Trail Mix Crackers_box

Healthy Whole Wheat Trail Mix Crackers

Better than store-bought: Packed with nutritious ingredients these Healthy Whole Wheat Trail Mix Crackers are a simple to prepare yet elegant-looking snack to impress. Vegan, with no added oil or refined sugar these can be made gluten-free, too,

Should I ever have enough recipes* I’d add a category called parent-approved. What’s other bloggers’ kid-approved seal would be dishes that pass my parents’ picky palates. Honestly, while my parents enjoy good quality food I wouldn’t have considered them gourmets [which I’d associated with truffle anything, five-star restaurants and the likes until now]. Given their at times  [overly] harsh criticism of my recipes? I might just have changed my opinion. Luckily, these crackers passed the test – despite being neither sweet nor involving any fudgy chocolate action.

*and a self-hosted site allowing for a nicer plug-in and at that presentation of them

Trail Mix crackers

Why Trail Mix Crackers? Because, well, trail mix. Lots of delicious and nutritious nuts paired with naturally sweet raisins for quick and healthy energy – what’s not to like? In 10th grade I went through a huge trail mix phase, always carrying a bag with me and already letting doubtful friends know about the fact that no, fat doesn’t make you fat [from that moment  on they demanded I share my trail mix, of course ;)]. I used a standard trail [think: almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts and way too many raisins] for easy availability but go with what you have on hand or fancy. Yet I’d recommend not using one of those containing any chocolate or other ingredients that might burn easily as you’ll bake these crackers for a longish time. Then again you could obviously sacrifice yourself and pick the ‘undesired’ chocolate out of any trail mix. The selfless things we do for others, no?!

Trail Mix Crackers

While I didn’t test this option myself I can’t see why using an all purpose gluten-free flour wouldn’t work here. Being baked twice these Trail Mix Crackers area forgiving recipe ending in a nice crispy result every time. Some of the loaves I baked didn’t come out quite as intended but crisped up just fine on the second round in the oven.

And the taste? They’re neither verging decidedly on the sweet nor savoury side but a pleasant in-between with the nuts adding an amazing texture and the plump raisins being dots of sweetness.Making them the perfect vehicle for both sweet spreads – think jam + cream cheese, various nut butters or even Nutella if that’s how you roll – or savoury options like as part of a cheese platter.

Trail Mix Crackers_box

One more thing: I know twice-baked anything sounds way too involved. Trust me, though: these are anything but. And the fact you can freeze some of the baked loaves and crisp them up whenever you feel like makes these crackers a great snack for spontaneous visitors, too. Containing trail mix might give it away but I’ll state the obvious: they also make a good on-the-go snack. Hitting the trail with some Trail Mix Crackers? Sounds really good to me.

Healthy Whole Wheat Trail Mix Crackers

2 cups of whole-wheat flour* [240g]
1/2 tsp of salt
2 scant tsp of baking soda
1/4 cup flax seeds [~28g]
2 tbsps maple syrup
2 cups of unsweetened soy or almond milk [480 ml]
2 tsps apple cider OR white vinegar OR lemon juice
1 cup trail mix* [~110-120g]

  1. Preheat oven to 325 *F/165 *C.
  2. Grease four mini loaf pans (5 3/4 inches x 3 1/4 inches) very well OR line with parchment paper. I recommend the latter for easy removal of loaves after baking.
  3. In a large mug, stir vinegar into the soy milk and set aside to curdle. This won’t take longer than 5-10 minutes depending on the kind of ‘milk’ used. After is has curdled, stir in the maple syrup.
  4. Prepare your trail mix by chopping any nuts or breaking them into smaller pieces.
  5. In a large bowl mix flour, baking soda, salt and flax seeds plus cinnamon if using.
    Pour the wet into the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Don’t over mix.
  6. Fold in the trail mix.
  7. Pour the batter into your prepared pans and bake for 35-45 minutes. Loaves should be golden brown and springy to touch.  Test with a toothpick to check if they’re done after minimum baking time. They toothpick should come out clean. If it doesn’t, bake for an additional five minutes and test again.
  8. Let the loaves cool down on a wire rack very well before slicing. If you do have the time I recommend freezing them for easier slicing.
  9. Preheat the oven to 325°F/160 °C.
  10. Slice the loaves as thin as possible, letting thaw a little before if you froze them. The thinner they are the better they will crisp up.
  11. Bake crackers for a baking sheet lined with parchment paper for about 25 minutes or until crisp [time will depend on how thin or thick the crackers are cut]. Flipping them about halfway through the baking time is optional but recommend.
  12. Let cool completely before serving.

Notes

  1. *a gluten-free AP mix should work just fine
  2. A serrated knife is your best friend for slicing the loaves thin enough for crispy Crackers.

Adapted from Babble.

Trail Mix Crackers_3.JPG

I’m linking up with Meatless MondaysAllergy Free Wednesdays#RecipeOfTheWeek,Gluten-Free Fridays,Tasty Tuesdays,Healthy Vegan Fridays.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Taking time to read a book before and after work.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What’s in your go-to trail mix?

Are your family members the harshest judges of your cooking, too?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

12 thoughts on “Healthy Whole Wheat Trail Mix Crackers

  1. Ellie says:

    Trail mix is indeed delicious. I think my favorite mix-in is probably dates. I simply love them! My family is just critical of everything, so I stopped cooking anything when I lived there, even if it was just for myself…because they would eat some of it and then be critical. Those were the days of sandwiches hahaha

  2. MaryEllen@VNutrition says:

    These look so good! I love that they are not too sweet or savory so they’ll go with lots of different spreads. What a great idea to make trail mix crackers.

    I also love your cute Nuremberg tin. I’m visiting Nuremberg in December so I’ll have to look around for one!

  3. Marla says:

    i would just like to say thank you for to have you join us on Real Food Fridays and hope to see you each and every week. I love your healthy cracker recipe – sound really tasty. Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. Pinned & tweeted!

  4. Marla says:

    Just a note to let you note that I have chosen your article as one of my features for this weeks Real Food Fridays blog hop that goes live every Thursday @ 7pm EST. Thank you for sharing your valuable information with us and helping to make this world a little healthier.

Leave a Reply

