Christmas week: [No] Santa [but a] Baby

First things first: I hope all of you had a wonderful holiday with your loved ones!

Life presented an odd sense of humor in the past week:  If thought I was feeling unwell in the previous week then, well, the worst was yet to come just in time for Christmas. Long story short: I’ve been ugly snot-sneezy sick since the previous Sunday night and still not over it. On Christmas Eve some – not going all TMI here – digestive issues came up, too. No matter what, though: Christmas is what this Week in Review with Meg and Ave is all about and somebody’s got to keep the paoer tissue industry in business, right?! Writing this post actually helped me see the plentitude of little silver linings the past week still held – it’s all about perspective.

Week in review

During Christmas week I …

Worked three days. I’m thankful my bosses decided to close the office on Thursday already because those three days alone were hard getting through with my cold.

Baked another batch of Zimtsterne on Thursday night because I was set on publishing the recipe before Christmas still. My stubbornness is a great motivator. That being said …

Published the ecipe for said  flourless vegan Zimtsterne that I highly recommend for any cinnamon fiend as well as a Week in Review. There were no good good links as I didn’t feel like spending that much time on my laptop with family around. These will be coming up either tomorrow or on Thursday, though.

flourless vegan Zimtsterne

Sent off a cookie care package to some relatives who are going through a hard time. This incentive was probably what really got my mum and me baking up a storm in our kitchens. Luckily, the package still arrived in time for Christmas Eve.

Celebrated Christmas with my parents, brother, my sister, her husband and P. More specifically, we celebrated on Christmas Eve as is the norm in Germany.  Being the first with a baby on board it was different from previous years. Some traditions were abandoned in adapting to this. Good thing we haven’t had a real tree – see here for what I’m talking about – or candles in years in anyway.

until-december-26th-032

We had a nice dinner of roulades [only for the meat eaters, obviously], Rotkohl, potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Followed by the best dessert I’ve had in a long while: homegrown baked apples with vanilla sauce. Also known as heaven on a plate. We’ve had more elaborate desserts in past years but this honestly was my favourite.

Gave gifts that made my loved ones happy. I’m most likely not the only one who worries at least a few of their gifts won’t be well received. So it was relieving to see my concerns evaporating as everybody opened their presents. A mini electric kettle for my dad – handy when he’s traveling – was my proudest gift. I might have lied when he asked if it had been my idea [thank you, mum!].

Was plentifully gifted. I was surprised, maybe even overwhelmed, by the gifts I received. Some store bought, some handmade/sewn with love. The biggest surprise was a new teapot because, well, let’s just say my old one is a little [or rather a little more] malfunctioning. Ahem. My family just knows me too well.

Christmas tree and gifts

Spent way more time reading than in the average week. It was time that I might have spent browsing the internet elsewise but picking up books more often instead felt a lot better. In fact, the blogger was probably the one using her phone the least often of all family members ;). Now if only that didn’t mean I’m almost out of reading material again …

Met a good friend I hadn’t seen in way too long and caught up on each others’ lives. She’s one of those friends who – no matter how long it’s been since you previously saw each other – just gets you and vice versa. A huge blessing.

Went on several walks with the family. These are happening more often with a baby around and conveniently scheduled around P.’s sleeping schedule.

little-hands

All in all, Christmas was amazing yet not as good as it could have been. Not because of my family but because I was feeling … off. I wasn’t as good a daughter, sister or aunt as I could have been and it’s currently weighing on my mind heavily [hence the not quite as cheerful lines above]. Time really is fleeting and I’m sad I wasn’t there with all of my mind and heart all the time. It was partially because I was feeling physically unwell and partially for some of the same reasons Cora so eloquently wrote about in a recent post [that I unfortunately only read today].
However, just like many people see the beginning of a new week, month or year as a blank slate to start afresh I know I have the chance to try again, too.

Enough of me: Tell me about your Christmas week in the comments! Fun or special traditions, what was for dinner, what did you do …?


Happiness-inducing today:  A conversation with my mum. A little peek-a-boo play with P.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

9 thoughts on “Christmas week: [No] Santa [but a] Baby

  1. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    It sounds like you did a lot this Christmas, despite your head cold and digestive issues. Including publishing those delicious Zimtsterne that look so delicious! I’m sorry if I have a hard time believing that you weren’t “as good of a daughter, sister, or aunt” as you could have been; every time I read your blog, I’m struck by what a kind and loving person you are, who so often puts others before yourself. Have fun with your new teapot! And yum! on those delicious baked apples. Hope you get feeling better soon.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so sorry you were sick for the holidays and I hope you’re starting to feel better now.

    Also you need to give yourself more credit. You are so very kind to others, and I’m not sure you realize just how valuable and wonderful you are. Give yourself a pat on the back and a giant cup of tea with honey and lemon to cure the cold. I’m rooting for you from Cleveland.

    Happy Holidays.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    You are a gem and I wish you saw this more! Baking and sending cookies to relatives not doing well, meeting a friend, baking with your mother, giving very thought out gifts – you do nothing without intention, my dear, and that is very special. I am truly sorry you were feeling down physically, as well as experiencing those other thoughts we share. It really sucks. But you are coming out the other end stronger. Of course we wish we could have been more “present” for our families – because we are the ones in our heads hearing our thoughts constantly – but to others, I have to believe we weren’t as distant as we may have thought we were. Much love to you ❤

  4. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Oh no! Being sick on Christmas is no fun – but it looks like you still had a lovely time!

    You are so so sweet for sending off a cookie care package I don’t think you give yourself enough credit though, sweet girl! I am sure your family are beyond grateful for you.

  5. Ellie says:

    I hope you heal from your sickness soon, it’s no fun being ill on holidays. I really love the decorations you put up in the picture with the presents. So lovely!
    On Christmas, I got Chinese food and saw the new Star Wars (RIP Carrie Fisher) with a friend. I think that might be a new tradition 🙂

  6. masala girl says:

    glad you spent some more time reading 🙂 i’m planning on going and getting the book Divergent, it’s been too long since i’ve read a good book!
    also- yay for the tea pot! i don’t understand how people only drink microwaved tea! xD i got a waffle maker, which i’ve been wanting for almost 2 years! 😀

Leave a Reply

