Give yourself some credit.

It’s typical: Saturday night or – worse – Sunday afternoon rolls in and I realize I haven’t taken any notes or written a single word for my Week in Review yet. Fail. Big fail.

Another big fail that kept me from reading and commenting much lately? The internet repeater in my apartment stopped working at some point during the past week and the issue won’t get fixed until later this week. The show must go on, no? Luckily, I’ve been able to use my parents’ internet connection occasionally yet only when my dad wasn’t working – I explained it some time ago but basically his VPN only works when nobody else is using the same line – and its reach in my apartment is very low. Sloooow internet. Technology … That could/should (?) really become a swear word judging from how often I’ve cursed it before.

Moving on to the much more pleasant topic of Meg asking all of us to give ourselves at least some credit for what we did during the past week.

Week in review

I worked five days and am starting to feel more confident in what I’m doing. What looked scary at first is now becoming routine with few exceptions which is much appreciated on my side. I don’t like asking for help all of the time though I know it’s normal as I’m still the new one.

Bonded a bit with one of my colleagues. She’s not the easiest to get along with but since I don’t like not getting along with others – weird wording – I’ve been trying to be extra nice towards her. It worked and is a win-win situation.

Created a new recipe following an idea that had been on my mind forever and  – yes, tooting your own horn stinks so let me try to word it differently😉 – [I and my family would say] it’s a really good one. I’m hoping  to share it with you on Thursday if the new repeater has arrived by then.

Cranberry Fudge slices

Set up and did a photo shoot  for said new creation twice. That’s what happens when you make your recipe early on in a week of gloomy weather with hardly any sun – at least not after work anymore – and then it suddenly reappears on Friday. Yes, I kept it from everybody else for that long. It still tasted amazing and got thumbs up then. I may or may not have  saved a square sitting  fridge right now. Marvelous.

Went for walks every day. Or maybe minus one particularly grey and rainy day.

Did some Blogilates every other day. Especially for me as a German – it’s true many of us are rather contained, I’d oppose the occasionally used “cold” description, though – Cassie’s bubbly personality is an instant motivator and mood brightener. It’s hard to not want to do at least a short workout when she’s at it.

Did most of my food shopping on Saturday rather than a few items every day. While looking massive this way it does seem to help lower my spendings which I obviously won’t complain about.

Do you believe in jinxing yourself? I do and had an inkling already writing my previous week in review. Long story short: Things with my dad experienced a serious dip going low low low low* mid-week. We’ll see how it goes from here.

*unfortunately not Flo Rida style – oh the memories  …

Yogi tea quote

[Random picture but many mugs of Yogi tea made an appearance – here telling us to learn with compassion. ]

Had plans to meet a fellow former-possibly-future-but-not-current blogger – that’s quite the title, no? – in Hamburg but we unfortunately had to cancel it. Soon, though.

Cleaned my apartment. Oh those dratted spiders is all I’ll say here.

Did little favours for my mum before she could get around to them. Just like I said in my previous post I’m not trying to nosey up but have simply found that doing a little something for others every day helps me feel better, too*. Even if I don’t hear a thanks. We show our love in different ways and that’s okay.

*thinking about it: Wouldn’t that mean I’d make a good Girl Scout?! Minus the camping trips  …

Sunday summed up in one paragraph because I’m already getting too wordy here: made another batch of peanut butter, another batch of base of the bars shown above [minus the topping as I ran out of ingredients; to be finished today], wrote this post mostly in one go [that’s a first], meal-prepped a little and enjoyed the sunshine. Lots of the latter.

Homemade peanut butter

All in all it hasn’t been the worst week while it certainly felt like that in between . I’ll forever wish for more socializing – outside of work – which isn’t easy when you live too far from all friends to spontaneous meet up. But summer and at that my long holiday is inching closer by the day which helps me stay positive. The tense situation with my dad will forever keep me tip-toeing around – not literally – but we still got along well at times after said very harsh dip. It’s confusing to say the least because I have no idea where we stand now. A delicate balance that could easily dip again maybe.

One post that I’ll reread and use as a starting point for changes I need to implement in my life is the one by Cora featured yesterday. I highly recommend it if you, too, think you’ll be happy when … What I also recommend is stopping by Meg’s blog for more Ave adorableness – is that even a word? – and everybody else’s recent going-ons. Make Monday a fun one! Or at least a silver lining-spiked one.

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: So much. It was an all-around blissful Sunday – productive but also relaxing. More of these days, please.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!

What was the last thing that came out of your kitchen?

 

17 thoughts on “Give yourself some credit.

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Sorry to hear about the low, low, low dip with your dad, although keep working it. Rome wasn’t built in a day as they say, and despite the dip, your relationship is better today than a year ago, right? Progress.

    Those bars look delicious especially since they involve peanut butter, some chocolate and did I spy nuts? Mmmm. One day, I will cook again although who knows when it will be.

    Great work on the walking and Blogilates.

    Also, the people in your life are pretty lucky to have you doing nice things for them.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      True. It was definitely worse a year ago in certain ways. Easy to forget sometimes so thank you for reminding me, Meg.
      Peanut butter and chocolate were meant to be – no actual nuts in the bars this time, though, as one of my colleagues is allergic and had been missing out on past treats.

  2. Kate Bennett says:

    We do tend to be our worst critics, that’s for sure.I’m glad you are able to recognize that.
    I have difficulty balancing how social I want to be vs. alone time. It’s difficult because I truly enjoy them both!
    The recipe looks delicious!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s not easy for me to find that right balance between when to go out and socialize and when to take me time, either. A slow learning process that’s worth while.

  3. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I am so glad you’re feeling more confident with your work. There’s always that initial adjustment period with anything new/different and it takes some time to feel “right”.

    You and I are seriously the same person. I hate not getting along with others either😛 If I find someone doesn’t like me or feel like they don’t I feel really odd and make it my mission to change their mind, haha😛

    I’m sorry to hear things aren’t too good with your Dad. I’m praying for you, my sweet friend! Just know that these things take time and these challenges are all to build us into the person we’ll one day be! Just think, there’s probably a million challenges you’ve faced in the past that have moulded you into the person you are today. At the time they feel like the absolute worst, but you look back and realise they actually benefited you in a weird sort of way❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      This week saw me facing another level of challenging at work which I’ll talk about more in tomorrow’s post. Just when I think “hey, this is going smoothly” I get new responsibilites thrown my way. Well, that’s the way that working life works like, no?!
      When I notice somebody just isn’t getting along easily with anybody I don’t stress too much about it. But in a smaller team like ours I want to be on good terms with everybody. These are the people I spend the biggest part of my work days with after all.
      Thank you for your prayers, Kristy! I really appreciate them❤.

  4. Ellie says:

    Yum I can’t wait to see the recipe for those bars🙂 One thing I accomplished last week was the taper. I got through taper madness and made it to the race. Have a great week!

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the backward dip with your dad. That must have felt hard, especially after the progress you had been making recently. But like all important things, there will be dips and steps back and constant challenges. I know you know this and others have said it – so I’ll just send you my thoughts and hope with all my fingers and toes crossed your next step with him leaves you feeling a little lighter.
    Those damn spiders in your house eh!? Wanna hear something gross? My lawn is currently covered in little caterpillars called “army worms.” We (in Canada) get a crazy allotment of them every 10 years or so and they take over the lawn, the walls, the trees.. everything. So I’d go for some spiders right now.
    You know I can’t wait for your next recipe. My fudge is long gone.❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Constantly being afraid of setbacks is draining but I’m trying to take the days as they come and appreciate the little good moments all the more.
      Oookay … I went back and forth between looking up pictures of that caterpillar madness – and then decided against it. Fingers crossed that plague will be over again for you soon!!!
      Thanks to dratted internet issues continuing I had to delay the recipe post but it’s coming next week!

  6. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I appreciate your honesty when you write. Sometimes we have weeks that are not amazing–and that’s okay.🙂
    Glad to hear that you’re new job is going well and that you’re feeling more confident. Transitioning to a new position can be tough. That’s awesome that you were able to bond with your colleague, too, despite your differences. It never hurts to be kind❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Joyce! Sometimes I wish I had other people’s ability to keep up a brighter appearance on the outside but that simply wouldn’t be true to myself.
      Kindness really never hurts. Never.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes! If it was only for people I don’t regularly see I’d care a little less. But those I work with every day? It’s worth making the effort so both sides feel surrounded by a good workplace atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

