Falling and stumbling, not failing.

Despite not setting any resolutions this year I do have my goals and changes I want to make in life. Some bigger, some smaller. Just one week in is obviously too short a time span to make any predictions on how the remaining year will go. Still, I’m not entirely satisifed with myself. Old habits die hard – that realization hit me hard during the past days, making me feel caught in a viscous cycle. Voices of doubt in my ability to change coming up.

This is where – had I made any resolutions – I would probably deem myself failing at them right from the start. Which – as media has us believe – for many people means dropping the good intentions altogether and deciding they screwed up. It’s all too easy to follow that route. What if I – if we – saw these happenings not as failing but falling or stumbling instead? My little nephew is currently learning to walk and falling a lot of times. Yet there’s no sadness in his face when he does and he gets up once more time and time again. Because he’s determined and – as evolution has proven in millions and millions of children before – he’ll eventually succeed in his quest. It’s this determination and belief in myself I want to nurture and sustain this year rather than fall into the self-pity puddle of disappointment. Not a nice place to be and certainly not an empowering one.

Back to the original intention of this post, though. Soon enough  Meg will kick me out of the Week in Review club for turning these from reviews into life reflections. I just can’t help it –

Week in review

In the past seven days I …

  • Worked as usual. We got a new colleague starting this past week and she’s the sweetest and most engaged person ever. My bosses were worried they wouldn’t find a good fit to take up the place of another colleague leaving the office in a few months but I’m sure any doubts are wiped away now already. Colleagues also make a huge difference in how enjoyable work is and this lady is a blessing to all of us.
  • Posted twice. One Week in Review sharing my thoughts on New Year’s resolutions and – surprise! – another round-up of good good links. Before you’re calling me a hypocrite for returning to these when I said I was putting them to rest: I adressed that topic in the post. I could have held them back for another week but my inner odd-number-hater [here in terms of posts published] might have played a role in sharing them now already.
  • Sold* two [quadrupled] batches of this healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola to my colleagues. I might just have to rethink my career ;). You might remember me creating this granola not primarily for myself but a colleage who’s also been asking me for more batches since. The past week she shared some of it with another colleague who then requested her own granola delivery. The scent of this is heavenly and I think it’s perfectly fine to snag a bite or two of every batch of granola, no? Quality control.
    *when I say sold I mean that they’re paying me for the ingredients. I wouldn’t ask for compensation of the time and work involved here.

Healthy Maple Buckwheat Granola - gluten-free, vegan and refined sugar-free.

Confession: I’m glad it’s this granola they’re ordering rather than one of my no-bake treats. Why? Because I still am not too keen on cleaning the Vitamix :D. It’s not that it was hard work but I’m always dissatisfied with the result  [i.e.: why in the world does it still have that gross fat residue from nuts after cleaning it twice?? Advice welcome!].

  • Spontaneously had a  longer conversation with two of my colleagues when the three of us were about to leave on Friday. It’s not that we don’t usually talk to each other in between but longer conversations don’t happen on the regular because we don’t have set breaks where we’d have time for those. Connection is one of my words for 2017 so this conversation felt like a step in following up with it.
  • Called my bank to ask for a replacement debit card. Background: I would have been in for a new one this year in anyway but that somehow/-where got lost. Which I had to realize when I tried to withdraw money from my account on Monday. Major oops. I luckily still had a smaller sum left in my wallet but had to watch my spendings more closely and will have to until I receive the new debit card still. On the upside, this led to an achievement:
  • Spent a lot less than in average weeks. This was really insightful but I will spare you the long story as this post is turning into a novel already. It might be time for some thinking out loud again.
  • Blended up a fresh batch of healthy Nutella. I’m getting the hang of roasting those hazelnuts well enough to remove the majority of the peels which definitely makes a difference in taste. So good.

healthy-nutella_hazelnut-butter_texanerin

  • Did some laundry – still not enjoying it, still not having everything folded and back in the closet yet. Finally including a huge load of wool socks [that my mum informed me aren’t actually made from pure wool – seriously now.]
  • My biggest accomplishment, though? Doing what I think would be called a pantry [and fridge] purge. I’ve hinted at this in my previous week in review already but I’m truly in dire need of cleaning up my apartment and belongings majorly. The reason I didn’t succeed at this goal in past years is that I waited until it became overwhelming and then felt forced to do everything at once. Didn’t work for me and never will. Instead, my goal for this time is doing it step by step. Rome wasn’t build in one day either.

That’s not all that happened or what I did in the past week but since the above is long enough already I’ll hand the mic over to you. Tell me about the past seven days in your life!

Happiness-inducing today:  Reading, cleaning up [I never thought I’d say this!] and getting more than expected done.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

8 thoughts on “Falling and stumbling, not failing.

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I would never kick you out of the WIR. You can do and say whatever you want and you’d always be welcome.

    Way to go on the fridge and pantry purge; I’m right there with ya, doing a few cabinets at a time.

    You need to charge for your time and labor on your granola. It doesn’t have to be outlandish but it should be something.

    Way to go on the connections. Keep them coming and keep your head up.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  2. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I don’t blame you for not wanting to clean that Vitamix. Sounds icky!
    Nothing worse than losing a debit/credit card. Except maybe losing a driver’s license. I’ve done that once. So frustrating–sorry you had to deal with this.
    Glad you got to have some good conversation with your colleagues. Connection sounds like a great goal for 2017. I love the idea of “falling” rather than “failing”–especially in the context of a little kid learning to walk. When babies learn to walk, as you said, it’s not so terribly far to the ground. At worst you bump your knee a little bit, maybe cry for a minute, and then you just get up and keep going!

  3. Emily Swanson says:

    Ok, that is super cool that you were able to sell granola to your co-workers; you’re such a wonderful baker.

    And I fall ALL the time, but I’m so thankful that the Lord keeps me humble and moldable, because I tend to get proud SO SO fast.

    You’re not failing dear; you may be falling, but keep on PRESSING forward.

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    Belief and compassion. Every time we take a stumble we need to pick these things up. Keep them in your pockets. I plan to do the same.
    Hugggeeee congrats on the fridge/pantry purge. You and Meg both knocked that one out of the park this week and my organizational/cleaning nerd is giddy for you both. Ahhh what a good feeling. Congrats on the laundry, too. I thought about it but it definitely didn’t happen for me. Blegh laundry.

  5. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    The example you used of your little nephew falling, and getting right back up again, is spot on. I want to grow more of that childlike determination and flexibility in my own life. The super awesome thing about life, is that we get a fresh new morning every single day to push on and start clean. I think I’ve said this before, but wowzers that granola looks delicious…as does the nutella. I’m too afraid to test the limits of my ancient blender, but I reeally want to make my own nutella in the near future. Kudos to you for the cabinet purge, spending less, laundry, and all the other accomplishments. Sounds like a successful week 🙂

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    Gah! Why have I not made your healthy nutella yet!?! It has to go to the top of my list!
    I love your concept of falling and stumbling but not failing. If we gave up on everything we have ever done because we stumbled then we would have never have gotten anywhere. We get that as a kid/ teen, why do we forget as an adult!?

  7. Ellie says:

    When I moved, I did the pantry purge and now I know what ingredients I have and where everything is. It was exhausting, but also a blessing. In the past 7 days I worked my first full week as a manager at my job and had a few outings with my girlfriends. I needed them 🙂

  8. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    You could start a granola business! 😉

    I definitely need to do a pantry clean out soon, however, the last seven days for me have been full of sickness! Jesse got sick on Thursday last week and I got sick on Sunday and we’re both still sick!

Leave a Reply

