Week in Review: Back in the game.

It’s been a while again, I know, I know. Not intentionally.
This will probably sound ridiculous but one of the reasons for feeling unwell was my tongue. Or more specifically an inflammation of my tongue – no more details because it’s gross. If you’ve never dealt with it [and I really hope you haven’t]: it’s beyond painful. Think being unable to swallow, eat and talk without [at times excruciating] pain. Yes, it’s great fun. Not. Not eating enough, not sleeping enough and a resulting overall nasty feeling led to my absence from most things blogging.
Additonally, though, I’ve been feeling overwhelmed and very what I call “in my mind” lately. There’s been too much happening for me to process. I’ll admit to letting these thoughts bottle up because I can’t seem to overlook all of them at once. Where to even start … Could I have churned out a random fun post? Possibly. But it didn’t feel right. I sat down to publish a few times but the thoughts just wouldn’t flow naturally. This once again isn’t asking for sympathy but explaining my absence from the blog world because I feel you deserve an explanation. Also because I have yet to reply to your comments or – and I’m genuinely sorry for this – caught up/commented on more than a handful other blogs. My mind just wasn’t into it. I’ll be back at it this week, promise.

And because that’s getting too long for an intro let’s talk about the things I did during my time away. Thanks as always to our wonderful host Meg who always has some kind and encouraging words for everybody who struggles to see their accomplishments or the happiness in life.

Week in review

Worked the usual five days. More or less successfully [see above note on tongue] but I got to learn a new skill – if you can really call it that – by asking a colleague how I could take something of her work load.
If you read my post yesterday you might already have guessed I’m not entirely fond of my current job. Yet that’s not to say it meant I wasn’t taking my tasks seriously or being a grumpy grump at the office. No, this isn’t how I want to spend my life but while I’m here I want to help where I can – whether that’s bringing in no-bake brownies or taking some work off of others’ shoulders. It’s about making the best of a not-so-good situation. Nobody wants to go through their week hating their everyday life.

Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola without refined sugar.

Baked a quadruple batch of my Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola for the colleague I created it for in the first place. She actually paid me for it – for the ingredients, mind you because I wouldn’t dare asking for a compensation for the ‘work’ that goes into it – unlike the first time which felt weird but at the same time like an appreciation of the work I enjoy doing. Opening a little café is a [not-so-]secret plan B [or C] my sister and I have been having for ages. Though I have no illusions of how tough that is so getting paid for baked goods or other goodies occasionally is a sweet compromise.

Spent a small fortune on medication. Some of which I ended up using just once – one not at all, actually –  because it didn’t help. Also, I’m very anti-medication, only reluctantly taking what’s deemed necessary by health professionals.

Worked out and really enjoyed it. Ideally, I’d like to join a gym offering classes again but that’s not going to happen with the lack of options where I currently live. I miss it.

On Friday I felt overwhelmed by too many thoughts and things I wanted to do, then tuned into my intuition – and lay down. Not a nap, just lying down on my bed for however long felt good. It’s not a big deal for others but it had never occurred to me that saing ‘okay, this all isn’t going anywhere’ and -fully- resting might just be my solution. Sometimes it’s the obvious solutions we have the hardest time seeing, no?

Ate through the pain. Honestly, it would have been so very easy – and definitely way less painful – to just not eat much this past week. But I know the vicious cycle of this. It’s sad to admit but my ED still finds its ways of creeping up on me in bad times.

Baked these absolutely amazing vegan and gluten-free brownies. I’ve made them before and knew it was their time to shine again. Because …

gluten-free vegan_brownies_edible perspective

I secured a baking opportunity for an event my parents’ company is going to hold this week. A quadruple batch of these for next Friday? Ooookay. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Created another recipe for the blog that I once again have no visual proof of yet because … [insert me ranting about the bad weather and at that lighting situation in fall]. I do have that cookie recipe I mentioned before scheduled for this week, though. Flourless Hazelnut Shortbread is coming your way soon!

The weekend included the usual: sleeping in, blog work. Assisting my sister in her quest for new recipes  [“Can’t I use molasses instead of maple syrup in those brownies?” – “Are. You. Kidding. Me??” – always a fun time ;)]. Cleaning up. Meal prep.

Despite the pain and a heavy thoughts it wasn’t the worst week. A day without a smile is a lost day and a week of overlooking the silver linings just the same. Life doesn’t feel fair or over the top happy right now but I’m still looking forward. To brighter times and for now obviously to a new week.
Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Feeling much better – tongue-wise🙂 – today. Thank gooness! I’m not sure how much longer I could have endured the pain – and the fact eating peanut butter wasn’t enjoyable.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!

When do you usually write your Weeks in Review?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

20 thoughts on “Week in Review: Back in the game.

  1. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    Sending lots of love and wishes for wellness your way. Baking is so wonderful. I made a batch of homemade bagels(!!!) this weekend, and it made my heart so happy. I do something similar when I feel overwhelmed…especially if I have a billion things to do but don’t know where to start. I play one of my favorite classical pieces (In Reverence by David Tolk), and I just lay down on the floor and close my eyes. It grounds me, and I always feel a bit more peaceful afterwards🙂

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the health issues. That can’t be good, and it sounds super painful. I understand about meds, although sometimes they truly can be a blessing. I gave Ave Tylenol for the first time last week after her shots and it made a tremendous difference. I was really torn about using it too but I’m so glad I did.

    That’s awesome you’re getting to do so much baking right now and even sneaking in a nap. It’s amazing how life changing a little sleep can be, yes? Plus listening to your intuition is always a good thing. I was in a funk on Saturday and chose not to do anything productive and as a result, I cheered up and then knocked it out of the park yesterday. It all works out in the end.

    Keep hanging in there, work wise. You definitely have the right attitude and send my love to your sister and little P.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sleep or just lying down is a truly wonderful – I wish I’d known earlier. I guess we can learn from babies taking naps throughout the day, hm :)?! If only adult life allowed for more of them.
      A little carefully picked medication here and there definitely doesn’t hurt. This past week I was just overwhelmed/shocked by how much of it piled up with different people suggesting something new every day.
      Thank you, Meg! Your mail came at just the right time the other day❤.

  3. Claire at My Pink & Green Life says:

    I hope you’re feeling better soon! That sounds like no fun at all. But how exciting that you get to show off your baking skills for your parents’ company! Those brownies look seriously amazing. And that shortbread sounds amazing–I’m looking forward to it!🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Claire! Yesterday was much better already and my health – or rather: tongue – is back to normal today.
      If you’re ever looking for truly amazing brownies and find yourself without eggs at hand I highly recommend trying these.

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh my goodness, sorry to hear about the health issues…I hope you are feeling better! It sounds like you have been in a funk and I think we all go through that from time to time. I know I tend to pressure myself with the blog and feel like I just need to get something out there, but it’s just not in me. There is absolutely nothing wrong with taking a little mental health break.
    The brownies look amazing and the granola…Yum!!!!
    Thanks for sharing!

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    Oh my gosh. Tongue inflammation sounds AWFUL. I also don’t tend to take meds, but for that!?! I would have been all “sign me up!!” Let’s hope its all done with now.
    Yay for extra extra baking opportunities and being such a local celebrity! Look at you being saught after for your work in the kitchen!
    When completely overwhelmed/anxious/stressed, sometimes the only thing you can do is fall on your back in a bed and just lye there. I think it’s the best cure.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Local celebrity – stop making me blush😉. I’m just hoping the brownies will be well received at the event. Especially since one batch didn’t work out quite as I’d hoped.
      For some reason I was still hesitant about taking any meds even with that hard to beae pain. I don’t like the thought of many different pills and fluids entering my system at the same time.

  6. Ellie says:

    I really hope your inflammation goes down. I hate it when I burn my tongue on coffee or tea because then food just doesn’t taste as good. I know that’s not as bad as what you’re experiencing, so I’m happy it’s getting better🙂
    I am struggling with my job too. It’s not that I don’t like it, but I feel like I’m over it, I need something else.

  7. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Ahhhh! Oh no! That sounds awful. Not only because I’ll bet your mouth feels miserable but because of all the things we do with our tongues–especially talk and eat!😦 I hope you’re feeling a bit better. We are here for you.
    I’ll bet you would have such fun running a cafe! Especially after working at such a hard job, it’s nice to think outside the box about how to make our dreams real. It’s always been my half-kidding, half-real wish to run a bed and breakfast.
    I’m glad your sister did not try to use molasses in place of the maple syrup. That would have been pretty bad. Maybe an interesting start for a new recipe, but pretty bad without a little adjusting.🙂
    Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      You’re so sweet, Joyce. I’m sure you’d be a fabulous bed and breakfast owner. My grandma used to rent out rooms also offering breakfast for years. It was an interesting experience for us children when we spent the holidays at our grandparents’ house back then.
      I’m glad my sister usually checks in with me before any wild experiments. too😀. She did end up using the molasses in brownies after all – but the ‘safe’ way in a recipe I sent her.

  8. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Good on you for listening to your body and doing what YOU needed! I’m never a nap person but I know when I seriously need one and if I don’t actually do it, I’m worse off later on!

    I sure hope your tongue is feeling a million times better soon!😦 It’s hard enough when you burn or bite your tongue!

  9. chasetheredgrape says:

    A day without a smile is a lost day <—– YES!
    So sorry to read you have been in pain this week, that is never good and always makes it tough to stay happy and smiley. But that's what I love about week in review, it helps us to see the light that shone during our week🙂

Leave a Reply

