Week in review: Peanut butter and family time.

Sometimes writing intros is hard because my brain won’t bother churning out any ideas. And sometimes it’s hard because there are too many thoughts. Especially after the past few days had me reflect on many things in life and changes I want and need to make. My head is spinning with thoughts but since I prefer to keep these Weeks in Review on the  light[er] side and also don’t want to serve you half-digested brain meanderings I will keep them churning for a little longer. Let’s chat about the past week instead – and by that I mean I want to hear about yours, too. Give yourself some credit for all you do every week. Even if – like for me on many occasions, too – “just the usual”. Done is done and you deserve that pat on the back. Thanks to Meg for hosting once again.

Week in review

  • Worked five days again with Friday feeling never-ending. My exhaustion on this day felt awful in the moment but made me realize I need to take certain steps to prevent it happening again in the future. I’m aware this is cryptical but I’m honestly not sure about my real plan of action here, either.
  • Cleaned my entire apartment including the rooms I never use [to be called the the dust collectors from now on …] it’s too big for one person – for our guests arriving on Thursday/Friday. It’s another holiday weekend over here and one where the majority of the family on my mother’s side visits every year. As much as I like my family I will admit  having that many people around is not the easiest for an introvert like me. Verdict after this weekend: I need a lot more practice.
  • Meal-prepped for a few days and prepared breakfast the night before Sunday through Thursday. I still need to get [a lot] better about this.
  • Made a huge mess in the kitchen when preparing my no-bake vegan fudge brownies on Saturday  [base] and Sunday  [fudge layer] plus a little recipe experimenting [gone right taste but wrong texture-wise]. Meaning two days of cleaning the kitchen again. As much as I enjoy cooking and baking I don’t deal well with seeing chocolate, cocoa and various liquids [honey …] spilled around. It’s giving me the heebie-jeebies and my head really needs to get used to it. Maybe more recipe creation would be a good shock therapy ;)?!

No-bake fudge brownies_M

  • Interrupted writing this post to  a) gather my family’s clothes drying outside when the sun switched over to a heavy downpour all of a sudden and b) tidy my parents kitchen quickly as my dad was expecting guests. I’d say he owes me a favour now. Doing my laundry, maybe ;)? Thinking about it I’d already appreciate the internet working properly. My tech-genius brother was/is [as I’m writing this] around for the weekend and has been figuring out the why to our current problems with it,
  • Had a good old sing-along and dance party in my kitchen while preparing the above. Note to self: do this more often. It even sparked a potential post idea [that I should really scribble down after finishing this post lest I could easily end up forgetting it] – I’d call that a win-win situation.
  • Skipped my already non-intense pilates workout on several days. While not exercising to deserve food anymore I still find allowing myself full rest hard. One [rainy] day I’ll [be able to] sit on my butt watching movies, talking and eating good food with even better company like other people do, too. One day …
  • Possibly the most exciting kitchen action of the week: Making my own peanut butter for the first time. Why didn’t I dare to way earlier?! Okay, I know why: my constant fear of breaking my Vitamix. But seriously: it’s so easy yet so amazing. Only I wish I was able to find no-oil-added peanuts. Because I want my nut butters to be just nuts, maybe salt but nothing else. My family still enjoyed their PB & Js and I can’t deny enjoying many spoonfuls as is. Sometimes you just need the “bad” PB.

peanut butter_jelly_bread

Took a million and one pictures of my nephew. But obviously spent even more time with him without the camera separating us. A million pictures are worth nothing if we didn’t actually make the memories they’re capturing.

… and with that I’m off to try and make some more memories before everybody’s packing and leaving again.  Happy Monday to all of you!

Happiness-inducing today: The time spent with my family – they’re a fun, maybe slightly crazy bunch which makes them all the more lovable.

My evening walk – nobody else felt like joining me – including gorgeously sun-flooded views and an amazing frog concert. Those little guys were seriously singing their hearts out [just for me].

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Tell me a little about your past week!

If you’ve made nut butters at home before:which kinds? I still want to try white almond butter but there’s the issue of worrying about my Vitamix again.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Week in review: Peanut butter and family time.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I haven’t made nut butter in so long but I reaaaaaally need to as it always tastes extra delicious – especially when it’s fresh and still warm from working its nutty butt off ;P

    I pretty much need your no bake brownies in my life right now! Hello heaven!

  2. Ellie says:

    Yum! I make my own nut butters a lot and find that if you roast them for ten minutes beforehand they grind up easier. I think the roasting releases the oil. I agree with you on the regular PB. I love the natural kind, but Skippy and Jiff will always have a place in my heart🙂

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad you got to spend some time with your nephew and sister. How is she doing?

    Kitchen dance parties really are where it’s at (two turn tables and a microphone). I need to revive these as well…right after I sneak in a nap that is. Gotta have the energy to dance.

    I say skip the exercise one day. Just force yourself to miss it and then keep doing that every so often. It will eventually get easier and you’ll be actually doing it as opposed to saying one day. You got this. I know you do. I have faith in you.

  4. Lyss says:

    I have never made homemade nut butter but that looks delish! I am always buying them, but homemade would def save some money! Have a good Monday girly🙂

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    When “that day” comes – can I join? It’ll be monumental for us both. Just think – watching tv all day long and eating at weird times just like all them “regular folk.” One day, for both of us girl.
    I remember before I started making nut butter I thought it was such a blasphemous, fancy idea. But it is seriously the easiest thing you could do! I’ve made all sorts, but peanut butter and sunflower seed butter are my two constants. I really think your Vitamix will be able to handle it.
    I just bought coconut milk in order to make those very brownies!! They are next on my list. Can’t wait.

  6. jayhawkjoyce2016 says:

    I have never really made nut butter at home. I think I’d need a stronger blender.
    I had such a hard time finding peanut butter when I was in Germany 5 years ago, although it could be that the area I was in was more rural. Is it more common there, now?
    I adore cranking up the tunes and having dance parties in the kitchen!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, peanut butter is definitely an easy one to find. Though not any kind of flavoured ones because we simply don’t have them and annoyingly the one you’ll find the easiest is still the nasty hydrogenated oil-added kind. Health food stores are still the safest bet though I get my organic no-nasties kind at a well-sorted grocery chain.
      Yes to kitchen dance parties – they’re good for the soul.

  7. masala girl says:

    you prepped 5 breakfasts?! i’d say that’s a win! and the peanut butter🙂 can you get oil free peanuts shipped to you online, or is that too expensive? that’s so weird you cant find them!! i’ve never been a huge peanut fan, like i went through phases, but i love making almond butter! (just posted my most recent recipe! lol)
    and i love evening walks🙂 at school it was my me time, but now that i’m home my family wont let me go alone, but they dont always want to go for a walk… it’s a struggle lol.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Wait, what? You don’t like peanuts?! We can’t be friends then. Kidding😉. We share a fondness of chickpeas and Indian food so that’s enough already.
      After you asked about the peanut situation – until now I’d “only” checked all supermarkets close by – I searched online but to no avail. It’s a pity.
      We go on walks as a family when there’s a gathering but those 20-minute evening walks are usually solo ones. Why won’t your family let you go?

  8. caileejoy says:

    Yay for family time! I’m so glad that you had such a fun week with them! And I love your perspective on taking pix with your nephew! It’s so great to get such lovely pictures, but it’s more important to make the amazing memories!! Sounds like a blast! I just got to see my 1 year old cousin a couple months ago and it was so fun! Also, YES to homemade PB!! Sounds and looks amazing! Hope that you have a great rest of your day!
    xoxo Cailee!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m super late in replying but thank you, Cailee! There’s really only so much time we get to spend with certain people and taking pictures becomes secondary then.

  9. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables says:

    Haha my kitchen is ALWAYS Getting messy!! Actually, our whole house is messy right now because of some renovation projects so I’m hoping those can get wrapped up today so I can clean my house this weekend!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t feel bad – my whole apratment becomes a mess again in what feels like seconds after cleaning up. Sometimes I wonder why I even bother cleaning in the first place😉.
      Home renovation sounds exciting. I hope you’ll share some pictures. You and Alex did a great job renovating the house in the first place so I’m sure whatever you’re working on right now will turn out amazing, too.

Leave a Reply

