Little favours, sacrifices for nut butter + more

It can’t seriously be Monday again already. If you’re asking me the weeks pass by even faster towards the end of the year. I wonder if daylight savings and the decreased number of hours that actually feel like ‘day’ day create this feeling. Thoughts on this?

Because I once again can’t offer many big accomplishments I’ll sprinkle in some little good deeds I did for others. Sharing these I’m not asking for acknowledgement but hope that we can encourage each other to do more – however small – favours for the people in our lives. So please share some of the things you did for others recently in the comments. At least to me doing what I know is helping others feels the most rewarding – and is the most happiness-inducing which you know is always a win in my book. Let’s get started with another Week in Review hosted by Ave and Meg!

Week in review

During the past week I …

Worked five days. The most uplifting part of these was talking to my new boss [we’ve been having two since July] about some tasks that are mostly my responsibility. They are changes to our previous documentation system and still taking a lot of fiddling around with. It was nice to hear my input appreciated and leading to another change that will hopefully make work easier/faster in the future.

Published a Week in Review and some really good links that I recommend checking out if you didn’t get a chance yesterday. Sundays aren’t always best for blog reading so why not catch up during the week?

Baked a batch of my healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola for a friend’s birthday. She lives a bit further away so I planned on mailing it but I found out her mum living close by was going for a birthday visit and she graciously offered to take along my gift. With this safe option I spontaneously added some of my last homemade Nutella, too. I should get bonus points for this as you won’t find me sharing nut butter often😉.

buckwheat-granola_1

  • Cleaned my apartment including the floors. Which reminds me I still need to wash the mop … oops.
  • Stopped by a bakery after work to pick up a quick lunch for the colleague who had to stay longer. She asked if I was heading into town in anyway which I hadn’t intended. But it was nice being able to do her a favour even if that meant getting home a little earlier when I …
  • Walked home from work on Thursday. I hadn’t done this since summer as there never was an opportunity and certainly not with the recent drop of temperatures. Thursday afternoon, though, wasn’t too cold and I really enjoyed the 30 minutes out in the fresh air.
  • Skipped my Friday evening workout to have a movie night with my mum. Sitting for two hours instead of moving is still not that easy  for me but a) I was tired, b) it’s a regular thing for other people and c) we don’t get to spend time with each other like that often. We watched ‘Me before you‘ and to be honest: I didn’t like it. Before you judge: the book was amazing but the movie doesn’t do it justice at all. It’s a flat, at times annoying romantic chick flick. We’re hoping to watch ‘The Danish Girl’ when my sister comes to visit next weekend and I have high hopes for that one.
  • Burnt my finger. Okay, no, the real accomplishment here is obviously the reason why: I made a huge batch of Nutella. And because I wanted it to be perfect I rubbed many a hazelnuts’ skin off with my fingers. The towel rub didn’t do much so I had to. It’s a rather small price to pay for a ridiculously good nut butter, right? [As I’m typing this I do think I should put on a band-aid, though …]

homemade-vegan-healthy-nutella

  • Ran some errands for my parents. I saw one of their favourite chocolates on offer so bought some of that and called my mum  to get any other bits and pieces she might have forgotten to get during the week. I should clarify I didn’t pay for all of these myself that day but do on occasion.
  • Read some really interesting articles and in another book. I need to up my reading game a bit more again, though.
  • Helped a lady running errands to find some products. I guess shopping at the same stores and browsing around the aisles regularly has the benefit of knowing where to find what pretty well. Now if that’s good or embarrassing I’m not sure😉.
  • Talked all things chickpea to a mother-daughter duo standing in line behind me at the store. This started out by the mother – looking at the many cans of chickpeas I’d put on the conveyor – telling her daughter she had lots of those at home, too, but no clue what to do with them. Being both a blogger and chickpea aficionado I was happy to provide them with plenty of ideas that especially the chickpea-savvy daughter – she was in her thirties so clearly living on her own – was intrigued by.

I also worked on some blog posts but might hold these back for some more time. The reason – and also generally why I’ve been posting less – is that they very likely are touching controversial issues. Only it’s hard to write other posts when these are the topics churning in your mind. However, I do have an alternative post idea that I might work on tonight still so hopefully I’ll get back to three posts this week again. Time will tell.

Looking back it was a good week. Not exciting, not enough sleep – I’m not giving up hope, though – and a plan with a friend fell through but there also were many nice little moments and focusing on these is so important.  That being said I’m also looking forward to a few things I have planned for the next week which isn’t the worst perspective [even though a little change at work might make that harder but again: we’ll focus on all the good things here]. I hope your week was sprinkled with happy moments, too, and here to a …

Happy Monday!

Don’t forget to tell me your happenings and accomplishments from the past week!

Happiness-inducing today:

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
What were some highlights from your past week?

Have you read and/or watched ‘Me before you’? If both: how did you like the movie?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

9 thoughts on “Little favours, sacrifices for nut butter + more

  1. Claire @ My Pink & Green Life says:

    Haha, I’ve recently become obsessed with chickpeas, too! I don’t know why but anything chickpea just sounds amazing to me at any time of day.😛 Accomplishments this week: turning in my senior thesis, taking my last exam, and moving stuff into my new room for next term. Bam!

  2. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Haha, don’t worry! My Mum doesn’t just know where the products are in the stores – she can tell you what aisle number😛

    I’m a chickpea aficionado too and I feel like they’re underappreciated so I’m glad you could spread the chickpea love!

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    It’s amazing how far a little appreciate at work can go. I’m glad they listened to your ideas.

    I also love the focus on helping others here. You were a excellent champion for the cause. I can’t think of a single good deed I did for a stranger lately….guess I need to change that. I was actually thinking about taking Ave to a nursing home to visit people and try to improve their day. It would be our way of giving back.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  4. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    I agree. The early, dark nights make the days feel like they’re flying by. You’re 110% right. It is so rewarding to do little favors for people. Often those things that seem so small make the biggest impact. I was on the receiving end of one of those favors this week, and it overwhelmed me with gratitude. Hope you have a lovely week.

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    You are such an awesome friend, colleague, daughter, sister! You are always so ready to lend a hand or make a gift. Including sacrificing that amazing-looking homemade nutella–that you burned yourself for! That sounds exhausting, peeling all of those hazelnuts by hand. I am impressed.
    I have no qualms saying controversial stuff on the blog if and when it’s important to me. But you should do what’s most comfortable for you.

  6. mylittletablespoon says:

    Yeah – you rock. Anyone who has you in their life is very blessed.
    Walks outside in the crisp air can be a total mood and spirit enhancer. I’m glad we both experienced those this week. And I think if you’ve read the book before the movie, you have all rights to critique it however you like. I really loved the Danish Girl – so I don’t want to heighten your expectations but I do hope you enjoy it!
    Oh and I loved hearing about the chickpea-love-sharing story. This would have made you feel so good! And that mother and daughter would have been so appreciative.

  7. chasetheredgrape says:

    I used to think the days went faster when I lived back in scotland due to daylight savings… But now here in Perth, we don’t have daylight savings and they days still go just as fast! Ha!
    You put so much love and good out into the world this week – that makes me smile so much! Kindness is the best of all qualities🙂

Leave a Reply

