Week in Review: Destiny. The bad. The good.

Hello there!

Today’s post is starting on a heavier note again and continuing where my previous Week in Review ended. After going back and forth about this for days I decided to tell you [some of] what’s caused my current mood and lack of posts and interaction on social media. My family lost a member this past week. We knew it was going to happen as he’d been suffering from cancer but … it’s still hard. Anytime I write about this it sounds oddly neutral, unemotional. When in fact I feel anything but unemotional.
The past week was characterized by the knowledge of it possibly happening any day – and then the news it had. There are no words to express my feelings and I also would rather not talk about it. This isn’t a topic for the blog but I also couldn’t not mention it as it’s been on my mind at all times. Even more so when writing. Those of you who have been exchanging mails with me know the thoughts are running wild when I’m writing.  Which I guess means I should really start journaling again.

Sort of journaling or at least keeping track of our lives is Meg’s Week in Review which I’m joining once again.

Week in Review

Some of what happened in my lfe during the past week. I …

Worked four days and challenged myself again by offering to free up some time for my colleague working at the reception desk by answering calls for her when I had a free minute. Yes, this is ridiculous for others but an accomplishment for me as calling people I don’t know always takes a little effort. It doesn’t help I’ve had people not take me serious due to my voice sounding younger than I am before.

Wrote two blog posts, one featuring many good good links from all around the web.

Replied to all comments I got in the past week which I know I’ve been slacking at before. I don’t think I’ll be able to catch up on all from the many previous weeks – sorry, really! – but will make an effort to stay on top of them from now on. Sorry if I didn’t reply to one of your comments in the past! That’s not saying I didn’t read and appreciate it.

Healthy Nutella - vegan recipe by Texanerin

[This picture is the outcome of me forgetting about the fact it’s getting dark earlier and I have yet to take pictures.]

Spent Friday with my sister and little P. It filled my happiness batteries, my stomach with homemade vegan bolognese and pasta and distracted my mind like nothing else. Exactly the kind of mental health day I direly needed. Which was funny because I’d asked my employer for this specific date off months ago already. So the fact it fell into this very week was – as some would say – accidental. As I would say: destiny. [Yes, I believe in destiny]
By the way: baby led weaning is beneficial for aunts, too. Or at least I don’t think I’d have just touched beets or kaki anytime soon. The latter just because I’d never had a delicious one before, the former because beets are nasty. Still. Though a nine-month-old offering you some of his makes them slightly better [insert (un)necessary aunt gushing].

Traded some homemade paleo + vegan chocolate tartes [as pictured further down] for also homemade healthy Nutella using this recipe. Because – whoop! – my sister just bought a Blendtec after asking me about blenders for weeks. Upon arrival I was presented with Nutella gone wrong [think: dough-like ] and assigned the task of solving the situation – you know these are my favourite kind of assignments. I also found a solution for the Nutella ‘dough’ which I’m hoping to get a picture of later [read: I’m hoping my sister will remember to text me one].  As a thank you I obviously got to take some home – as well as jealousy because wow … Blender envy to the max.

Cleaned my apartment, including mopping the floors, in one swoosh. Dare I say this was the fastest ever I did this yet?

Did some laundry which – thanks to it being a small amount of clothes – didn’t take too long to do.

Continued with my workout routine but also cut down on it one day when I was feeling off. This is a continuous mental struggle. I’ve never dealt with serious exercise addiction but more so a general urge to move. I’m hoping to get to a point where this balances out and I can veg on the couch with a friend for a day without the mental BS.

Treated myself quite a lot – for my standards. A new huge jar of white almond butter [because it was on offer in a store in Hamburg and I can’t find this where I live], new scented candles and the train ticket counts, too. This whole ‘spending money on myself’ thing doesn’t get easier – especially given the holiday season approaching and several necessary larger expenses coming up in my life [think: new laptop, possibly new phone though I’m trying to pretend mine wasn’t fussing around]. Le sigh.

Happiness is … vegan and paleo chocolate tarte. Okay, no, but it was part of my happy yesterday. After a mentally hard week I had Friday off. My first day off in a long time and one I'd scheduled months ago already. Somehow destiny knew I needed it this very week. In dire need of refilling my happiness batteries I took the two-hour train ride to my sister's and spent a wonderful day with her and my baby nephew. Lots of talking, some walking, kitchen excitement and plenty of baby cuddles made for the best day in a while. It was over too soon but when I hope I can make these days more regular happenings in my life. Because I'm not a visitor to appear empty-handed I brought my sister these delightful little tartes. Featuring my nephew's 'Vitamin D duck' 😁. Always look on the chocolate side of life. How have you been filling your happiness batteries lately? . . . . #bgbcommunity #vegandeutschland #vegangermany #paleovegan #healthytreats #staysafeeatcake #iamwellandgood #veganwerdenwaslosdigga #vegantreats #chocolateplease #chocolatetherapy #fillyourhappinessbucket #silverlining

A photo posted by @chocolatea_me on

I did more than this – all the mundane everyday things – but this post is getting long already. Like in the previous week I want to ask you to not make the comments about our loss. Not because I didn’t care but I’ve been trying hard to remind myself to live in the now and look at the bright things in life rather than let my mind go darker places. Tell me about your life, your happiness-inducers, what you’ve been cooking/baking – anything.

On another note and as I hinted at in yesterday’s post already I won’t be around much this week, either. My family is going to travel to attend the funeral and spend some time with that part of our family during the week. That’s why I might not read comment much on your posts until the weekend – eight hours of train ride each way would make for a good opportunity if there was an internet connection, though – and the good links will probably be fewer this Sunday. On the upside I do have a delicious recipe for you tomorrow so be back if you like chocolate and caramel.

Happiness-inducing today:  Fall sunshine. A walk through the leaves. The extra hour in the day [cheers for daylight savings!]. Homemade Nutella.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!
Are you good at spending money on yourself?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

20 thoughts on “Week in Review: Destiny. The bad. The good.

  1. Megan (@aprnstrngsandsf) says:

    I’m so sorry about the loss of your family member. Something like that really shakes you and makes everything feel strange.
    My happiness-inducing moment was getting dinner with some friends last night. I love being with people who just ‘get’ you.

  2. Claire at My Pink & Green Life says:

    Happiness-inducing this week: visiting home for the weekend, Eric getting a job, making gluten-free pizza last night, and beautiful fall colors. I am NOT good at spending money on myself, but I’ve been getting better at it. I’ve realized that it can really make my day to buy some chocolate, make a cup of tea, or just give myself permission to veg out on the couch for an hour!😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Eric getting the job at Google is seriously exciting and seeing your family for a weekend is so nice, too.
      I’ve gotten better at smaller purchases but feel bad for larger sums. Particularly when many of them fall into the same day. Yes, I’m terrible at shopping😀.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    I’m very happy you gave yourself a train ticket to go see your sis and the little one. What a gift – both for you and equally as much for them. I so understand the guilt and struggle with spending money, but traveling to spend time with family is priceless. I’m trying to remind myself of this as I also spent a hunk of cash on a bus ticket to go see Dan this weekend – for less than 24 hours. But it was wonderful and my spirit is high now because of it.
    I’m very sorry about your loss, even though you’d prefer us not to mention it. These times are hard and we all need some extra connection with friends and family, so I’m glad you will be spending time away from the blog to focus on those much more important matters.
    Also – we haven’t had daylight savings yet here. I’m so confused. Is it not happening!?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Cora. I will admit I’m scared of facing my feelings full on for two days with hardly any distraction. The child in me doesn’t want this to be true…
      I’m proud of you for buying a ticket to see Dan, too. Feeding our souls should be a priority that we accept occasionally having a monetary price, too, hm?
      While not entirely sure I think daylight savings always happen at different times both in spring and fall in the US/Canada vs. in Europe. So it’d make sense they didn’t happen for you yet.

  4. Lyss says:

    those tartes look so good! I’m glad you treated yourself too- even if it’s as small as a jar of almond butter, showing ourselves some love is so important. Have a wonderful day❤

  5. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Chocolate and caramel sounds just about perfect right now. It would be a lovely nightcap to mine (and Ave’s) oatmeal breakfast. I never did get to carrots or sweet potatoes, although she’s been sharing my bowl of morning oats with me for the past week. We have plenty of time to introduce those orange veggies. I’m so glad you got to spend some good quality time with your sister and P. I think that’s pretty amazing timing. Call it fate, destiny or synchronicity, it works.

    I cleaned this past week too. The Hubby took Ave to the in-laws and I used my free time to go nuts organizing, decluttering and cleaning. It felt fantastic.

    Sending hugs and love.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Get ready for the carotene glow once you introduce those orange wonder vegetables. I’ve heard it happens even faster for babies than us adults – and I do sport a carrot tan ; ) – which makes sense.
      You might be one of the few people I know who thoroughly enjoy cleaning. I wish I did, too. Rub it off on me??

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh hey. That sounds like a really happy week overall. You know I fully understand the happiness of finishing an essay you’re feeling pretty good about.
      Thank you, Joyce! I appreciate your words.

  6. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Oh girl, I am sorry to hear about your loss. Sending HUGE hugs your way❤

    I had to google what a kaki was and found that it's a persimmon. I've never eaten those either – but mainly because I have no idea how to or what to do with them, haha.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Kristy ❤.
      Ah, yes, I think there are two names for them? Oh, I've only eaten them as is so far but I've seen people add them to oatmeal or use it different recipes, too. I'm sure you'd come up with something delicious, too🙂.

  7. chasetheredgrape says:

    Happiness batteries – oh how I like the sound of those. And don’t we all need a good charge!
    You enjoy those sunny, leaf scattered autumn days – there is something so comforting from them🙂

  8. Miss Polkadot says:

    Right?! Imagining happiness batteries is such a nice idea. Especially now it’s getting colder and darker here they’re running low too quickly. Which means finding new ways to charge them.
    Enjoy your amazing warm weather! I wouldn’t mind a bit of that right now.

Leave a Reply

