much as I like pretty flower bouquets I often opt against them on my table. Who does that, you wonder? For me it’s about two things: 1. I can’t stand a cluttered table. That’s why not only flowers but also people dropping off piles of clothes, bags or whatever else irk me. 2. I feel bad for flowers essentially being killed for my pleasure.

Birthday flowers

  • While I don’t sleep with stuffed animals anymore but occasionally check under my bed. For … you know it. If you don’t you haven’t watched or understood the deeper sense in “Monsters Inc.”. Okay, actually, I’m afraid of snakes hiding under there. Don’t ask me why because I can’t explain it myself.
  • Speaking of killing: I broke one of my wire whisks. A little background: I’ve been known as the wild whisker in my family for years. So much so that – when we were younger and still living at home – my sister announced she’d write a book called “The beat of the wire whisk”. Luckily, her ambition ended after a mere few pages that never saw the light of the day again. ..

wire whisk

  • Planks are my favourite strength exercise. In fact, I usually do them several times a day. Which I know sounds extreme but I honestly enjoy them. Burpees, on the other hand? I’m scared of them.Granted, I’ve only ever seen videos of these but that alone makes me feel they’re not right for me.
  • Okay, this one might shock some people but: I never wear pants. In fact, I can safely say I seriously dislike – not to say hate – them. Dresses and tights – that’s the way I roll. Up until recently this never presented a problem but my new job requires me to wear pants. No more wors needed here other than that I’m counting down the hours until I can change into tights again. Edited to add: Pants make me feel uncomfortable both on a physical and mental level. Physically, no pants ever fit right for me: squeezing my stomach, sagging around my legs. Mentally theyhave an even huger impact on my self-perfection and mood that would almost require its own post to explanin in full length.

Outfit_Jan

  • Mayonnaise, ketchup, mustard. You name it – I don’t like it. This – unlike what some people might think – has nothing o do with my eating disorder. Even my parents would confirm I was the odd one out as a child eating fries or chicken nuggets – on the rare occasion we were allowed to get those – plain.  Maybe that’s why I’ve never gotten into the salad eating habit?

While I have a plethora more of  quirks that’s it for me today because I can’t risk appearing like a complete nut😉.  Over to you! Share your quirky side!

 

Happiness-inducing today: A good conversation.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What are some of your quirks other people don’t understand?

Is there any food you eat in mass quantities every day? No, beverages (i.e.: coffee) don’t count😉.


29 thoughts on “Quirky and I know it.

  1. masala girl says:

    i love planks too!
    but pants, thats my thing. jeans all day everyday every season! i hate skirts, shorts, and especially dresses! haha.
    also- ketchup is the only condiment i like. i limit it now because it’s too sweet, but everyone always thought i was weird as a kid because i hated mayo and mustard (but my mom made me see the light in dijon/spicy brown mustard. it’s a great flavor booster in recipes!!)

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s funny how different we all are in our preferences. Good this way, too, because women shouln’t have fought for their right to wear pants for nothing, no :)?
      Sadly, I can’t even stand small amounts of mustard. I once tried a vegan cheese sauce that called forjust a bit and I couldn’t make myself eat it.

      • masala girl says:

        so true! and I am the SAME WAY with olives- i cant eat anything if it has touched it. blech. and coconut! i’ve been to restaurants (this has happened spefically at an indian and japanese place), gotten a brothy vegetable soup as a starter, and can taste the coconut. the waiter/waitress doesn’t think there’s coconut in it, goes to check, then tells me no one has ever noticed it or- anything. i can even smell it if my mom gets coconut curry or something@ hah

      • Miss Polkadot says:

        Wow. That’s a huge sensitivity. It has to be annoying when restaurant staff either doesn’t check first or assumes that “a little” won’t bother you.

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    I can totally see you as a wild whisker. I don’t know why, but I can just imagine you in an apron sweating up a storm at your mixing bowls – obviously a warning to not mess with you when you’re in baking mode!🙂
    I hate little holes. Blegh I just made myself squirm even saying it.
    I am a sweat pant girl all day everyday. Though, I did just pack up a whole tonne of long skirts and summer dresses to hopefully wear all summer. I love a good long peasant skirt🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Not to provoke your disgust again I won’t type it out but that’s a new one to me. Just out of curiosity: doe that occasionally make daily life harder for you? I was always grossed out by chalk which made school a little difficult at times.
      It’d be too embarrassing to say how I actually broke the whisk but I’ll tell you in a mail if you’re curious😀.

  3. Laura says:

    I loved this post!! As for a food I eat every day? I ALWAYS have peanut butter at least one time a day. Hummus, eggs, and sweet potatoes are my new daily additions.

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Haha you’re scared of burpees? I’m scared of planks! Not really scared, but I definitely don’t like them. I’d much rather do burpees lol
    And I wish I wore more dresses! I think in the summer I might, but I HATE tights [my body doesn’t fit the one size fits all thing] so I don’t wear dresses in the winter!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      In a way I want to like burpees because doing them would make me feel badass😉. But I’m too afraid to even try – they look so … complicated?!
      No one size fits all tights for me, either. In fact, my mum got me into buying ones that are two sizes bigger than my usual size – it works!

  5. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Burpees are the devil. And so is mayonnaise. I’ll happily eat ketchup by the spoonful, but I’ve only ever tried mayo once many, many years ago and decided once was enough. Also, random posts are probably my favourite ones to write. They’re the best way to cure that dotted writer’s block😀

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Glad to know I have your approval for these posts as there might be more coming in the future🙂. I usually find writing them harder but right now the randomness was flowing.
      It’s been forever since I last had mayonnaise and I almost gagged from the smell alone.

  6. Ellie says:

    What is your take on BBQ sauce? I could drink that stuff! A food I consume in mass quantities would be bananas and pickles. Hummus has also made a bigger appearance in my lunches and I don’t hate it. A quirk about me…I would rather use a tissue than a napkin when I eat. Yup, I do it🙂 Have a great weekend!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Will you believe I’ve actually never had BBQ before – or at least not that I’d know? I’m not sure what it taste like. Also, I have definitely used tissues instead of napkins before, too.
      Have a wonderful weekend, Ellie!

  7. Sarah says:

    Lol, these are great! I always check under the bed at hotels, cause you never know right?! I don’t know what I would do if I found anything under the bed, but I’m sure instincts would take over.

  8. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    It must be the week for randomness! I am definitely all for embracing quirks😉

    As for pants, I used to HATEEEEE wearing pants and only ever wore shorts (pretty much only one type because once I found the “right” denim shorts I’d buy 10 pairs and not wear anything else), skirts and dresses. I didn’t even like leggings!

    Now I actually like wearing pants which Jesse still thinks is weird as he begged me to wear jeans for yeaaaaaaaaars.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh how good it feels to not be alone in the pants department – or at least not completely. Jesse is funny for begging you to wear them. I’d have guessed men liked the very female character of dresses as much as most women but that must be my wishful thinking😉.

  9. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Buy pants that fit in the waist, and then get them tailored to fit everywhere else. It’s definitely worth the money, and it’ll make you feel better about yourself. Pants rarely fit most people right, and with my non-ass ass, I always have the same problem.

Leave a Reply

