Week in Review: The one with many blessings

Hi!

Confession: If intros are a struggle for me, the above greeting is proof of an even bigger struggle. Some bloggers get really creative there but I’m not one to call you ‘lovelies’, ‘buddies’ or ‘friendly faces’. Not that any of those were bad but they’re just not …me. Okay, moving on.

Another ‘classic’ – or so it seems – among bloggers/around Instagram is #blessed. Again, I’m not really a hashtag person -but- looking back at the past week and also during those days I did indeed feel blessed. By the generosity and love of some people around me. I hope Meg won’t mind me straying from the original concept of sharing only our accomplishments. Because this post will be a more of a week in review in the sense of happenings and a way of saying thank you to several people [even if they don’t read the blog] instead.

Week in Review

The biggest and best happening of the past week – mentioned in yesterday’s post already –  definitely was spending time at my grandparents’. It was my grandma’s birthday on Monday and most of the family on my mum’s side traditionally gathers to celebrate it. Lots of aunts, uncles and cousins, catching up on each others’ lives and just spending quality time. We’re for more informal celebrations which in this case meant having the annual ‘Grünkohl-Essen’ [8 pounds of kale prepared the traditional German way – SO delicious] and my grandma’s plethora of Christmas cookies.
Time flew by way too fast but it was one of the best weekends in months. So much love and getting into the Christmas spirit. My happiness batteries were charged enough to sustain even the anxiety-evoking journey back.

Christmas_cookies

Remember how I mentioned Germans’ frustration with Deutsche Bahn? Well, I have another story to add or: How to travel by train for free [but with plenty of anxiety]. Planning to go back home by train I stumbled upon error after error. It started with both of the ticket machines closest to my platform – I had a mere 15 minutes left until departure so no time to search for others – not working. Hopping onto the train in anyway with two fellow unlucky I immediately seeked out the next attendant to purchase a ticket. After listening to my explanation they showed not an ounce of sympathy and told me I should have looked for a different ticket machine or get off at the next station to buy a ticket [= goodbye, connecting train]. Luckily, a lady who had overheard the conversation offered me a ride on her ticket. I was so very thankful. In my connecting train – this time with no spare minutes to buy a ticket – I was more or less given a free pass as the conductor was on his own and told me they didn’t sell tickets on the tran anymore but I should buy one after arriving at my final destination. Somebody understand this logic …

In terms of accomplishments I …

Worked as usual. It was an unexpectedly good week, though. I figured out a new skill, got to make a serious dent into my to-do list and left feeling good about everything on Friday.

Posted twice: one Week in Review and a collection of posts worth reading. I would really like to hear your thoughts on the ones in the first category if you find the time to read them.

Prepared a new batch of healthy Nutella on Friday night while simultaneously fixing more of these chocolate cups. Yes, I know I still owe you the recipe, especially since they were such a huge hit with my family  [which is to say something as they had to compete with my grandma’s cookies]. The problem is the lack of light this time of the year.

On Tuesday, one of my ‘favourite’ clients came in and gifted me a jar of white almond butter. She knew how much I liked it as we’d been talking about all things healthy food in the past and she’d bought a few items I recommended before. I didn’t want to accept it at first as gee, that’s one expensive food. Also not because she’d actually bought it for herself in the first place but then a [stupid as heck] homeopath had advised her against eating too much fat. I will let you imagine my rant about that fact and strongly advised her against visiting that – sorry not sorry – jerk again. This sweet lady does not need anybody telling her what to eat as her life is hard enough already. It’s making me sad when I hear stories like that and luckily, she agreed that man wasn’t to be trusted so hopefully she won’t go back. Rant over. I plan on bringing her a little gift in exchange next time she visits.

Almond butter

  • Brought some homemade treats into the office for my colleagues
  • Bought that one colleague a bread roll for her ‘lunch’ break again [and successfully convinced her to let me pay for it].
  • Painted my nails. It had been way too long and hey, grey weather calls for colourful nails so it was necessary.
  • Went on two long walks with [almost] the whole famly. These are a tradition whenever we meet and a great time for conversations and obviously a little digesting ;).
  • Finally, I bought the first Christmas present and consider it a particular achievement as it’s the one for my dad i.e. the hardest to buy for person on my list.

What didn’t make the list was the major meltdown I had a few days ago. Because life definitely isn’t all smiles and sunshine for me but it doesn’t hurt to focus on the positives, no? Looking at what we have rather than what’s missing in our lives. With that I’m wishing you a …

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Spending some more time with my family before leaving my grandparents’ house  again in the afternoon.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

15 thoughts on “Week in Review: The one with many blessings

  1. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    Time with grandparents sounds wonderful…and with cookies, even better. Argh, I get so upset when people give erroneous “health” advice. Um no, fat is essential to the diet and shouldn’t be restricted. That dude needs to take a hike. I’m glad you were there to tell that sweet lady the truth. Life most certainly isn’t perfect, but kind people like you make it better. Happy Monday.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Awr, thanks for the sweet compliment, Evangeline!
      I agree that guy needs a little check-up in terms of manners and the current state of nutritional knowledge. Just imagining how many people’s lives he’s been making miserable with his advice gets me upset.
      I hope your week is going well!

  2. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Yay! I am so glad you had a wonderful weekend, my friend! I’ve had grünkohlessen only once… it’s like a dish with kale + potatoes (I think it was potatoes) + sausage… right? Or is it just the kale?

    I wish my clients gifted me nut butters! 😛

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, yes, that is Grünkohl prepared the classic way indeed! Where did you happen to have it in Australia? Us vegetarians of the family obviously get our special pot prepared without any animal products :).

  3. Morgan @ Managing Mommyhood says:

    Jeeze louise to that train debacle! I always commend people do who can any form of transportation alone – I have zero sense of direction, hate talking to strangers, and get anxiety in train stations, ha! But at least it ended well for you!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, it isn’t for the faint at heart ;). No, seriously, I generally am a fan of traveling by train because it’s good for the environment and you -usually- know exactly when you’ll be where. If things get messy like this, though …Not so much.

  4. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad that nice woman was there to help you at the train station, random acts of kindness are often the best. It looks like not only did you receive, but you also gave a lot too. I’m glad you had a wonderful weekend with the family (grandparents are awesome) and a unexpectedly good week on the job. They’re so lucky to have you there. You make such a wonderful coworker.

    Happy Monday!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      They really are. I was so incredibly grateful and relieved when the lady intervened. People like her are a blessing in this world.
      I hope I’m an alright coworker because I’m obviously not perfect, either. But hey, I bring in treats every now and then ;).

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    Reading about the weekend you had with your family for your Grandmother’s birthday just made me so happy. It’s so nice to hear about you enjoying yourself so fully. You deserve it. And on that… I think I could go for some “Grünkohl-Essen.” 8 pounds of kale? Yes, please. What is the “prepared the traditional German way” part??
    That woman at the train station.. what an angel. I’m so glad she was there. Just as I know your coworkers are SO thankful they have you. What a kind heart. You’d really turn someone’s day around.
    My achievements: BED SHEETS, BAKING, BATH. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I still think you rocked it with the sheets – and the major workload! – there ;). Mine aren’t done yet …
      Grünkohl is essentially kale stewed with what we call ‘Suppengrün’ – a mix of vegetables like carrots, celeriac, parsley root, leeks and others , traditionally a certain kind of very fatty sausage, too. It’s seasoned very simply but oh my, even the sausage-less vegetarian kind is insanely flavourful and more-ish. I’d invite you over next time we have it ;).

  6. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Once again, reading your Week in Review, I am always touched by what a kind person you seem to be, looking out for your clients, your co-workers, insisting on paying for your colleague’s lunch….you are amaze-tastic! Also, happy birthday to your Grandma! I’m so glad you got to spend quality time with your family. 🙂
    By the way, I really love that post on Imma Eat That about food bloggers and disordered eating. Thanks for sharing it with us!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Nah, you’re way too sweet. I have my flaws like everybody else. I simply like my colleagues and therefore try to show them with treats or favours every now and then
      I’m glad you liked the post. Kylie really was so spot on with what she wrote. It’s something I wish more people in the blog world talked about.

  7. Claire @ My Pink & Green Life says:

    Happy (belated) birthday to your grandma! I’m glad your train ride worked out in the end, even if the “during” was a bit stressful. 🙂 Three accomplishments this week: making it to Colorado in one piece (on a 6am flight!), setting up Eric’s family’s artificial tree this weekend, and cooking lots of yummy things!

  8. chasetheredgrape says:

    Urgh I remember the train system back in the UK being just as frustrating as the German one… It’s never fun being in that situation, especially when everyone knows the ‘rules’ are crazy.
    I’m so glad you got to spend some wonderful time with your grandparents. Family time really does recharge the happiness batteries. 🙂

Leave a Reply

