Full disclosure or: Where’s my Bradley Cooper?

Can we talk about honesty in blogging for a moment? I’m very much for that though also find it to be something that needs constant re-evaluation and depends largely on the topic and potentially people involved. Today I admittedly didn’t even feel like writing. It was one of those low days where you just want to walk out of your life like bye, Felicia. See you again. ..never. Okay, yes, that does sound a tad dramatic. Let’s say it’s that part of the movie where the protagonist is smack dab in the middle of the hard times with the saviour or solution yet to be seen. Bradley Cooper, can you please come and act your silver linings part in my life? All that to say that life currently doesn’t feel like sunshine and rainbows for me.
However, no matter how hard life gets I refuse to get all down. It’s all about the attitude. And mine is: catch the silver linings. Even if Bradley doesn’t show up. So no, I haven’t spent every waking minute hating on life. There’s sunshine, there are precious happy moments.  I just wanted to get this off my chest to show that hey, nobody’s life is perfect and always fun or easy-going despite it appearing like that in the blog world at times. It’s about the full disclosure here. Moving on because you didn’t come here to hear me ramble and I’d rather switch to the good things again, too. Also, it’s my sister’s birthday meaning I’ll see her and my sweet nephew again this week – definitely somethignt o look forward to! Here’s to another Week in Review with Meg  – thanks as always for hosting!

Week in review

Some of my happenings and accomplishments from the past week:

Worked five days again. No major successes, no sinking ships, either. Only my computer at work being a pain in the ass. Thank you for crashing multiple times in the same day. That really helped my work flow. Not.

Speaking of computer problems: those at home continued. Slow, crashes, weird happenings all around. Thanks to that I also only got two posts up.

Additionally, I haven’t been able to comment on most blogs. No, I’m not kidding and you might have already read it in yesterday’s post: Going about my blog reading as usual I failed at getting my comments through on any but maybe  a handful of blogs. For once it’s not my laptop’s fault as neither commenting from it nor my phone or computer at work – in a break, mind you – led to succeess. If any of you have an idea of what the problem could be: please let me know! Until then please don’t be surprised if I don’t join in on the conversation under your posts. Not amused.

Did Blogilates workouts every other day but skipped when I felt really thrown off or physically wasn’t having it. It took fighting my inner mean girl but that in itself is a mental workout. Win-win.

[Since I realized the lack of pictures until here: I’m currently in the process of preparing yet anpther batch of these PB & Jelly Bars for a colleague.]

Peanut Butter Fudge Blondie

Cleaned my apartment – on Friday already. I tend to put this off until Saturdays but I’d rather have it crossed off my list earlier.

Cleaned the fridge. No pictures and we won’t get into details because. .. yes. It had been a [too] long time. We’re not friends anymore if you’re going off to search for the last time I listed this in my Week in Review😉. Ooops. Learn from my mistakes and clean your fridge regularly.

Edited for my sister’s thesis again. It was fun to be in my element there again but: as long as I live and have a chance to interfere “to google” is not going to become a word. Please tell me you don’t use it or you’re hurting my little writer’s heart.

Received a literally sweet package from a just as sweet Insta-Friend. Thank you once again, Soph. This definitely was a silver sugar lining in my week. Also to all Americans: go and get this Lindt bar! It’s not available in Germany and you’re missing out. Just saying. Especially good with peanut butter. Not that you didn’t see this one coming from me, no?

Package by Soph

Saving the best for last: I went on another long and spontaneous walk with my dad. Full disclosure once more: this truly made my day and gave me a warm and fuzzy feeling as well as a very good conversation about t. Yet it’s not to say everything’s peachy between us. I’ve lived with him long enough to know that this could be shaken up the very next minute. But that’s what we have memories for: to keep the precious moments shared. This walk as well as another hug and high five will be stored in my mind for the worse times. Okay, I’ll stop the stop the sappy story time here but really valued this.

Reading over my list I realize this doesn’t sound like a bad week. It’s because – full disclose or not – I still didn’t share everything. The not-so-good moments are left out here as I need to work out these things for myself and we’re all keeping bits here and there to ourselves, no?

On  this note: let’s keep up the good attitude for our fresh start into a new week! Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today: The walk with my dad. 

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

How open are you on your blog? I occasionally worry about oversharing – especially in these posts – but for the most part keep a lot to myself because I need to work through things myself first.

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

17 thoughts on “Full disclosure or: Where’s my Bradley Cooper?

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    What even is a perfect life? Perfect is such a silly adjective as it has no real meaning – everyone’s idea of perfect is different!

    I am sorry to hear that things have been a little rough for you lately, beautiful! Just know that I’m always here if you need someone to chat to! (or vent to, for that matter!). I might be a billion miles away but my heart’s there!❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Truth. Once I’ve sorted through things a little I’ll definitely get back to our mails. It’s so nice to connect. Even if the other person is on the other side of the world .

  2. Morgan says:

    I’m with Kristy – perfect is such a stupid word because it puts SO MUCH pressure on people. And you’ll never achieve it. And imagine how BORING your life would be if it was perfect? (On the topic of movies, was it the Truman Show where he thought he was living a perfect life? If you haven’t go watch that movie! It’s trippy in a good life lesson way)
    I always feel like the days I DON’T want to write are the dys I really, really, REALLY need to write. I have at least a dozen drafts of posts I will never, ever publish that started as a post and somehow turned into a cryfest over a random issue I was having in my life. <– just me?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oooh, good reminder about the Truman show. I did actually watch it years ago and it’s a pretty interesting one.
      Trust me: you’re not the only one writing that kind of posts when something’s weighing on your mind. I have a -lot- of posts that came about that way and will never see the light of the blog world.

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Why oh why do I read blogs when I’m hungry. Now I want those delicious looking bars AND the Lindt chocolate bar. Good thing I have some leftover chocolate torte in my fridge.

    I think working five days a week is in itself a success whether anything major happened or not, and I’m so glad you had another high moment with your dad.

    I need to clean my fridge in the worst way, but things like showering and eating tend to trump that need. One day…

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Chocolate torte sounds like quite the nice consolation. I strongly advise you to try either the chocolate or the bars – or, really: both. I just made another batch of the latter and it came together in no time.
      Showering and feeding yourself always come before fridge clean-up sessions. Priorities.

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    It’s interesting–I’m very open about some things on my blog, and there are some elements of my life I don’t disclose at all. I think we have to make those choices.
    I’m so glad you were able to have the time with your dad for Father’s Day. It sounds like, even if it’s not a perfect relationship, it’s a relationship that’s growing and changing. Perhaps healing? I hope that continues to go well.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It actually wasn’t Father’s Day in Germany this past weekend. Ours was way back in May. A funny coincidence we happened to spend some dad-and-daughter time this Sunday, though. Healing – you used just the right word to describe our relationship.
      I think you’ve found a good balance of what you share on your blog.

  5. Cora says:

    Before anything else, I must say I laughed out loud at your “to google” comment. My god.. that must be in the dictionary now, no? I still haven’t checked. But I can’t believe it has become such a standard piece of the english language!! My heart hurts FOR your heart.
    And now, I must say… as obviously extremely difficult as a lot of this week (or last while) has been for you, I’m proud and happy (in a way) to see you writing so rawly. Of course you never should feel you need to disclose everything – gosh I’m sure none of us do – we need to protect ourselves by keeping certain things to ourselves – but writing out your pure honest feelings even when they are on the darker side, and not editing them, is a really healthy thing to do. Especially for those of us who fear rejection or put perfection on a pedestal. You got to just “show up” exactly where you are at. I’ll take you and listen to you wherever you are at, girly. All of us will.
    So I’m really really sorry life is hard right now. It just really sucks. And it deserves to be recognized as such. But… this too will pass.
    Thinking of you from across the ocean.

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    Oooh you can get that Lindt bar if you pop on over to the UK… Closer than the states for sure😉
    Glad to hear you had an awesome walk with your dad, makes me smile to hear!
    I think there is such a fine line between being open and honest on your blog and being personal. It’s a line I always try not to cross but it ain’t easy!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, I know it’s available in the UK and that’s in fact where my package came from. Unfortunately, the UK is still a bit too far away for a quick visit.
      Thank you, Jen! I hope those walks and good conversations will happen again in the future.

  7. Kate Bennett says:

    I probably most certainly overshare. I want to be an open book though occasionally I may regret say something or another. In general, I enjoy when other people are open so I try to do the same.
    Love that you and your Dad had a great walk!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, I’m surprised you feel like you’re oversharing. I’ve never felt this way when reading your blog. I hope you won’t regret any of your posts – no reason to do so🙂.

Leave a Reply

