Good good links #155

Hi there and happy Sunday!

Risking a repeat offender but: I read less online this week yet still found so many great posts that I’m excited to share with you and find out which ones you like best. We have guests around so I’ll keep this intro super short and th focus on all the amazing links below.

 


Good good links

Good good [food for thought]

An Open Letter to American Culture: I’m a Pretty Girl With A Problem via Healthyez Sweet

How well-meant compliments can turn into pressure and steer our focus from what really makes us unique.

Guilt: The Good, the Bad, the Ugly via Life of Endurance

Do you let guilt take over in the decisions you make in everyday life?

 

Good good [advice, inspiration and other insightful reads]

10 things you don’t need in your life anymore via Apron Sticks and Sticky Fingers

A truly wonderful list that you should rid your life of right away to improve your emotional and physical well-being.

Health Conscious or Disordered Eating? Via Avocado a Day Nutrition

Where to draw the line between a passion for healthy living and an obsession that takes over your life under the guise of being ‘healthy’.

16 Iron Rich Vegetables via Veggie Quest

A post I’d been waiting for and it’s packed with lots of useful [and potentially surprising] information on filling up those iron depots with plants [not merely a list of iron-rich vegetables!].

Blogging

3 Ways to Avoid Blogger Burnout – Or Bounce Back from One via In It 4 the Long Run

Thoughts on an important issue and how to prevent yourself from it through balance.

Why I Love Instagram Stories (and what it means for bloggers) via Forever Amber

Like it? Don’t like it? This post might help you form an opion on Instagram’s [stolen] latest feature.

Be the Olivia Pope of Blogging via Jade & Oak

Two confessions: a) I’ve never watched Scandal and b) I only now remembered to include this post. Anyway, if you enjoyed that show and like a good analogy on how it’s intertwined with blogging  – this one’s for you.

How to Start (and Grow!) Your Side Hustle via Katy Widrick

No expert has fallen from the sky yet and these are some great tips on finding and growing your niche.

 

Good good [posts to make you smile]

All The Times President Obama Lost His Chill Around Kids via BuzzFeed

Can you really blame him? Cuteness alerts all around.

Police Cooked This Lonely Elderly Couple Pasta After They Were Heard Crying via BuzzFeed

The real takeaway here should be to look after one another – be it family members, friends we haven’t talked to in a long while or neighbours.

 

Good good [food]

Lightened Up Rainbow Baked Cheesecakes (Gluten Free!) via Southern in Law

Because everything is better in colour. Also:  eat the rainbow😉.

Paleo Vanilla Ice Cream via Joyfoodsunshine

This looks unbelievably creamy and calls for a mere five ingredients.

Vegan Buffalo Cauliflower Dip via Hummusapien

Cauliflower, chickpeas, cashews – the ingredients alone leave no doubt this is spectacular. And those pictures …

The Best Vegan Baked Mac and Cheese (Healthy & Gluten Free!) via Southern in Law

Another recipe by Kristy because I can’t not include a vegan mac that gets such an amazing review [read the post for her sneaky ways ;)].

Red Lentil Pizza Crust via Oatmeal with a Fork

By now we all know cauliflower, zucchini and possibly sweet potato as far as grain-free crusts go. But lentils? That’s a new and very intriguing one.

Cauliflower Parmesan via Fork and Beans

Can you crave something you’ve never eaten? Because that’s the case here.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Good conversations.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 thoughts on “Good good links #155

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I am going to be 100% honest when I say, “I hate Instagram stories”… Ha. Wait, I am always honest, so no clue why I put a disclaimer. Any who. I hate Instagram stories. I think we are all being so insanely consumed with social media that we forget to actually live our lives. We forget to actually HAVE experiences. Instead, we are DOING THINGS for others. And when I say that, I don’t mean, helping others out, I mean, we are literally doing things so as to “show off” to others. I am not one to do such things. I do in fact live my life. This is why I plan on NOT using IG stories. I will continue to use SnapChat – the MINIMAL amount that I do… Although I will probably delete it within the next month because WHO CARES. I really wish IG would nix this option because I know far too many people are LOVING IT… Ugh. I wish people could just forget their phones at home one day a week and actually LIVE for themselves!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Talk about a laaaate reply but: bring on the honesty any time. We’re all entitled our own opinion and hey, you’re talking to the girl who never even considered downloading Snapchat so … The reason I included the post here was for those who -do- use Snapchat and were wondering about whether or not to use Instagram stories. By now, I’ve watched only a handful of stories and even then skipped out mid-story because I couldn’t see the added benefit/closer connection to the people. But if others enjoy it: no judgement.

  2. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Happppyyy Sunday to you, beautiful!

    I love how you think because eating the rainbow should DEFINITELY apply to rainbow cheesecakes!

    I’m actually loving instagram stories – but I think that’s because I’ve never had snapchat. It’s a fun way to share little snapshots of our day that aren’t really things that make the blog or our instagram feed! I love looking at other’s stories too because it’s more “real” – you get to see the mundane everyday stuff and not just the pretty flat lays and posed images.

    That said, it definitely doesn’t have me using instagram any more than I did previously – and I think that’s the key! If it’s going to make instagram take over your life, steer clear!

Leave a Reply

