Peanut butter_homemade

Keeping up the conversations.

Some things I will never learn. Okay …never say never so: some things will take a little longer for me to learn and act on. Like writing my Weeks in Review earlier or at least taking notes not to miss too much.

Do you believe in destiny? I do. It wasn’t apparent to me how destiny heard my wishes outlined in my previous WiRand delivered until I sat down to write this post. Meg, you keep inspiring me in ways you probably didn’t think of when creating your link-up.
Socializing might not have happened in just the way I’ve been longing for but I felt more connected with others than in previous weeks. I might be an introvert but a hermit I am not.

Week in review

During the past week I …

Worked five long days again. One of them presenting me with a huge challenge. Here’s the hopefully short story: I do a lot of the background work that nobody sees right there. As one of my colleagues was off on Friday I had to sub in for her at the reception desk. Oh my. Never underestimate what other people do. I’d known she was busy before but this was a whole new level of busy to me. Not only did I get more direct customer contact – yes, please!- but had to juggle taking up calls along with my usual responsibilities. Add in an emergency client and things got [not so] funny. Looking back now I’d do it again because I liked being around more people than usual but it was beyond stressful for a day.

Attended a dinner with all of my colleagues plus two new ones not yet working in the office on Tuesday. Truth: I wasn’t sure how it’d go and dreaded it a bit. Not because I don’t like my colleagues but worried I wouldn’t be able to actually connect and keep up conversations – still a fairly new member of a team that’s been working together for ten+ years. In the end, it was a little long for my preferences – four hours the night before a work day is out of my comfort zone. Yet I was able to bond more with some colleagues, lead interesting non work-related conversations and prove to myself that challenges can be overcome. By just letting go a little and allowing life to play out. Easier said than done.

yellow_flowers_tree

Published only two insteadof the promised three posts. I was excited to share the recipe for these bars yet technology pulled a Meghan Trainor on me. Now the internet is up and running – albeit slowly – again and hopefully will keep up doing so.

Lead a good albeit short conversation with a new client at work. He only speaks English so as I was working on the reception desk I took advantage of the opportunity and we had a chat beyond small talk. Anybody else not a fan of the latter?

Noticed some pain in my right leg – again, dang it! I’d really hoped it had healed for good after the past years rest and physio therapy  – and took it easy on the workout side. Even easier, I should say. It’s hard to become aware of your limitations and act on them when you’d actually rather rush and jump around. But in the end I’m grateful for all the things I can still do. Like this Blogilates workout. All I’ll say is: jello arms. And here I was going to skip that part thinking it’d have no effect in anyway.

Peanut butter_homemade

Made another batch of peanut butter. Which means I finished that previous one in just a week. Wow … let my mind process that for a bit.

What I discovered once again in the conversations I had at the restaurant is how deep my passion for language and reading runs. Not necessarily a new discovery but noticing how ridiculously excited I got talking about books and words made me realize I need to hone this passion more again. Reading and writing blog posts is great and I’m not going to stop doing it. Yet I think my mind would benefit from doing more of this offline, too. Maybe a little June goal?

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: A more productive Sunay than expected and – this will hopefully become a regular again after days of rain – the sunshine.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!
Do you find yourself reading less off- and more online? It’s a bad habit I really want to change.
When did you lead your last good, intense non-small talk conversation? These always add brightness or meaning to my days [depening on the topics].

17 thoughts on “Keeping up the conversations.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I’m not a fan of small talk so I totally get why you were glad to have a conversation with a client that was more than that… I mean, you can only talk about the weather for so long!

    I’m proud of you for going to that dinner with your colleagues even though you weren’t sure how it would go! I think it’s easy to feel like you won’t fit in, however, you can never fit in unless you make an effort to and that’s exactly what you did!

    I really need to get back into making time to read things I WANT to read. You see, I read all day long for work (as I’m writing content and reading it) but I don’t make enough time to read for pleasure!

  2. Morgan says:

    Uhm, that peanut butter though. It looks so good! I’ve been going through peanut butter so quick recently, I should really start making it myself!

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad to hear this week was a much better one for you. It was for us too. Cheers all around.

    Getting to put yourself in someone else’s shoes at work is always a good learning experience. It’s a great way to build empathy too. It’s why I always tried to have group meetings so people could try to relate to one another.

    Sometimes you have to forego the blog posts and just read a great book. Simple pleasure reading at it’s finest always wins.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I was glad to hear about your week was better than the previous one, too. Fingers crossed for more of those!
      Group meetings are a great idea to positively “force” people to see and acknowledge the work others do. It’s atually amazing how little we might know about certain colleagues work. I hardly had a clue of the boatload of work my colleague deals with on a daily basis at the front desk until a few months ago. Even more so after that one Friday.

  4. masala girl says:

    hope your leg gets better! my hip has been bugging me too. i took about 4 lighter days-2 were complete rest. lots of stretching, foam rolling and PT exercises and its doing better! hope you have another good week🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Priya! It’s fine again though I know I’ll always have to be careful due to my history of injuries. I hope you’re feeling completely okay again by now, too. Foam rolling is supposed to work some magic but I still haven’t invested in a roll myself.

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Erdnussbutter! Lecker!
    It sounds stressful but fun working the front desk and interacting with all the customers like you did. It was really sweet of you to reach out to your English-speaking client–I agree, sometimes small talk really wears me down, especially now that I’m working at a place where I interact with some many people I don’t know that well. It’s much more satisfying to have a real conversation.
    I’m making a concerted effort to read more books this summer. But I still want to read all the blogs–*sigh*. If you start any good books, let us know!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s a struggle, no? Wanting to keep up with all our favourite blogs and other websites but having limited free time after work.
      Erdnussbutter, yes🙂. Though I never call it that but Erdnussmus. For me, the former is that firm kind and mine absolutely has to be the natural drippy one. Maybe it’s the language nerd in me, too.

  6. Ellie says:

    The last deep conversation I had was with my sister about my mom. We just get things about our family and are able to talk about them now. Some things, not everything. It feels good that our relationships has improved to that point. I still try to keep things light with other family members.
    My deepest conversations usually happen during runs =P

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s great you two have each other to talk about those things and even better that it’s a result of improving your relationship first. Sibling relationship can be difficult, too.
      While these conversations happened inside I generally lead the best ones on the move – a walk or run -, too. Something about moving our legs gets the oxygen pumping into our brains allowing for clearer thinking, too. Or so I think.

  7. mylittletablespoon says:

    Wow. I know how challenging taking these social opportunities can be for an introvert – and for someone who, I assume, does not get much satisfaction from group “small talk” and would rather have a much deeper conversation one on one. Getting yourself out to those events, and stepping into a new more frontal position at work deserve a huge congratulations. I’m so elated to hear you felt some positive spark of energy after engaging with more people during that (stressful) shift at work. Do you think you may get the chance to do more of this?? As introverted as we are, humans need connection and it can really energize our souls. Huge hugs!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Late reply but thank you, Cora! I wasn’t fond of the rather huge gathering, either, but everybody ended up chatting in smaller groups at the large table for the most part. I got lucky regarding the colleagues sitting next to me because our conversation was really flowing.
      Unfortunately, the front desk situation is unlikely to happen again any time soon. A pity because I feel it’d be a great opportunity for growth but maybe others will appear.

  8. Liz @ I heart vegetables says:

    Hmm achievements from the past week… I’ve been doing lots of group workouts (gymnastics, yoga, etc.) which really motivates me and makes me feel strong!

    And that drippy peanut butter has me drooling! YUM!

Leave a Reply

