Scenes from a night owl’s life.

It’s just true: I’m a night owl through and through. Trust me I sometimes wish I wasn’t or even try to convince myself I’m not. Life proves time and time again I am. Just like that most of my accomplishments happen in the later hours of the day. Baking Christmas cookies at 10 PM? I’m that kind of girl. And apparently the exception in the blog world that seems inhabitated by early birds [jealous!].With the many differences between Germany and the US in mind I’m wondering if this is another one to add to the list. >Let me know what you think in the comments, I’m genuinely curious about this as one of my bosses just attended a workk conference in the US and told me the daily programs tended to start at 7 AM  – definitely not the norm over here.
The week felt full and passed by [too ] fast so here’s a recap through another Week in Review hosted by the fabulous Meg and sweet Ave.

Week in review

During the past week I …

Worked as usual.  Aside from Thursday that required pushing on despite a sudden spell of sick- and dizziness that led my colleagues to recommend going home. But despite not being overly fond of my job leaving the others hanging wouldn’t have felt right.

Posted twice: a Week in Review and those good good links.

Cleaned my apartment, including mopping the floors – on Thursday night already. That’s a first and made a huge difference in how my weekend went along. Having those annoying tasks crossed off already allowed for more time with the family – and baking.

Spent time with my favourite little human,  i.e. my sister and P. visited us for the weekend. Unfortunately, P. has been fighting a sticky cold on and off for weeks so he was very mum-focused but also enjoyed me carrying him around for longer than usual, too.

Baby nephew

[old picture because I didn’t take many this weekend]

Took another trip to town for my dad on Friday night even though I was just tired, hungry and not feeling it. But when your dad asks you to get him batteries for his headlights  [he’s been out late these days building a fancy new shed in my parents’ garden]. Granted, he didn’t ask but demand. Anyway, I took the chance to blast the music in the car and get my dance on. When life hands you lemons …

Baked! This deserves all the exclamation marks as I’ve been getting my Christmas baking game on late this year. Making up for time I chose two of the most involved recipes to bake this weekend. Each of them a classic from my maternal respectively paternal grandma’s repertoire.

omas-kekse_christmas-cookies

[Cocoa cookies sandwiched with coffee-spiked almond crème and topped with coffee-scented buttery frosting – a mouthful to say but pretty much gone after two days my parents’ house]

Fun fact: I dislike cut-out cookies – the process, not the results – yet both recipes required it. For the first one I shared duties with my mum – I prepared the dough, filled and frosted, she cut out and baked – but the second]? Done all by myself and I now have newfound appreciation for my grandma’s baking efforts. Zimtsterne [cinnamon stars], a gluten-free almond/nut-based shortbread base topped with crispy-crackly meringue frosting were the name of the game. Rather than use egg whites I ventured into Aquafaba territory and they turned out amazing. My family was so impressed  – and you might remember my mum’s not hiding her true opinion on my baked goods – that my mum a) said the person who discovered Aquafaba should be awared the Nobel price and b) told me she was going to prepare a chickpea dish this week so I could bake more Zimtsterne. If that doesn’t state how good these are I don’t know . They’re vegan and gluten-free but still pack a good amount of refined sugar so I’m not sure whether to share the recipe with you or not … Thoughts?

zimtsterne-vegan_aquafaba

[Not my best picture – trying to get one in the late afternoon on a rainy day isn’t the smartest move …]

Spent Saturday evening chatting with my mum and sister. While the seamatresses of the family went about their business I baked the abovementioned Zimtsterne. Words of encouragement were exchanged and pushed us through the finicky work. Win-win.

Went for a solo walk after my sister and P. had left on Sunday and I could feel a little Sunday blues arising. Being in nature and looking at cows helps. A little at least.

Meal-prepped as usual. Most of this happened while listening to Davida’s new podcast. Give it a listen if you’re into podcasts!

Ate intuitively on the weekend. More or less successfully but I tried. This meant swinging from non-stop appetite – hunger? – on Saturday to a lack thereof on Sunday. No pretences here: Intuitive eating -still- doesn’t come easily to me. The reason for which lies in my history of eating which I know I haven’t shared with you yet but I’ll leave it at this. Yet days like these show me that it works. Somehow. And we can all get there.

As I know this is already turning into half a novel in length again I’ll leave it at this and won’t add the other bits and bobs. I hope you had a great week and are starting well into the new one. Only so much longer until Christmas!

Happy Monday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Family time.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!

When do you usually write your Weeks in Review?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

12 thoughts on “Scenes from a night owl’s life.

  1. mylittletablespoon says:

    See… I love to bake. But I’m still lazy as all heck Anything with more than one layer or heck, more than one bowl, just doesn’t really get a second glance from me. I gawk over and collect recipes but then really never make them because of the steps that would be involved. Ugh. I need to change this. I’m missing out on so much glorious (and impressive) creations. But then again, maybe I’ll leave those types of recipes to you. As long as you send me some? The cookies all sounds FABULOUS. Huge props to you.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Really? Looking at all the kitchen creations you’re sharing every week it’s hard to believe that first statement, girl. I’m certainly no perfect or very accurate baker but it’s one of my favourite means of relaxation.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m glad you got to spend some time with your sister and little P. I can relate to the baby’s mom only phase. Ave has a bit of that herself, especially when she’s overtired or distressed. Since she is off and on about napping, she gets overtire often. Little stubborn munchkin.

    I will take all the baked eggs, especially those with frosting, Aquafab or not. I’m glad you were able to get your cook on and tackle the floors ahead of time. I bet it made the weekend so much nicer.

    While I missed having my family in town last weekend (they couldn’t make it due to snow), I like knowing I have dinner sorted for a bit this week in the form of a huge lasagna I made in anticipation of their visit.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Oh and p.s., while I’m an early bird, the Hubby is definitely a night owl.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I can’t blame Ave for the need of extra mummy time. Being the last born of three children I tried to get as much of that as I could, too – though obviously at a different age. Fingers crossed Ave will go back to more constant sleeping patterns soon!
      I’m glad to hear of at least one other night owl, even if it’s not you :). Given my dad is more prone to that side, too, maybe it’s more present in males than us females??

  3. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Coffee-spiked almond creme? What? Those cookies look amazing! Also those Zimtsterne. I am perfectly cool with a refined-sugar recipe; it’s Christmas!
    I don’t know about being an early bird being super-common in the U.S. 7am meetings would be very much not the norm. 8:30am, maybe. I know that I’m in a little bit of an unusual environment because I’m at a university, but still, I think early-bird-ness might be a trait unique to the blog world.
    Sorry you’re feeling under the weather. I understand not wanting to leave others hanging, but when I’m sick, I try to remind myself that I don’t want others to catch the bug, either. Take care of yourself. ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, I know, right? Actually describing them for the first time here as you can’t tell what they are like without eating one made me laugh a little, too. Because the German name they go by in our family is completely lacking any of that appeal.
      Hm, interesting. Maybe the 7 AM start was specific to the branche then? I also remember my boss saying something about morning yoga – very unrelated to the actual conference topics – so maybe those very early sessions were just that?

  4. Ellie says:

    I enjoy cut out cookies, but more because I like to decorate them after they are done baking. Sometimes when they break in half and I end up with a billion small pieces I ask myself why, but usually the sprinkles I put on top of the frosting makes them worth it 🙂
    This weekend I finished one book and read half of another. I also moved into my new tiny house and love it!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      You moved?! Exciting!
      Finishing a book – at least when I really liked it – is always bittersweet but having another one to follow right up makes it easier.
      I used to enjoy decorating cut-out cookies a lot as a child, too – luckily my mum was the one rolling out the dough time and time a back then ;).

Leave a Reply

