buckwheat-granola_1

Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola [gluten-free, vegan]

With just the right amount of sweetness, heart-healthy buckwheat, oats and nuts this is a nutritious granola you can feel good about eating. Bonus: it takes a mere few minutes to mix together, is vegan, gluten-free and refined sugar-free + uses just six ingredients.

buckwheat-granola_3

The story behind this recipe is both a little embarrassing and saying a lot about me. For months, one of my colleagues would bring bag after bag of expensive organic  [but still sugar-laden] granola or Müsli [okay, muesli for you English speakers but I just like the German way so much] to work. One day when she was eating some I remembered how fun making granola at home is and offered to make a batch of homemade one for her – an offer she happily took up. Well … if you know me you also know about my indecisiveness. Long story short I bought random granola ingredients here and there, telling myself I’d make some soon. Yet wanting to create the perfect  kind lend to stressing myself so much it never happened. Until now, that is.

buckwheat-granola_1

For some reason currently unbeknownst to me I picked up a bag of buckwheat at random. Then I remembered I’d heard people – likely on Instagram – mention buckwheat granola and the ominous ‘caramelized buckinis’. Boredom turned granola on a rainy – that even is an understatement – Sunday afternoon. Actually, I didn’t even have high hopes for it yet boredom has turned into a delicious recipe before so maybe it was meant to be? Anyway, my kitchen smelled amazing and I couldn’t wait to have a try. Liking it I needed the ultimate taste test and scooped up a little cup full of buckwheat granola for my mum to try.

I’ll be honest in saying I expected her to maybe reluctantly take a sniff and a few crumbs at highest, then sending me off again to toss it but: she took a spoonful, grabbed the cup and kept eating, saying she’d leave some for dad to try in his breakfast the next day. Verdict? Winner.  My colleague was also smitten, probably not expecting me to ever turn up with some granola anymore. Sorry!

buckwheat-granola_2

This isn’t the cluster-packed kind of granola I usually prefer but trust me when I say it’s amazing in its own right. Just lightly sweetened with maple syrup the natural flavor of every ingredient shines through. The buckwheat lends a special nutty crunch factor that won’t make you miss the clusters.  As if deliciousness wasn’t enough of a selling point all three of its main ingredients – oats, buckwheat and nuts – are heart-healthy. Turning this easy homemade granola into one you can feel good about eating all day long.

Okay, before we get to the recipe I want to quickly highlight a few other benefits of buckwheat in case it’s not been making an appearance on your plate [regularly] before, either.

  • Despite the ‘wheat’ in its name buckwheat is actually not a grain making it a great fit for gluten-free eaters  [probably the best-known fact here, I know].
  • While low in vitamin buckwheat is high in manganese (necessary for healthy metabolism, antioxidant defense etc.), copper (), magnesium (athletes will be happy to hear this),
  • High in fiber = happy healthy gut.
  • Contains several novel nutraceuticals which are plant compounds that boast health benefits like lowering LDL (aka: the bad) cholesterol as well as your blood pressure, preventing histamine production (i.e. may help lower risks of developing inborne allergies or food intolerances)
  • May lower blood sugar levels which hence why it’s considered a great option for diabetics.

Sources: 1, 2

Okay, enough nutrition talk! Let’s get to the recipe already!

Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola

  • ½ cup + 1 tbsp quick oats [50 g]
  • ¼ cup + 1 tbsp raw buckwheat [50 g]*
  • ½ cup mixed nuts [I used almonds and cashews; 60 g]
  • 2 tbsps maple syrup
  • 1 tsp coconut oil [~7 g]
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350 °F/175 °C and layer a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Chop nuts to your preferred size for granola [I find preferences vary here; I liked mine on the smaller side].
  3. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
  4. In a small pot, melt the coconut oil. Add maple syrup and stir to combine.
  5. Pour the liquid over your dry ingredients and mix well to make sure everything is coated.
  6. Spread your granola on the baking sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  7. After about 10 minutes, open the oven and stir the granola. This helps avoiding the edges to burn. Repeat this every 5-10 minutes [depending on your oven].
  8. Once the granola is lightly browned – don’t let it bake for too long; it’ll crisp as it cools – take the sheet out of the oven and set aside to cool down.

 

Notes:

*the gree-ish looking kernels; not roasted as this will change the flavor.

 buckwheat-granola_4

 I’m linking up with Allergy Free Wednesdays#RecipeOfTheWeek,#StrangeButGoodGluten-Free Fridays,Tasty Tuesdays,Healthy Vegan Fridays, Meatless Mondays, .

See? Nothing weird about this little pseudo-grain. Here’s to making buckwheat more popular [outside of pasta] – or just to making granola.

 

 

Happiness-inducing today:  Walking around outside soaking up the summery smell of the air. Can I bottle that scent up for colder months to come?!

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
 

Have you tried buckwheat before? In which kind of dishes?

What’s your favourite granola?

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

10 thoughts on “Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola [gluten-free, vegan]

  1. Claire at My Pink & Green Life says:

    Oh yum! I love homemade granola. I have never tried putting buckwheat in it, though! It looks super crunchy and delicious. My mom usually makes a huge batch every week when we’re at home with oats, nuts, raisins, honey, and spices. It’s a taste of home!

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I will always remember when I was in boarding school. Prior to being diagnosed with food allergies and what not. I never really felt good, and I lived off of granola from the dining hall (which was only making me feel worse, ha)… And the chef of the dining hall would get SOOOO mad at me. One time he got so mad that he knocked the mug full of granola I had in my hand onto the floor! And screamed! hahaha! WHOOPS!

  3. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Oo yum! I’ve never tried buckwheat groats, although I often bake with buckwheat flour. They’re low-FODMAP, though.🙂 The granola I always come back to is the maple quinoa granola I invented and eventually shared on my blog.
    Definitely sharing this on my September Caterpillar Crawl.

Leave a Reply

