Why I’m not making resolutions.

Happy New Year!

New year, new you? Catchy as this phrase is I’m not buying into it. As much as I want to support everybody’s enthusiasm about starting a new year I’m too realistic for that. Some might say pessimistic but I would beg to differ. I’m not saying it’s impossible to change your life with the start of a new year. In the end, though, this time is no different from the beginning of any other new month or even just week. No lies here: with everybody [in the blog world, not real life in my case], every magazine and website talking about I’ve been thinking about goals lately, too. So yes, I might have some. Changes of the kind I should have been making in previous months already. However, I’m fully aware that the point that also has many people fail their goals is true for me, too: Resolutions aren’t solutions. They don’t solve the inherent ‘problems’* that have held us from making changes before. Those ‘problems’ being that we are who we are. With our habits, personality traits and all the other bits and pieces that make us us. If we want to create lasting change the motivation has to arise intrinsically not bound to a certain date.  Why not throw a big party at the beginning of April? August? I hope you caught my drift here.

*I want to stress that I’m saying ‘problems’ because they’re not actually bad. We simply are who and how we are and that’s okay.

Okay, after that heavy introduction let’s take a look at the past week of life as inspired by Meg.

Week in review

 

Here’s some of what happened in the final week of 2016 for me. I …

Worked three days, taking Friday off to get a few things done before New Year’s Eve and to spend a little more time with my mum, sister and P.

Published two posts: a week in review and my – at least for a while – final weekly good good links. Stressing the weekly because – oh the irony – since making the decisions to stop doing these posts great articles have found me rather than me actively searching them. So I do think the links will be back eventually/later this month.

Read the latest Harry Potter book. It’s a quick read – a day or two – and I definitely recommend it. I admittedly wasn’t expecting it to be this good.

Whipped up a new batch of peanut butter. It never gets old. And – killing two birds with one stone – used the peanut butter remainders in the Vitamix to …

Prepare my healthy No-Bake Millionaire’s Shortbread Bars for New Year’s Eve with friends. From what I could tell they went down well. I say from what I could tell because we were in the midst of a game of “Who am I?” when I put them on the table. Not to brag but I was [one of?] the first to guess their character – just out of luck, though, pure luck here and it still took me a good while.

Healthy Millionaire's Shortbread Bars - only eight ingredients, vegan and gluten-free.

Changed the sheets on my bed – thinking of Cora here. The heavenly scent of fresh- and cleanliness when I slipped under the blankets at night was well worth the struggle of wrangling with the fitted sheet.

Took a nap on Friday evening. For some reason I was beyond tired all of a sudden and decided to give in. Granted, I should have let myself go to bed as early as 8.30 but my mind wouldn’t have it.

Started a little early Spring cleaning. I don’t want to think about the whole work ahead yet – going through all the rooms and closets – but starting out was a good decision.

Took my dad’s car – that we share – to the car dealer to get the replacement second key fitted. Holy heck expensive. We’re talking close to 200 €/~210 $ here … Needless to say I decided to keep that shiny new key to myself ;).

Went on a long walk in the winter sun with my mum, sister and P. I will miss these now that my sister and the little one have left again. Good company lets you forget about the cold outside.

Orchidee_flower_orchid

Read every afternoon after work and at least a little every morning, too. This has truly been such a wonderful addition to my days in the past year that I’m definitely going to keep.

Finally cleaned my electric water kettle. It had been a while and I’m honestly not quite sure why I don’t clean it more often. On the note of electric kettles: is it true these aren’t common in the US/Canada?

In full disclosure I wasn’t going to write this post. I’m a little anxious to share the next few lines because opening up is scary but I feel I should to explain things a little. The past months haven’t been easy for me [mentally] but even I was surprised by my mood dipping harshly after my sister and P. had left. It’s not something I want to talk about in detail – a mix of heavy post holiday blues and an overall internal mess I have to work through. This isn’t to say my life was awful – there are always silver linings – and my mood definitely doesn’t dip like this on the regular. As if she had known my mum knocked on my door in the late afternoon asking if I was up for a walk and this honestly saved me. I’m not exaggerating here. Yes, I might be in my twenties but the fact that mum’s the best just doesn’t change. We have our rough times, too, but today I was eternally grateful for her being part of my life. While I might not feel 100 % amazing now I was able to see the light again.

If you read the whole post: thank you. Really.  I’d send you a cookie but I’m afraid it wouldn’t keep too well over the distance. Once again, though: I’m not asking for sympathies here. My intent is simply to be honest about what’s going on and also excuse for my lack of blogging and commenting activity.

Now that you listened to me rambling on for ages tell me about your past week! What happened? How did you spend New Year’s Eve? Did you make any resolutions or monthly goals [I’m thinking  about picking these up again]?

 

Happiness-inducing today:  The walk with my mum.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

16 thoughts on “Why I’m not making resolutions.

  1. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health says:

    seems like you accomplished quite a bit this past week. i had family visiting so everything was kind of all over the place. i had an evening to myself and it really feels soooooo damn good!!! i am not setting any big goals or resolutions either, instead 2017 is all about intentions 🙂
    happy new year friend.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Happy New Year to you, too, Dixya! Intentions sound a lot better than resolutions to me. Actually, intentional living is something that I feel many of us need to work on, including myself. Regarding food, exercise and, well, living.

  2. Emily Swanson says:

    I know what you mean about not setting too many big goals; just LIVE and enjoy life. God made us to enjoy Him and life in His world, not to be stressed over it or goals. ❤ Just keep sharing and writing Sunne, love you.

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I know what you mean about clean sheets. They’re magical, and I too washed mine last week. I’m already excited to do it again. I also really want to start cleaning out some closets and cabinets. We have way too much clutter, especially for things we no longer use. Surely they can find a new life in a new home somewhere.

    I’m happy you find some peace in that walk with your mom. Hang in there. Post holidays, especially in colder climates, can be tough.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The blissfulness of freshly washed sheets, no? I need to set reminders on when to wash mine next because it all too easily is forgotten until the very last minute, making it stressful rather than enjoyable.
      My mood drop unfortunately wasn’t entirely weather-dependent but I’m hanging in there. Counting those silver linings.

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    So sorry about feeling so down, and I’m glad that you mom was able to reach out and help you out. I know you’ve been going through tough stuff, and you are so good about focusing on the positive here on the blog. Sending lots of loving thoughts your way!
    I’ll bet those Millionaire’s Shortbread bars were a huge hit! I think I’ve played that game “Who Am I” before. Is it the one where all the players have a label on their forehead? That one’s a riot.
    Happy New Year!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you so much, Joyce. The messed up feelings were indeed caused by some of what I mentioned in my previous email. I hope things are looking well for you, too.
      The game you describe is exactly what I meant. I wasn’t entirely sure about the English name. It was a lot of fun. We had a pro player there, too ;).- one of our friends wrote down every clue he got. Unfortunately, it still took him the longest to guess who he was. It -was- a difficult one, though.

  5. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I’m not a fan of New Year’s Resolutions (or goal setting for certain time periods, to be honest) as I’m someone who would rather focus on being my best every day – instead of just to reach a certain goal.

    I am so glad that your family are around you for moments like the one you mentioned where you just need someone there. Sending hugs your way, my sweet friend!

    And know I’m always just an email or a message away! xo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Making an effort to be the best you every day is such a lot better than chasing any lofty resolutions. This reminds me of your recent post which stated this so well.
      I know I still owe you a reply and it’ll happen!

  6. mylittletablespoon says:

    To be honest I don’t think I know what an electric kettle is?? It’s possible we do have them here but just call them something else? A kettle that you plug in?
    I think if you WERE to make one “resolution,” it would be to continue on with that daily reading. I think its your happy place and this makes me happy.
    I’m proud of you for speaking (writing) out about how you’ve been feeling lately. There is no shame in talking about yourself, Sunne (especially on YOUR blog). When we have lows we need to reach out and let ourselves take the attention, or else keeping it inside and pretending it isn’t important will just make it worse. Thank you for sharing. I’m grateful for your mother! And as always, I’m here anytime.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Can you stop leaving the sweetest kind of comments, please? No, seriously, thank you so so much, Cora. You really are a wonderful (blog) friend and I hope we’ll get to meet one day.
      The daily reading is something I’m definitely not going to drop again. I just need that time to nourish my mind and break from staring at a screen either at work or at home.
      I was hesitant to share my struggles as openly as this so you saying that is really appreciated. Life isn’t always sunshine and rainbows.

  7. Ellie says:

    Sometimes the right people come at just the right time. Call it karma, call it mother knows best, whatever, the point is, she was there when you needed it 🙂 I hope this week is better, do you get to see your sister?
    I made cookie dough cake balls for NYE (and for myself haha) and tried a new brunch place. Both were awesome and will definitely be repeated. Have a great week 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Cookie dough balls sound amazing. I only ever made those once – for New Year’s Eve, too, actually – years ago. I’m sure the people at the party were very pleased to have those.
      Unfortunately, I don’t know when I will get to see my sister and P. again yet. After traveling a lot on the weekends towards the end of the past year they want to spend some time at home for now.

  8. Claire B. says:

    Goals >>> resolutions, in my books! Resolutions are too vague for me, and I’ve always forgotten what they are just a few days into the new year if I make them. Three achievements from this week: moving into a new dorm room, getting my first day’s worth of homework done on time, and finishing a book!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oooh. A new dorm room is exciting! Are you still sharing it with your old roommate? I have no idea how this works as I’ve never lived in a dorm and things are different over here. Which book did you finish?

Leave a Reply

