Good good links #166

… and just like that it’s Sunday again. Also it’s the second to last weekend of October – pinch me! – and I can feel Christmas coming closer and closer. Granted, supermarkets have made us feel that way for weeks already but you know what I mean, right? Time to get stressed about get those gift ideas sorted out. Are you the well-planned gift buyer or the hectic last minute shopper who’d rather not talk about this right now? In that case: go ahead and procrastinate by delving into some of the great posts I found during the past week. You’re welcome.

Happy Sunday!

 

 

Good good links

 

Good good [food for thought]

Stop the internet, I want to get off via Forever Amber

A must-read for any blogger or actually, anybody who has ever come across hatred on the internet – and sadly: who hasnt? . or anywhere else people spread hurtful words uner the cloak of anonymity.

Working at a Health and Fitness Company Actually  Made Me Less Healthy via Greatist

How peer pressure and the focus on the wrong indicators of fitness and health can harm us. Progress and success look different for each of us.

Some Thoughts on Being “Fit” via The Balanced Blonde

Do you never feel ‘good enough’, think you should be doing harder, running faster and pushing on, too? I think many of us still need to learn to appreciate their current state.

 

Good good [advice, inspiration and other great posts]

My 10 Rules of Adulthood via Cowgirl Runs

Lessons learned from playing this game called life – what matters, how to handle the ups and downs, get sh*t done and stay happy.

Allow yourself to be human via Chase the Red Grape

Deep down we’re all connected by one thing: being human. Great reminders of what that means and why we should be easier on ourselves at times.

Mindful Eating Placemat to Remember to Slow Down and Enjoy Your Food via Summer Tomato

The weight loss-specific notes aside I really like the idea of this.

If “Off-Limit” Foods are Sabotaging You, Read This via Corinne Dobbas

One of the – at least for me – mentally most challenging parts of getting back in touch with intuition but.

Is Sitting Truly the New Smoking? via hello healthy

Too much of it definitely isn’t beneficial to our health. Here’s how much movement a day we need and how to get it in regularly throughout the day.

Why You Need To Completely Detox Your Life via Career Girl Daily

These are the only kinds of detoxes I’ll ever promote. Now to stop procrastinating on #2 …

How To Stay Optimistic Even When Your Life Isn’t via Change Your Thoughts

Some great advice and reminders for those going through a rough time right now. I particularly like #4, 5, 8 and 9 – okay and actually all of them.

 

Blogging/Work

5 Tiny Ways to Be Thoughtful At Work via Apartment Therapy

It’s so easy and so vital to create at least some kind of relationships with the people you spend the largest chunk of your daily life with – even better if they’re good ones.

5 Ways to Stay Productive When You Have a Flexible Schedule via In It 4 the Long Run

Flexibility in your days sounds good at first but if you’ve been there before you know it doesn’t necessarily mean getting more done. These tips might help.

 

Fitness

Spell Your Name Workout via Food Faith Fitness

A fun idea for a  quick workout. Fingers crossed your name is Burpee-free ike mine😉.

 

Good good [food]

Cacao Paleo Banana Bread Cake with Almond Ganache (vegan) via Food Faith Fitness

Soft banana bread filled with and covered in almond butter ganache? Amazing.

Paleo Vegan Maple Cream Frosting via Texanerin Baking

Admit it: you’d want to just eat it by the spoonful, too.

Pumpkin Taco Bowls with Apple Guacamole via A Whisk and Two Wands

So many amazing components coming together in this bowl of – I am certain – deliciousness.

15 Iron-Rich Vegan Food Combinations via The Full Helping

Iron can – but doesn’t have to be! -. tricky to get enough of with a plantbased diet. This post explains in detail how to make sure you’re getting enough.

Autumn Vegetable Paella via Pumpkin and Peanut Butter

The seafood classic got a vegan and seasonal makeover – and it looks amazing

 

Happiness-inducing today: Reading and resting after a hectic few days.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me: What were some of the best posts you read this week?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

9 thoughts on “Good good links #166

  1. athleticavocado says:

    I can’t believe stores are starting to sell all things Christmas already and I’m just not ready for it lol! I am totally a last-minute shopper because the idea of planning months ahead stresses me out haha. Anyways, I’m drooling over Taylor’s banana cake so I’ll have to make that soon! Have a great week🙂

  2. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I think one of my favorite posts from this week was Cayanne’s about that godawful intuitive eating rule, “If you’re not hungry enough to eat [insert arbitrarily chosen “healthy” food here], you must not be hungry.” Made me so mad!
    If I did that spell my name workout, I’d be doing a lot of crunches! Which would probably be good for me.🙂
    Hope you have a great week!

  3. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I’m actually a really organised Christmas shopper. Jesse’s Christmas presents were ordered months ago and I’m just waiting on them to be delivered and my parents gifts are also already sorted. My sister is usually the hard one and the one I leave to the last minute as her birthday is November 20 and then I have to find her a gift for Christmas too!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Girl, I wouldn’t have expected anything else from you😀. Now if only you could rub some of those organisational skills off on me …
      In my family I’m the potentially hard to gift person as my birthday follows shortly after Christmas.

  4. chasetheredgrape says:

    Thanks for sharing my post! I’m so glad you liked it.
    Christmas shopping is the bane of my life right now. If I want my gifts to get back to the UK in time for Christmas then I have to send in the next two weeks! Wish me luck!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ooooh. I can imagine that being additionally difficult to manage with family living on the other side of the pond. Fingers are definitely crossed for you!!
      Your post was wonderful and a truly great reminder, maybe particularly in current times.

Leave a Reply

