Week in review: In the summertime …

… and the weeks keep flyng by. What is it about summertime feeling being way shorter than the cold seasons? I can not believe it’s August 1st. – insert me double-checking because: seriously??? What am I supposed to get my dad for his birthday?? Ah, I digress … Anyway, yes, it’s August so new month, same weekly ritual of listing what happened in the past week with a few recent realizations.

Week in review

Realization for this post as a whole: Technology really dislikes – to avoid saying: hates – me [think: refusal to upload some  new images]. Why am I even surprised in the slightest after all of my technology woes recently [yes, #firstworldproblems]??  Let’s decide I’m not and head into this new week with a positive outlook and another Week in Review with Meg. As in Meg = the person making sure we keep a positive outlook on life an give ourselves pats on the back even if we feel we’re still behind on our to-do lists. It’s okay. Let’s see what happened in the past few days [or what I remember in anyway …]

Blueberries

Realization: I wasn’t meant to meet any new friends this summer. Or: how every single meet-up I’d planned was doomed for failure.

Remember how I said I didn’t have any great plans for my holidays but to simply relax? Well … I didn’t really do this as a result of keeping my expectations low but after the disappointment of finding out the second [third?] of my planned meet-ups wasn’t coming to fruition. So no, I didn’t plan on hermit-ing [yes, that’s a word now, autocorrect!] my summer away. You might understand why booking last minute holidays or traveling further away didn’t sound enticing after recent happenings in the world.

For the sake of my friends’ privacy I won’t go into the details of how any of these individual meet-ups was impeded – several of the times actually very last-minute. Let’s say that money ruling the world sucks and falling asleep over books a day before a planned meet-up [not me!] doesn’t help getting the latter to happen. Sigh. Just this much: I’d meant to socialize more but it apparently wasn’t meant to be. At least I got to see my sister and nephew way more often which is a big bonus and consolation.

Realization: Spending some more money on a certain thing doesn’t always just buy you that.

The above is my admittedly complicated way of saying I finally treated myself to a new haircut and – booking an appointment with my favourite hairdresser – got a really nice long conversation on top of it. #priceless  Just in case you’re wondering why it took me months and months a while to book an appointment: I have this magical ability to see my expenses, panic inside and decide to put off spending any but the necessary money [read: food] on myself. Silly.

Eis_Hamburg

Realization: Rainy moody days make for the best movie nights

After wanting to see this movie for months [and none of the local cinemas showing it] I finally watched ‘Concussion’ with my mum. It was a rainy grey Sunday so we spontaneously rented it. I’m not good at writing movie reviews so:

If you like football: watch this movie! If you don’t like football [and – like me – know zilch about it]: watch this movie. In short [you guessed it]: watch this movie. It’s based on a true story which is always a bonus in my opinion. Though in this case I wish the findings weren’t true.

Realization: My blood tastes way too good [not that I tried!]

This post wouldn’t be complete without sharing what might be my biggest ouch-but accomplishment: visiting my sister and little P. on Saturday. Now the true accomplishment is only revealed by the story  behind this. One word: mosquitoes. More words: I’ve been all mosquitoes’ favourite target for weeks. Actually, thinking about it since the beginning of my holidays which is pretty mean if you ask me.  Anyway, the night from Friday to Saturday was the worst  an shortest so far. Think: the moment I was half-asleep a mosquito attacked my ear again. All in all, I got probably ~3 hours of sleep that night until I had to get up to catch the train. Way exhausted taking the two-hour-ride was the last thing I felt like doing. Yet I couldn’t let effing mosquitoes win and went in anyway. Also hung up my dusty-yet-trusty mosquito net the moment I came back in th evening.

Little P_nephew

That long story out of the way: I spent a wonderful day at my sister’s with her, my mum and the cutest little human I know. He even restrained from pulling my hair this time – charmer😉. Aside from above-mentioned victory over mosquitoes I also spontaneously got ice cream despite not craving it at all. Some may find it weird but I’ve been way more into savoury fare lately yet my reasoning was: a) refusing free ice cream is ridiculous and b) it’s about the social aspect, too. Long story short: I found myself eating some of the best flavours in a while [salted peanut caramel? Ooooh my.]

… and because I got a little too wordy for this post already here I’ll just add a few more bullet points here:

Realization: Ovens might not have conspired against me after all.

I tested another recipe for the blog and – it worked. Still not a baker but I’m excited to share this recipe. As luck would have it – see intro – WordPress didn’t feel like uploading any of my new images so none to show.  What I can say for now is that yes, it does actually use an oven😉, it’s parent-approved and uses trail mix in a different way than usual [no granola bars].

Practiced lots of self-restraint while browsing stores in Hamburg once again.

Published two posts in the past week, one of which was another round-up of my favourite recent reads.

Ordered a new book. That obviously had to arrive in the mail the day I wasn’t there. I’ll pick it up from the post office today. Fingers crossed it’ll make up for my recent disappointments.

Proofread many pages for my sister again. Rumor has it I’ll be in for a voucher to an organic grocery once I’m done which is quite motivating. Okay, let’s be honest: I’m grammar-nerdy enough to do it without any rewards.

Finally sent an important mail off. Why I put off those that mean the most for the longest time is still beyond me.

Truth be told: since those planned meet-ups didn’t happen a lot of time was spent soaking up the sun, reading and only doing this and that [read: non-mention-worthy daily tasks]. It’s hard not to let guilt sweep in but I’m trying to convince myself work will get stressful again soon enough after it starts.

Enough of me: tell me about your life lately and have a happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  The prospect of picking up a hopefully good new book.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
Do mosquitoes like you way too much or spare you?
What’s the most unique ice cream flavour you had so far?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

14 thoughts on “Week in review: In the summertime …

  1. Ellie says:

    Getting a haircut always feels good. It’s a fresh feeling. I’m sorry your meet-ups haven’t happened, I haven’t had any outside of running for a long time now. Part of me considers my running the major part of my social life. However, I do enjoy meeting up with others outside of sweating. It’s hard to do so though because it does cost money, and I don’t have a lot of it. If you have any tips to getting together with people that would work for my introverted self, I’d love to hear that!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      At least you have those runner buddies – that immediately means you share an interest with whichever new people might join your group. It’s a huge hindrance meeting others who live further away is quite costly for sure.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad you’re getting to spend so much time with your nephew this summer. It’s amazing how quickly they change. I cannot believe how big Ave has gotten and how much I sound like a stereotype mom, but it’s true. Although in my defense I’m ok with her getting bigger (at least right now) and I can’t wait for her to move and talk. I’m looking forward to the future with her.

    I want to see Concussion. It’s on my must watch list. I’m glad to hear you liked it and you got to have a little mother daughter time.

    Way to go on getting your haircut. I bet it looks fantastic and it’s always nice to take care of yourself a bit. Keep it up.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up. It’s always nice to see you in the WIR.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, trust me: you’re not the only one catching herself with all the stereotypical phrases. I say the typical aunt/”he’s-already-grown-so-much since my previous visit!” things all the time. Because a) they’re impossible to avoid and b) babies are too cute/growing too fast/doing all the things that make us adults behave stereotypically😀. Well, you know I’m constantly making the same remarks on Ave because she really is SO cute and I can’t believe she’s almost four months old already.
      Definitely watch Concussion! I’ve been recommending it left and right.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    Congratulations on the self care splurge. Hair cuts are always so soothing, I find. And if it was with a hairstylist you enjoy, then that’s a huge bonus. You should do this more often!!
    Also glad to hear you’ll (hopefully) have a more positive reading experience coming your way.
    I’ve never heard of concussion… but I’d trust any review you gave, so I’ll have to look it up.
    Although I’m sad your social/friend meet ups didn’t work out as planned (because what ever does, right?) I’m glad you seemed to give in to the notion of just plain out relaxing and not pressuring yourself to do much. That is what a holiday is for my dear.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually relaxing and not feeling guilty about it when I see/know everybody else is working is seriously hard. I’m not sure I’ll ever master that.
      I’m honoured you’re trusting my taste in movies😉. Concussion really is a great one. Also, your comment reminded me I still haven’t gotten a chance to watch ‘The Danish Girl’.

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Oh my goodness yes! I feel like this has been one of the fastest summers of my life. How can it be August already. By the end of the month, I’ll be in school.
    I hope the new book works out! It’s so disappointing that you’ve had such bad book luck lately😦
    I totally hear you–I’m also the kind of grammar nerd who would edit stuff just to edit it. Unlike you, however, I seem to be less tasty to mosquitos. It sounds crazy to say it, but at some of the summer jobs I’ve worked, you could honestly tell that the mosquitos preferred some folks over others. How unfair is that?!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Grammar nerds unite! I feel very alone with this in the ‘real’ world so it’s nice to see there are equally language-obsessed people out there.
      If only summer lasted a few more weeks …

  5. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I totally had the same birthday present issue with my Dad but his birthday IS August 1st (we got him a leaf blower/vacuum, a heap of shirts and some books, in case you’re wondering haha). Next is my birthday and he has to figure out what to get me😛

    I’ve never even heard of Concussion (hello! I live under a rock… I think I may have heard them talking about it on tv though but since that would have been when I was riding the stationary bike, I was probably too busy scrolling instagram)

    I hate hate hateeeeeeee mosquitos but somehow they hate me too and never bite me! Woohoo!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Maybe not a leaf blower but something for the garden is actually a pretty good gift idea for my dad, too, so thank you for the inspiration!
      Lucky duck you for mosquitoes hating you :)!

  6. sweetandstrongblog says:

    Meeting up with friends is so hard as adults! Don’t you miss the summer days of being a kid and calling your friends over on the landline or riding your bike over to their house?!?

  7. Liv @ Healthy Liv says:

    Mosquitos seem to LOVE me for some reason and I can’t stand it! I seriously got 3 bites inside my house the other night. Most unique ice cream I’ve tried is wildberry lavender. It tasted like a fruity sherbert!

Leave a Reply

