Trusting your future self.

Sometimes I’d really appreciate my mind giving me a little heads-up about the thoughts its goingto pour out once I start writing. Or talking. Has anybody else found that they weren’t aware of how deeply something was occupying their thoughts until they started talking to somebody or grabbed pen and paper? I’ve become aware of this very strongly during the past few months. My point here: I never plan on what I’m going to talk about in these Weeks in Review [and many other posts, either] aside from the obvious accomplishment part. Today, my mind couldn’t steer away from the thoughts that had come up reading a certain article the other day. With that mini-intro to my actual intro said/written …

Self-doubt. At least for me it’s a vicious cycle of not daring to do one thing leading to not even attempting the next. This interestingly coincides with the message of this article I read the other day. When we don’t trust ourselves to be able to – as an example from my own life – go to bed earlier we set ourselves up for eternal failure. Or – remembering the previous week’s post – an eternal struggle. But [sticking with the example here] when we manage to call it quits at night even just a few minutes earlier we learn that hey, we actually can change. Looking at it now I can see tiny little steps in several areas of life for me. Thanks for steering me in this direction of reviewing my life every week, Meg. I mean it. If it wasn’t for the Week in Review I would be much harder on myself and not value the significance of every single week. I wouldn’t recognize the – even if just subtle – improvements I’ve made.

Week in Review

In the past week I …

Worked the usual five days. Work went mostly well. Leaving me tired at the end of the day but feeling like I did my best, accepted criticism and made an effort to improve my work.

Posted just once. This is what happens when perfectionism sets in for me. I had intentions to post one more time but never finished my draft because it just didn’t seem right. I have hopes that things will be better this week. You will at least get one more post as it’s time for some good good links again on Sunday. It actually took holding myself back from already publishing them yesterday already. I make myself laugh sometimes.

Vacuumed and mopped my floors on Saturday rather than Sunday already. I’m getting better at not pushing everything out until the final day before getting back to work.

Finally recreated a blog recipe I’d been meaning to share for weeks but didn’t because I had no proper pictures [insert rant about lighting conditions in winter]. As of yet I haven’t looked through the pictures on my laptop yet so can’t say for a fact whether or not they turned out. Fingers crossed because I want to share the recipes – two in one but I think I’ll share them separately – with you. Below is one part of it [I picked one that’s definitely not going to be in the actual post, smudgy rim and all #reallife ;)].

weißes Mandelmus

Had a short but interesting conversation with a friend from school I hadn’t seen in seven (!) years.

Wrote a letter I’d been meaning to for a while already. This also served as a means of helping me relax while eating dinner. I’ve turned to checking my phone too often while eating at night and want to change that again. It’s not the whole time but I simply know a completely technology-free meal time is more calming and writing letters adds some creativity. Highly recommended.

Worked out most days but keeping it short on days when I felt too tired.

Night owl that I am productivity kicked in on Saturday night so I …

Meal-prepped a little and …

healthy maple buckwheat granola - gluten-free and vegan

Baked a batch of my healthy maple buckwheat granola [sorry. I had not intentions of bringing it up again and again ;)]. Not for any of my colleagues but – my dad. I randomly mentioned I was making some for colleagues and he showed an interest, snagged a bowl and requested a batch of his own. Truth: I’m hoping eating this will curb his appetite for sweets a bit because I know he likes those treats at the office a little too much when stressed  [= every day]. Wishful health nut thinking.

Started my Saturday and Sunday mornings by reading a full hour each before doing anything else. Weekend mornings are blissful. I had actually intended a trip to Hamburg on Saturday but that fell through thanks to the snow and potentially icy roads we’ve been seeing lately.

Ran errands for my parents after work on Wednesday.

Went on a walk through winter wonderland with my mum. We didn’t get to do this the previous Sunday so it was nice to catch up and get a chance to let go of some of my mind’s clutter. Fresh air to get my mind churning, too.

That’s it because the remainder were just the usual day-to-day happenings not worthy of mentioning in a post. I hope your past week went well  – tell me about it below?! – and:

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today: Today was an overall good day with the walk being my favourite part of it again. Thanks to my mum for convincing me it wasn’t too cold for it :).

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

19 thoughts on “Trusting your future self.

  1. dpageteach00 says:

    love these weeks in review posts!!! Great way to reflect for yourself as well!! That granola looks fabulous and that messy gooey pic looks delish, cant wait to see the recipe!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Agreed. It’s interesting to see everbody’s different spins on these posts every week. I think they not only allow us a glimpse into others’ lives but their minds and what’s important to them, too.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It was -so- cold towards the end – I’m [literally ;)] getting cold feet fast this time of the year. But yes, it was worth braving for the refreshing crisp cold air and beauty of winter all around.

  2. Kate Bennett says:

    Ah you so right. Believing that my future self can do the things I want to do is vital. I do doubt myself a lot, but I can look back and see what I’ve done in the past and know that I’m capable of doing hard things.
    Love that you started your weekend days with reading!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Following along your journey on the blog I have no doubt you’ll reach any goal you have. The determination is showing through time and time again and your past struggles seem to have made you even stronger.
      The morning reading time was such a calming way to start the day. No phone allowed during those moments.

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so glad you find the WIR helpful. It really does allow you to see some of your own accomplishments when previously you might have thought there were none. Your weekend morning reading sessions sound absolutely divine. Also I need to steal this night owl energy of yours so I could perhaps accomplish some things in the evening. Last night I curled up with my planner, my stickers and some bad television. At least I can be a little creative without bending the brainwaves too much.

    Start charging for that granola…alright maybe not your dad, but definitely the coworkers. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Honestly, I never thought doing these posts would impact my life in such ways. Prior to writing them, days and weeks passed by without me paying much attention to details. Actually sitting down and reflecting makes me see the significance of them more.
      Your planner sessions make me jealous, too. I’m sure I’d be more organised if I had an actual planner and allllll the stickers to decorate it with ;).

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    To your intro’s intro: YUP. That is why reading and/or talking is SO important. We need these outlets to get out thoughts we didn’t even know we had, or maybe we didn’t know they were affecting us so much until we started writing about them. I constantly amaze myself when I’m thinking “I have nothing to write about” and then end up writing 10 pages of all these huge monumental break through thoughts…
    Anyways. On to the actual topic of your post. I am so SO happy to hear this bit of positivity and self-recognition you have this week. SO happy. You -we – are constantly making steps and the fact that you are seeing them and feeling good about them is awesome. You know what? I’m starting to feel similar. I’m starting to feel less down on myself for not having fixed EVERYTHING and be “perfect” by now, but am becoming more able to see the small changes – even if slow – that I have made and am making. Its a pretty neat feeling, ya?? Let’s keep it going.
    Your early mornings of reading sound glooooorriousss. As do your relaxing letter writing while you eat. So much more soothing than laptop or phone scrolling (wish I could remind myself of this more often). Thank you for this lovely relaxing reminder all around. ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      When do we finally get to meet???! Seriously, we share the same brain on some issues so we really need to.
      The “I don’t even have anything to write about” is me every. single. week. Some weeks are harder but others my brain just pours out endless posts the length of which would impress my former language teachers [I had a reputation for keeping things short compared to everybody else].
      I was so happy to read your post, lady. You should really be proud of how dang awesome you are.

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Awesome that you got out in the snow! I find it’s seldom too cold for a winter walk if I bundle up, and I almost always feel better for it.
    Glad you got to read a book and write a letter. It’s so tempting to always go to the computer, but there’s something about actually reading or writing something on paper.
    So glad your dad likes your granola! What a compliment to your abilities. 🙂
    Looking forward to your Good Good Links this week.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ooooh, trust me. I’m a serious “Frostbeule” if you know that term. There are definitely temperatures too cold for me. Though I still make an effort to at least get in a short walk outside every day. Being coopee up inside drives me a little crazy.
      I’m still guilty of too much time spent at my laptop but it’s definitely a good bit less than at the beginning of the past year.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s fascinating to “listen” to our brain’s stream of consciousness once we start writing or have a deep conversation, no?
      While not with pen and paper I’ve found writing emails or post drafts while walking really effective. I can’t seem to be as creative when I sit.

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    I love walks in the winter… Wrapping up warm… The occasional crunch of the snow… Seeing your breath in the air…. It’s just so refreshing and always made me feel good! I’m glad you are getting some of those in! 🙂

  7. Claire B. says:

    Wow, how awesome that you reconnected with a school friend after seven years! I just recently reconnected with one of my high school friends after about three years of not chatting much–it turns out she’s going to be moving out to California the same time we are this year.

    Self-doubt is something that so, SO many of us struggle with, myself included–just know I’m rooting for you! ❤

Leave a Reply

