Better than before.

Oh hi there, Monday!

As odd as it might sound I’m not that unhappy to see that apparently most resented day of the week on the calendar today. Why? Because yesterday’s overall music choice wasn’t my jam.  Read: we’re talking about a case of the Sunday blues here. It hit me particularly hard again this week and threw me into a little funk. Which in itself is positive in that it actually makes me look forward to the week ahead even more. Not just because my birthday’s coming up which means a reunion with my sister and P though that obviously helps. Onwards and upwards from here on.

While I might not be entirely satisfied with my past week in terms of accomplishments – am I ever really? – I know I could have done worse. And embarrassingly have in previous ones. Trying to find a recurrent theme in the past days [or actually January in its entity so far] three words got stuck in my mind: better than before. Before as in: the past year, the past month, past week, Not in all areas of life but some I have been making subtle changes for the better. There’s still plenty of room for improvement but – following up on what I said in the previous week in review – I now know I’m able to make changes I previously hadn’t. Which increases my hopes of accomplishing more in the future.

After that introduction let’s take a look at the past week of life as inspired by Meg.

[I didn’t take any pictures  so will be reusing old ones #sorry]

Week in review

In the past seven days I …

Worked five days – not quite the same game as usual, though.  With one of my colleagues currently out of the office for a while and the other colleague subbing in for her getting sick I suddenly had to switch to the reception desk. Being an introvert this was a true challenge the first day or two. Welcoming clients, answering their requests, operating the phone as well as trying to make a dent into my regular paperwork proved to be tricky. Overwhelming.  But also by far more rewarding than any previous week at work. Loking back I’m thankful for the chance I got. A chance for some self – growth. In fact, I’m almost sad my colleague will be back this week [though glad she’s feeling better], me switching back into my regular position. Not something I thought I’d ever say.

Published two blog posts: one Week in review with some thoughts on trusting our future selves as well as a roundup of good good links.

Waiting in line behind an elderly man with a full cart he very slowly unloaded on the conveyor belt at the store I felt anger, waiting behind him to pay for a mere two items. Rather than let my anger build up I took a deep breath and then helped him unload his cart. Releasing stress rather than letting negative emotions build up [I’m sure we’ve all been in that situation before]

Bought my mum baked goods a few times when she had to stay at work longer than usual and dropped them off at her office.

Baked more granola for one of my colleagues. I’ve played around with the recipe lately, changing up the nuts and also the way of preparation, aiming for a more clustery granola. Dare I say it’s even better now?

healthy buckwheat-granola

Picked my mum up in town one night when she was – once again – staying late at work and didn’t have the car. We usually all get to work by bike but haven’t recently because a) it’s flipping cold and b) snow and ice.

Cleaned the apartment.

Washed a load of laundry and got rid of a few tights that didn’t fit anymore. Which obviously means I may or may not have to invest in new ones.

Meal prepped for the upcoming week on the weekend plus breakfast for the next day every night.

Shared the treats I mentioned in my previous week in review with my colleagues. I know I said I was going to share the recipe but with my laptop swallowing some of the better pictures and Picmonkey continuously crashing it didn’t happen. They’re still coming, though. Keep your fingers crossed for less fussy technology this week.

Birthday flowers

Read for around an hour right after returning from work every weekday and in the mornings on the weekend. It’s a nice little habit to nourish my brain and disconnect from technology I’ve been rereading old issues of the magazine I’m subscribed to  [note: by magazine we#re not talking trashy celebrity ones but this right here ]. Because I still haven’t been able to decide on new books to read. Our local library doesn’t have a huge choice of newer books so I’d have to order ones which makes the decision ten times harder. Not like I was good at decisions to begin with …

Signed up for Georgie’s self-care challenge. It’s just starng so this is advance praise but I’ll recommend it already in anyway as I like the idea behind it so much.

Seeing as this is getting very wordy again I’ll close off here and would be happy to hear about your week instead. Ups, downs – everything.

Happiness-inducing today:  My morning reading time. Calming and blissful.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
What was the last amazing book you read and couldn’t put down?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

17 thoughts on “Better than before.

  1. SuzLyfe says:

    I remember doing the reception duty and I hated it. Mostly because I don’t have the best hearing, and I would thus get nervous on the phone! Also, I just didn’t know much about what was going on in the company (I was in a small part of it for my normal gig), so I always just felt dumb.
    I hope you have shaken off those blues and are ready to rock out!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Same here. I don’t know a lot of the things people might commonly ask for when calling us as my work is in a different part of the system.
      Thanks for the good wishes. The blues faded quickly in the hustle bustle of daily life.

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    How awesome is it that your whole family bikes to work. I’ve heard Germany is really big on biking… is that true?
    You are such a gem. Bringing baked goods to your mom and picking her up when she had to stay late at work. Beautiful daughter award goes to you.
    Also. Massive fist pump to kicking ass at the reception desk. Yeah girl. Not to mention breathing down the grocery line anger (I wouldn’t have been so empathetic), purging old tights and being a meal prep star! You really killed it this week.
    “Better than before.” That’s all we can really ask for isn’t it?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s so true. Perfect doesn’t actually exist so better than before is pretty good.
      I don’t know for sure but from what I’ve seen both in the countryside and the cities I’ve visited/livrd in I would say that many people enjoy riding bikes, yes. Though I’m sure the Netherlands are still ahead of us ;). It’s almost dangerous being a pedestrian there …

  3. Ellie says:

    The last amazing book I read was by Jodi Picoult and it was called “Leaving Time”. A great novel about racial tensions in the present day. So relevant for what we’re dealing with now.
    Better than before is beautiful. I like thinking about life that way 🙂

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    The last amazing book I read and couldn’t put down was “Expecting Adam” by Martha Beck. I don’t know if it was big enough to be printed outside the U.S., but it was wonderful and so inspiring while also being really hilarious at times.
    Way to go taking the challenge to work as a receptionist. Yes, that does sound really stressful to have to work the phones and field clients at the same time that you were also doing paperwork. But it’s so awesome that you focused on it as a learning opportunity. Maybe now that you have the experience, you can sub more in the future?
    I love that you are a tights wearer. I’ve never felt that I can pull them off.
    Good job too on the meal prepping. It really sounds like you accomplished a lot this week. Don’t be too hard on yourself, friend. ❤
    I'll have to check out Brand Eins. Good way to practice my German.

  5. chasetheredgrape says:

    Hooray for making more time to read! I adore my reading time before I go to bed with a cup of peppermint tea. It may only be for about 20 mins but it truly helps me wind down to sleep.
    I love coming here and reading all the granola talk… Until it makes me hungry! Haha! 🙂

  6. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Look at you manning the front desk for a week. Yo girl girl. You get two snaps and a twirl from me. I know that pushed you outside your comfort zone and I love that you ultimately enjoyed the challenge.

    A birthday coming up…how exciting. I know you’ll have a great time with your sister and little P.

    Keep on reading. Have you tried the Outlander series?

  7. katalysthealth says:

    Oh I can 100% relate to getting frustrated waiting behind the elderly man. But then I get hit with memories of my grandpa and how I would give anything just to see him again and it reminds me that this person in front of me probably has a little granddaughter somewhere who loves him just as much as I loved my grandpa. It reduces the anger and frustration at their pace [whether walking or driving!] and instead replaces it with love 🙂 I’m glad that you helped him out!

  8. Emily Swanson says:

    Georgie’s self care challenge has been so fun so far; I’m a little behind, but it’s been fun! 🙂 And I’m so glad that you loved on that elderly man; I know what it feels like to be in a hurry, but I know they are ALWAYS blessed when we show them love and honor. ❤

    And you are a granola baking queen.

Leave a Reply

