Week in review: Filling the happiness batteries.

Hello there, Monday!

Rather than ask where the past week went I’ll ask how it could actually pass by without me crossing much off of my to-do list. Yes, that’s basically synonymous. The truth is that for the majority of these days I powered through work and once I got home exhaustion hit me. Dear logic, I don’t get you and expect an explanation.
A possible explanation on why I didn’t catch up on my to-do list much on the weekend, either, was my dad’s delayed birthday celebration and at visitors in the house again. More specifically my siblings, my sister’s husband and little P. If it was up to me they could have extended their stay but alas, work is calling.

While family gatherings are never just smooth sailing – are they for anyone? – overall they brighten my life and recharge my happiness batteries. Even though I consider myself an introvert I thrive in social settings that have been too rare in past months  [not entirely by my choice ifyou recall the holiday dilemma]. So much so that my mood drops noticeably as soon as I’m alone again. Which is right now but I’m trying to fight the gloominess by looking back at the good moments of the past week. Once again by joining Meg for a Week in Review.

 

Week in review

During the past week I …

Worked five days that luckily were of the variety I enjoy most: lots to do with daily trips outside. My job is mostly secretary work with occasional driving to pick up or deliver goods. It’s nice to get outside in between as I notice these little breathes of fresh air and walks, even if short, already increase my productivity. While I could do without the early wake-up times I enjoyed being back at work and surrounded by people, having the occasional conversation.

Started a morning habit of reading for ~20-30 minutes after waking up and getting dressed. It’s a little something to look forward to which I as a definite non-morning person need.

Read one book and started another – the latter being my second time reading The Rosie Project. It was safest going with a book I know and really enjoyed before deciding on which to buy next.

book_The Rosie Project

Published three blog posts, including one for these Healthy Whole Wheat Trail Mix Crackers that got my whole family’s approval and some truly good good links.

Went for walks every day. Also walked home from work two days [a ~25-minute walk that helped me relax a bit]. My favourite walk, though, was one I took with my sister, her husband and P. on Saturday. It was filled with laughter – they’re two goofballs – but also finding out about their plans for the future and his job. Walks, in my opinion, are the best way to have deeper conversations.

Took a little trip to a village nearby where we sat on a dike at a friend’s little stall  Summer wouldn’t be complete without at least one visit there and it was even more enjoyable with our little sunshine. Unfortunately, said friend told us he wasn’t going to continue this side business next year so we might have to bid goodbye to that tradition.

Baby nephew

Spent a lot of time thinking. Yes, odd to write down but I’ve been reflecting a lot lately and can’t stop my mind from doing so. I might need to pick up a nice diary and start journaling again. I’ve seen a number of bloggers mention it in the past time and stress its benefits for their overall wellbeing/mental health.

Baked a batch of oatmeal cookies for my parents on Sunday night when abovementioned loneliness set in. Emotional baking? It might just be a thing.

Attended my dad’s birthday dinner with friends for the conversations more than the food and had some great ones. It made my soul happy and satisfied that night.

That aside I just did the usual adulting – yes, including the dreaded task – that’s not mention-worthy. Plus, I’m in a hurry to finish this post after my siblings’ departure and before going to bed. Yet another reason why early mornings aren’t my favourites.Not very blogging-compatible for night owls😉.

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Family time. That’s not to say we were always getting along but it’s the overall happiness that stays in mind.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!

When do you usually write your Weeks in Review?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

9 thoughts on “Week in review: Filling the happiness batteries.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Your morning reading habit sounds absolutely perfect! I’ve started making more time for reading lately too and I am loving it! The only problem though? I’ve read four books in the last week and I don’t know if our teeny tiny local library can keep up with my reading habit😛

    I am so glad you’ve been recharging your happiness batteries!❤ xo

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I love the picture of little P. Seeing glimpses of him is awesome and it’s fantastic he can sit up completely on his own!!

    Walks are fantastic ways to have good conversation and slip in a little exercise, at least for me these days. I did get the ok from Ave’s doctor last week that I can run with her in the stroller but I haven’t quite figured out the post run logistics yet…i.e. a shower since I get super sweaty and don’t want to be taking care of a baby all day in a pool of my own filth.

    I think emotional baking is totally a thing, and I’m happy to get the output of that.🙂

  3. Emily Swanson says:

    I love baking cookies and walking and being with family! It’s not always that our relationships are perfect, but that’s such a neat way of watching God work in our relationships.

    I love going out and just walking to think and pray and recap the day in my head. I’m so glad you’re getting in lots of nice walks and good reading.

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    Emotional baking is an absolute thing – something I’ve learned about myself and my needs in this past year I’d say. Nothing else calms or sooths or helps me sit with my thoughts like mixing some ingredients in a bowl and putting them in the oven. I’m glad you gave yourself this quiet time this week.
    Also, really really really happy to hear you seeming to enjoy some social events and time with others this week – some conversation with co workers and at your father’s bday party – this is great. Like you said, even us introverts need connection. We all need to be around people, and it definitely can have a huge affect on our spirit. I hope your happiness batteries remain filled throughout this week❤

  5. bucketlisttummy says:

    Emotional baking – we’ve all been there🙂 There is something that sounds so cathartic about reading in bed for 20 minutes before starting the day. I think I may try adding this to my routine!

  6. Claire @ My Pink & Green Life says:

    It sounds like you had a lovely last weekend and I hope this one is going well for you! I am housesitting for my internship advisor right now and getting excited to get home and see my family, too. My sister has been working in Myanmar all summer and she got back to the States this week, so we finally get to catch up!

    I know this is a bit late, but in the past week I wrote two articles for the magazine I work for, read two books, and managed to not break anything in my advisor’s house! So I’d say it’s been a pretty successful week.🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh wow. Where/in which position did your sister work in Myanmar? I can imagine how much there’s to catch up on now.
      Housesitting sounds fun and with my occasional clumsiness I’d consider not breaking anything a success, too😉. Also: two books? That’s a lot. Which ones did you read? I’m in dire need for recommendations!

Leave a Reply

