Week in Review: Procrastinating no more.

Okay, we all know that title is a lie, no? Unless you’re superhuman it’s very unlikely you’ll just stop procrastinating altogether. It’s much less likely if you’re me: an average girl/woman* ever so prone to forego those pesky tasks that need to be done but maybe not this very minute. We all know that feeling, right? Just me?? Yet the title is right in that the past week was one where I consciously procrastinated less [more on that at the end of this post]. Which isn’t half bad for a start if I dare say so myself.

It’s been quite a while since my previous time linking up with Meg for a Week in Review. Being the overthinker I am I did mull over this and let’s just say the outcome would yield another post of its own so for now I’m giving it a go again and will see how to go from there. Share some of your recent achievements in the comments, too. It’s nice to get a glimpse into what others are working on and getting done, too. And: we all deserve that pat on the back [ask my dad; we have a slightly embarrassing story regarding that whole pat-on-the-back business;)].

*does anybody else – any twenty-something + ladies, that is – can’t decide whether or not to call themselves ‘girl’ [it’s a blog world phenomenon, I think]. Woman just sounds so … grown-up/married/having-it-all-figured-out? I don’t know. Enlighten me if have a clue on this, please.

Week in Review

 

Onto some of what I did, experienced and stopped procrastinating on!

Worked the usual five days. They were pretty busy ones which I appreciated. While at times stressful I prefer having an ongoing to-do list over those slow days a week ago.

Created two new recipes for the blog that I’m excited to share. While no big deal for food bloggers it was one for me as I’ve been lacking my kitchen mojo lately.

Posted twice – including some good good links – which felt good after two weeks out of the blogging loop.

Voted. Germany’s been holding  elections in several of its federal states these past weeks and it was our state’s turn, too. As I knew I’d feel stressed out having to decide on twelve (!) different people on the actual election day – the German voting system is quite different from the US one – I choose postal voting. It was a special moment that had me reflect on the privilege of being able to freely vote and also as a woman. I’ve never gotten political on here and don’t plan on doing so in the future but I truly think everybody should make use of this right. The end.

Read every morning and also most afternoons right after returning from work. Sitting in front of a computer most of the time at work I think I/my brain really needed that time off. I do feel less stressed when I don’t turn on my laptop right away when I get home or flick through Instagram before work already. The only problem is that I’m running out of books. For once, there’s still the bad experience of my planned vacation reads and then the fact I have a few requirements for a good book that I’m always concerned won’t be met. Yes, I’m difficult.

Cried.I only very lightly hinted at it but we received some sad and hard to process news on Monday. Is crying a shame as an adult? Personally, I let my feelings bottle up for two long and crying is my way to work on them. Luckily, I had a shoulder to lean on.

Baked a batch of oatmeal cookies for my parents. In my mum’s words: the best oatmeal cookies. She’s been on a quest to find that one perfect recipe yielding cookies like those sold at a very popular Swedish furniture store. Knowing that her current recipe wasn’t what she actually wanted sparked my ambition to deliver the -one- recipe. I can get serious about these things, especially if it’s an opportunity to try another blogger’s recipe because I personally find it so nice to hear when somebody tries and like one of mine. Long story short: these oatmeal cookies are neither vegan nor healthy. But they’re just chewy and just like those sold in coffeehouses while really simple to prepare. If it wasn’t for the eggs even I would have been tempted to sneak a bite.  [the ones below are my healthy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, not those I baked because they didn’t turn out pretty enough for a picture].

oatmeal cookies_10

Washed two loads of laundry. #adulting – and we know how I feel about this household task.

Cleaned the apartment. It’s still a miracle to me how the floors get dirty again in what feels like minutes every time.

Finally sent off a letter to cancel a contract. Long overdue. This was something I’d majorly procrastinated on because I wasn’t sure how to go about this. Being all honest I was ashamed I didn’t and dreaded asking for help so pushed it back on my to-do list time and time again. Not a smart choice.

Spent less money than I usually do on groceries on Saturdays. This was ironically due to finding myself without a car and therefore having to go by bike with a mere two saddlebags. A balancing act in the literal sense on my way back home. ..

Reflecting on my ‘procrastinate less’ habit here I feel this might just have been the first impact of Erin’s recent post setting in. Some will probably think of it as ridiculous but in a way doing all of these little things right away when I’d usually have procrastinated was a way of lowering my pain threshold. Am I annoyed by overflowing trash bins or compost bags, clothes in dire need of washing or leaving the groceries in their bags instead of unpacking right away? Yes.Yet I still used to/occasionally still procrastinate getting these little task done right then and there. I’m a firm believer of small steps being the best way to tackle the bigger goals, too.

Anyway, a constant goal [and struggle] of mine is going to bed earlier and since I’m once again writing this post at night I’d better finish now. I hope you feel good about the past seven days and have a great start into the new week! Happy Monday!

P.S.: All of these pictures are ‘recycled’ because out internet connection has been a fussy beast for weeks and it was too slow to upload any new ones.

Happiness-inducing today: Having a productive yet still relaxing Sunday – and lots of sunshine!

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

19 thoughts on “Week in Review: Procrastinating no more.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    YES! I am so with you on the girl/woman thing. I always say to Jesse I have to be either girl or lady (as in young lady) because woman feels old. It’s like ma’am. Please do not call me ma’am because that sounds like what I’d call a grandma.

    I agree with you on voting too. In Australia it’s compulsory to vote (in fact, you’re fined if you DON’T vote) and I feel like no one has any right to complain about their politicians/leadership if they choose not to vote in countries where it’s optional.

    I am sending virtual hugs your way, beautiful! Bad news is never easy to take.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Honestly? I wish voting was compulsory – in hopes of the ‘good’/reasonable people’s votes weighing more, obviously. I’d be scared if this meant a win for the aggressive right wing parties, though.
      And yes, woman does sound old when I apply it to myself. Not so much my colleagues or other, well, women, though. Odd.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Welcome back. I’ve missed your WIR posts, although I’m sorry to hear you received a bit of bad news. I hope all is well and I’m sending virtual hugs and love. Crying is natural so let it all out. It’ll very likely be cathartic.

    Also, I still call myself a girl. I can’t help it. It’s the inner bracelet making child inside of me. That and I read Peter Pan way too many times. I won’t grow up!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Meg! I wish there was less to cry about but it’s true that when there is crying helps immensely.
      Coming from you I’ll take this wild card of calling myself a girl for as long as I feel like. Peter Pan is a good idol to have here.

  3. Claire B. says:

    Haha, I always struggle with the girl/woman thing too! I still don’t feel entitled to call myself a woman even though I’m turning 22 in November… it will come with time, maybe?

    I am so sorry to hear about your bad news! Lots of love to you and your family.❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good to know I’m definitely not alone there. Well, I’m a few years older and have now decided I’ll push that decision off for quite a while still.
      Thanks for the kind words, Claire. I appreciate them.

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    I initially began this comment with, “Girl…” Then I realized how ironic/fitting that was for your post. I find saying “woman” to be awkward… Still. I like calling my friends girl/lady no matter the age. If I’m talking ABOUT someone I will say woman. But yeah, let’s be sassy girls as long as we’d like.
    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been dealing with some bad news. Crying is NEVER something to feel ashamed about. Holding it in will only cause more problems. We all need to cry, no matter our age.
    It really sounds like you are going through a lot of internal processing and revaluating your goals. Congrats on taking the plunge to eliminate procrastination. That’s One hard habit to break through. Thinking of you love. Email if you’d like to vent/talk

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      … and I wouldn’t have minded you starting your comment that way in the least. The fact you intended to proves that it’s totally natural [or at least for bloggers which counts for something, too].
      The ‘problem’ with the internal processing is that I’m still very ‘good’ at surpressing/avoiding it for fear of being unable to handle the flood of feelings. Thanks for the offer of listening and it always the other way around, too.

  5. Ellie says:

    I had a good cry this past week too. I just felt all overwhelmed and hopeless. Everything seemed like a huge deal and it all pointed towards my failure. ICK! I cried, called my dad (he didn’t answer but it was a good step), talked to my sister and let it all out. Giving myself time to process through my tears, I realized that sure, I might fail, but what does that even mean? Will I die or give up on life? No, I’ll find something else that makes me happy.
    Have a great week🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Big hug to you, Ellie! I hope whatever made you cry has either been resolved by now or you’ve at least been able to let go of it. It does sound like you had the right mindset regarding it.

  6. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Getting to bed at a decent hour is always a good thing. I always feel so much better the next day.
    When I was an undergraduate, I wrote an entire essay about why I don’t describe myself using the word “woman.” And then it became an entire thesis (although about a little more than that particular issue.)
    Awesome that you’re trying to stay more on top of things! I hope it helps lower your stress.
    Have a great rest of your week.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s so interesting, Joyce. I’d be really curious to read your thoughts on the topic. What exactly was your thesis about in the end?
      Going to bed earlier definitely feels good though I’m still not feeling super energized – it might have to do with the fact I’m just not a morning person.

  7. chasetheredgrape says:

    I have given in now and use ‘woman. When people out and about call you ‘lady’ or ‘ma’am’ instead of girl you know its time. But I dont have to stop feeling like a girl😀
    And 100% yes for voting. Because I’m not a permanent resident of Australia, I am still entitled to vote in the UK so I have set up a proxy so my Mum can vote on my behalf. No way I am missing out!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “But I don’t have to stop feeling like a girl” <- this! Definitely don't stop it. Young at heart wins. Given my young appearance I think people will keep calling me girl for quite a bit still. No complaints if that means I can call myself that, too😉.
      It's awesome you made sure to still get a chance to vote in the UK. A British friend of mine who recently moved to Germany did the same. Every vote matters.

      • GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

        I just KNOW that if I ever push anything off, more and more will be piled on and I am not the type of girl who wants stress in my life. I never really have stress in my life because I practice getting things done IMMEDIATELY. I also have LOTS of TO-DO lists… And one of my favorite things to do is CROSS THINGS OFF😉

Leave a Reply

