oatmeal cookies_10

One Bowl Healthy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Buttery without the butter, delightfully sweet without refined sugar: With only eight ingredients, one bowl and no butter, oil or refined sugar these Healthy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies are vegan, gluten-free, easy to prepare and make for a great snack or nutritious treat.

healthy chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

Where do I start with these healthy vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies? They’re small but mighty. Okay, not really. Yet they’re small but have quite the story to tell. Inspired by the oatmeal cookies my mum has been making, sharing with the whole family and raving about these had to happen. See, I’m all for my family eating oatmeal. And cookies. But if there’s an option to merge these in a healthier way I’m even more in for it. Needless to say my mum’s standard recipe does not fit this criteria or else I wouldn’t have dusted off my apron to get baking.*

*granted, I didn’t wear an apron but writing this post reminded me I really should the next time.

healthy vegan oatmeal cookies (hazelnut version)

The verdict? My mum took one bite and said: “delicious, you can bake me a tin full of these”. Needless to say this made my day. Because you might imagine the rarity of a statement like that coming from her. Can we call that a huge success? Especially surprising as – and I’m going to commit a blogger crime saying this – I wasn’t overly impressed by the cookies myself. But I should add that a) I’m generally not a cookie person. Chocolate has my heart, or, rather: sweet tooth. And b) I still thought they were delicious, I’d just choose chocolate over any cookie any day so I’m not qualified to judge😉. My sister was a fan of the cookies, too, though, which should say it all: thumbs up for these.

I tried both a hazelnut and almond version of these – the first picture above shows the almond, the second one the hazelnut ones – and both were equally well received. The almonds blend in well with the other flavours while the hazelnuts add a litte extra flavour  – which I personally thought was great – so you decide what you’re feeling like.

healthy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies -

Crispy on the edges, soft in the middle with a delightfully hearty oat flavour spiked with hints of chocolate – they just deliver. They’re not your average dessert-like sweet cookies but their more nutritious but not less delicious cousins. Have your cookie and eat it [for breakfast], too!

One Bowl Healthy Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

yields about 8 cookies

3/4 cup quick oats [60 g] + 1-2 tbsps, divided [use certified gluten-free if necessary]
2 tbsps ground almonds/almond meal OR hazelnut meal [~18-20 g]
3 tsps tapioca starch
2.5-3 tbsps of maple syrup [see notes]
1 heaped tbsp of coconut oil  [20 g]
Pinch of sea salt
1+ tbsps of mini chocolate chips OR chopped up dark chocolate [see notes]
1/2 tsp vanilla [optional]
[Optional: non-dairy milk]

  1. Preheat oven to 350 °F/175 °C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a food processor, process the oatmeal into a fine flour. Add ground almonds, baking powder, salt and tapioca and give it a quick pulse to combine.
  3. Melt the coconut oil.
  4. Add the maple syrup, coconut oil and vanilla if using to the dry ingredients in the blender and mix to combine. The dough should stick together well at this point. If the dough is too crumbly, add 1/2 tbsp of non-dairy milk at a time to reach the desired consistency. Transfer dough to a small mixing bowl.
  5. Using your hands, mix in the remaining oats. You want the dough to be less sticky and rollable, not crumbly, so start with 1 tbsp of oatmeal.
  6. Add the chocolate chips and stir through with a spoon or your hands.
  7. Scoop dough onto prepared baking sheet, using around 3/4 of a tablespoon of dough per cookie. Roll into a ball and flatten into cookie shape between your palms. No need for perfection here.
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Let the cookies sit on the sheet for around five minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Notes:
Using hazelnut meal I found 2 1/2 tbsps of maple syrup to be enough but adjust to get the right consistency.

Use sugar-free/stevia-sweetened chocolate for a completely refined-sugar-free option.

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies_8

I’m linking up with Allergy Free Wednesdays#RecipeOfTheWeek,#StrangeButGoodGluten-Free Fridays,Tasty Tuesdays,Healthy Vegan Fridays, Meatless Mondays.

 

Happiness-inducing today:  Walking around outside soaking up the summery smell of the air. Can I bottle that scent up for colder months to come?!

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
 

What’s one family favourite dish/cookie you’ve “healthified”?

Do you prefer chocolate chips or raisins in your oatmeal cookies?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

12 thoughts on “One Bowl Healthy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    These look seriously delicious! I’m actually a raisin oatmeal cookie fan as I loveeeee how chewy and delicious the raisins get!

    Definitely bottle up that summer goodness as the only reason I’m getting through winter right now is the unseasonably hot days that seem to keep happening😛

  2. kimmythevegan says:

    “I’m generally not a cookie person.” Really?! I totally am. And I was SO EXCITED to see that these are gluten-free! Totally book marked them to make soon.
    Thank you so much for sharing these at Healthy Vegan Fridays – they are being featured tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

