Week in review: All over the place.

It’s been a peanut butter and chocolate week. In other words a week of highs and lows with the latter being overwhelming. Which required lots of the previously mentioned two foods for the soul. I try to be positive; no, I am. There’s always something good, no matter how small. But I’m also not even trying to deny life’s hardships. And right now life isn’t looking all rosy here.
If I’m honest I don’t feel like writing this or any post right now. Yet at the same time blogging makes me happy so it’s about giving it a go after all.

Vague-blogging isn’t cool but as I already hinted at not feeling okay I will say this much: Make sure you hug your loved ones, friends and relatives regularly. Send a letter or just a message asking how they are and showing them you care. I have to remind myself of this daily, too, but life is so freaking fragile and fleeting. Let’s all be kinder towards each other, say or show our love for those around us daily.

Okay, after that heavy introduction let’s take a look at the past week of life as inspired by Meg.

Week in review

In the past seven days I …

Worked five days. Nothing overly exciting to report here.

Published three blog posts including this adapted family recipe for flourless hazelnut shortbread that are incredibly easy to make but nothing short of delicous and another round-up of my favourite links from the week.

Bought my first issue of Women’s Health mag in what must have been more than a year. I used to buy it every month for a long time but then suddenly stopped. The fact that I don’t read a lot of magazines at all – aside from my absolutely favourite business magazine, brand eins – I still have a hard time investing in anything other than the basics  [i.e. food, hygiene products and the likes]. So yes, to most of you this wouldn’t be an accomplishment but for me it sure was. Let’s see if I will talk myself into it next month, too.

Cleaned my apartment, including the floors. I may or may not have skipped this in previous weeks but there’s just something to be said about clean floors. No matter how shortlived their existence in this state is …

edible perspective_brownies

Baked two double batches of these brownies for the reception my parents held at their office. Two tips here: 1. Doubling this recipe is not recommended as twice the amount of batter is hard to mix together using just a spoon. 2. Easiest way to ‘chop’ lots of chocolate: put into a plastic bag. Let out any frustration you might be holding by crushing it with a rolling pin or heavy water bottle.

Attended said event. To be honest I really really didn’t want to. For numerous reasons, one of them being that I was ridiculously tired at the end of the work week. Looking back I’m glad I went because one uncomfortable encounter – as well as the stupid decision to wear new shoes that led to hurt feet –  aside it was quite nice. An opportunity to get to know people I’d only ever heard of but had yet to meet. Proof I should seek those chances more often.
Not to forget the evening meant I finally got to use one of my favourite parfums  again😉 – I’m unfortunately sensitive to it so can’t use it too often.

The One - Dolca and Gabbana perfume

Showered only three times [Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday]. Okay before you go all ‘ewww!’ – it’s not as gross as it sounds. For one, showering every day isn’t beneficial for our skin. Our grandparents, maybe even our parents, will still remember times when showering just once or twice a week was the norm. I usually shower between three and four times a week, more in summer if I sweat a lot [though I don’t sweat a lot to begin with]. Yes, there are days when I feel like showering but it’s not really necessary so I remind myself this is one of my small contributions to environmental responsibility.

Read every day again. Maybe I’ll talk about one or the other of the books I’ve been reading in a currently post at some point because all of them are so good. I’ve probably said it before but I really don’t know how I went for so long not reading books regularly.

I obviously did more than those things listed but once again forgot to take notes of what happened during the week and right now my mind is all over the place.

Let’s not end this on a gloomy note: Tell me about your life and accomplishments lately. Yes, I talked about life not being happy happy joy joy over here right now. But I would rather not dwell on this further in the comments – let’s make those about you!  I’d rather be distracted than think about what’s happening even more than I already do.

Happiness-inducing today:  A conversation with my mum that might not have been the most cheerful but was good for the mind and soul.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

19 thoughts on “Week in review: All over the place.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    A peanut butter and chocolate kind of week sounds delicious – but not for good reason. I’m sorry you’ve been having a rough time lately😦

    My life lately has been just plain BUSY! It’s a crazy time of year so I feel like a bit of a headless chicken running around not knowing what to do next😛

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ah, I need to finally mail you back so I can hear more about all you’ve been up to in detail again. I am still and will forever be amazed by how you manage everything going on in your life.
      Having peanut butter and chocolate in our lives is a blessing, no?

  2. Megan (@aprnstrngsandsf) says:

    I feel ya girl. Bring on the peanut butter and chocolate. The past couple of weeks have been pretty rushed because we are in exam season now and it is all go-go-go. Then this past weekend I got sick and I’m now suffering with a cold which is making study almost impossible. But other than that I’m pretty great.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh no! I hope you’ll feel better soon, Megan! Catching a cold is bad enough as is but even more so when you need to get lots of work/studying done. Fingers crossed those exams will still go well for you!

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    A peanut butter and chocolate week sounds good for the soul and you know I can relate; I’m all about using chocolate as a coping mechanism these days; well that and coffee and maybe some Gilmore Girls.

    Book reading is the best. I’ve started another book and I’m really enjoying it. In fact, I’ve been going to bed early just so I can read more.🙂

    Those brownies look amazing and now I’m hungry for breakfast.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    PS I know you said not to mention anything in the comments but I’m sending love and hugs.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Good call on Gilmore Girls! I haven’t been watching it in what feels like forever yet at least want to watch the final season before the new episodes are released.
      Books are a gift. If only those I’m currently reading were longer. I don’t know what to do/read next once I finish them. Expectations are -high-.
      Thank you, Meg. I still appreciate the love and hugs.

  4. Patricia @Sweet and Strong says:

    Sending lots of positive vibes your way. Don’t brownies make things a little better though?!? I never buy magazines either, but I love getting one, taking a relaxation bath, and enjoying about an hour or so of pampering. I’m in need of a good day like this.

  5. Claire at My Pink & Green Life says:

    Sending love your way.❤ Achievements from last week: checking off everything on my to-do list this weekend (that never happens!), trying a new recipe that actually made us like brussel sprouts, and finding out that I did well on a hard exam!🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Getting a better grade than expected and checking off your whole to-list? Congratulations and wow!
      Which recipe turned you into fans of the amazing little sprouts? I’m a huge fan already and should actually start looking for them in stores again.

  6. Irina says:

    Oye I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been feeling low lately😦 Chocolate and peanut butter always help. In fact, baking in general usually helps! Sending good vibes your way❤

    I fell off of the reading bandwagon for so long, and I just recently got back on. Now I can't stop buying books! I guess I could have a worse addiction, but it's still a pricey habit haha

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      What a lovely surprise to ‘see’ you again after such a long time, lady!
      Baking is one of the best ways to distract myself because it keeps brain and hands busy.
      Welcome back abord the book train, too! I agree it’s pricey but really not the most terrible addiction to have.

  7. mylittletablespoon says:

    No darkness here. So instead, I wrote you a poem. Eh hem.

    Peanut butter chocolate
    My favorite pair to be
    Even on the toughest days
    It makes the sadness flee
    I wish I read as much as you
    I’d surely have more smarts
    Or maybe it would help me
    When I’m auditioning for parts?
    This week we both baked brownies
    Though you’re a kinder one than me
    For I will not be sharing mine
    In my tummy is where they’ll be.

  8. Kate Bennett says:

    Thinking of you, love. I am sorry to hear the darkness has been abundant. Kudos to you for pushing on… and making some amazing looking brownies!
    I really like that you read everyday. That’s something I’d like to pick up- not counting textbooks or blogs!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Kate! I’m late in replying because I was on a roll with it and then my internet crashed and I forgot to pick up back again where I was when it worked again.
      Finding the time to read can be a luxury when I look at some of my busy friends so I don’t blame you. And hey, if the textbooks are interesting and they’re helping you advance on your career path – that counts, too.

  9. chasetheredgrape says:

    I have started reading again recently too. I went so long without reading a book which is crazy because I get so much joy from it. Now I sit down to read half an hour before bed every night. It may only be a chapter or so but it makes me feel happy and is the ideal wind down before bed🙂

Leave a Reply

