Happiness – just a change of perspective?

Another week and: another year in my life. Read: As of Sunday I’m yet another year older wiser. Hopefully wiser. Can we just go with that ;)?

This is about the fourth time I start writing my intro. Fifth if you count the time I did so in my head after a particularly tiring Thursday. What this fact reminded me of is how much timing and perspective matter. As you noticed my previous Monday posts had a rather heavy tone. Written in the depths of Sunday blues’ they reflected the way I saw the past days in a potentially more negative way than they actually were. When we’re tired, sad or anxious we focus more on the bad than all the good that happened. I tried to hold this back as best as possible but it was harder.
Looking back today I’m in a much more elated state.

Sometimes happiness or at least contentment with where we’re at in life really is just about perspective. It might be lowering the expectations we hold for a certain situation, making an effort to overlook the negative experiences in a day/week/year or looking at the smallest of blessings in our lives. The ones we aren’t even consiously taking  not eof anymore in everyday life.

Happiness batteries still filled after a weekend spent with my family, including sweet little P. So with these happy memories still fresh on my mind here’s to another Week in Review with Meg and Ave.

Week in review

Worked five days as usual. Long and not always easy days. As I mentioned in previous posts already we’re currently short in staff lately, particularly the colleague I’m usually sharing duties with. The whole team adapted better to her absence than – I think – most of us guessed. Yet the past week the workload has just kept piling up immensely to a point where it was too much to coordinate and keep up with. Working the front desk agan on Friday I finished a-okay and will return to a long list of to-dos today but I know things will be alright. Longer and tiring work days also led to the fact I …

Posted just once. Not a proud fact to state. I also was mostly absent from the blog world in terms of activity. Sorry for the lack of comments – I’ll make a conscious effort at getting back to it this week. You’ll also see at least one more post on here as I have quite a few little good good links waiting to be shared.

Spent time with my recently graduated to toddler status nephew – his birthday was a mere few days before mine. He’s walking now and we had lots of fun playing hide and seek. Meg will also be pleased to hear cheese is one of his favourite foods ;).

p-and-dad

Went to bed earlier during the week. This – despite still not falling into the range of recommendable hours of sleep per night yet – is a major improvement for me. As you might know I’m a night owl so calling it quits when my energy levels are the highest is hard. There’s still plenty of room for improvement but showing myself I’m capable of changes is a first step.

Bought myself not one but two new books. It had been quite a while since the previous time this happened as I have the hardest time a) deciding on titles and b)spending money on myself. I have to reach a point where my longing for new brain food outweighs my bad conscience.

Whizzed up both a batch of fresh peanut butter and healthy Nutella. Really badly burning the tip of my left thumb in the making of the latter. Not my proudest moment and further proof of the things I do for good food  😉 – or: just how delightful the Nutella is.

homemade-vegan-healthy-nutella

Read at least an hour every day. Even on the hectic days I still keep this as a priority I’m not willing to sacrifice. I’ll tell you about the latest additions to my book shelf once I start reading them but right now I’m rereading this amazing book.

Cleaned the apartment. It amazes me that I find new “not cleaned in a while” spots to clean every week. Or maybe dust just finds new places to accumulate on and in over time?

Meal-prepped. For once finishing really early on and at that lifting some stress off my shoulders. Postponing tasks until the very last minute is one of my worst habits.

Survived an appointment at the dentist’s. Nobody likes going there but for some reason this one was particularly anxiety inducing for me. The side effect of the anaesthetics lasting for five hours only added to the ‘fun’. I was one hangry beast at that point.

pb-and-chocolate-marbled-nice-cream_vegan

Had a wonderful laid back birthday with homemade chocolate peanut marbled icecream  [I’m not a cake person], a lovely girls + P. walk with my mum and sister and just a lot of quality time with the family. While my original plans where a little different I knew things wouldn’t work out this weekend  [it’s one of many birthdays in my parents’ circle of friends; my mum spent Saturday birthday-hopping and my sister, her husband and P. left early on Sunday]. Which is very okay with me because hiii, can you say belated birthday celebrations in warmer weather conditions? Definitely going to happen.   I’m aware what I’m about to say will make me look weird to some of you but I asked for no presents at this point [and still got one]. With Christmas just a bit over a month ago I didn’t need any already again. Gifts just for the sake of gifting? Not for me.

… and because this post is getting too long already again – will I ever better myself here? – I’m calling this a wrap and wishing you a …

Happy Monday!

Don’t forget to tell me your happenings and accomplishments from the past week!

Happiness-inducing today: Sunshine. Time with the family.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
What were some highlights from your past week?


Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

16 thoughts on “Happiness – just a change of perspective?

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I really do believe happiness is all a matter of perspective! I always say to Jesse that “no situation or person has the power to make you feel an emotion” because it’s so true. YOU are the one who decides how you feel – not anyone else or any situation you’re in.

    I am so glad you filled your happiness batteries this weekend though! Your homemade ice cream looks exceptionally delicious!

    I am like you and don’t ask for gifts either! I am more of a giver than a receiver!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      While it can be hard at times we really are responsible for our happiness and in most cases able to switch to more positive outlooks on life.
      I would be more of a giver if I didn’t have such a hard time finding the ‘perfect’ gift …

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Happy Birthday Sunshine. I’m glad you were able to soak up all the positive energy from your sister’s visit so you can start this week off on the right foot. Back in my working days, I used to have trouble with Sunday nights because I dreaded going into the office the next day. Despite my best efforts, I would get more and more down and cranky as Sunday went on.

    Little P has good taste in food. Cheese for the win. Ave likes her cheese too and beans and bread. She was really into mushrooms over the weekend. She’s a good little eater and just started to get some fuzzyness on top, whereas little P has tons of hair. What a cutie!

    Hang onto that reading. It’s your “you” time which makes it super valuable.

    Happy Monday, thanks for linking up and have a great week.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Meg. Work plays into the uprising of Sunday blues’ in part though returning to it can also be relieving to me. Sometimes I just need it to be busy and keep me from overthinking.
      Ave has great taste, too. Grilled cheese? Mmh. And isn’t it so interest to see how differently babies develop in the beginning? Ave is fat earlier on getting her teeth than P.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    Happy belated birthday my love!!! To both you and Little P! Gosh, I wish I had wished you this on your actual day. Boo me. It does sound like it was a lovely, not too stressful (?) day though, full of quality time with family – the most important gift of all. Excellent choice on the ice cream. Homemade!?!
    I think perspective – and conscious choice – are monumental in our personal experiences of life. I don’t think it comes naturally though (for most). It takes conscious work, but through these posts I see how hard you are working at creating a positive place for yourself, and I am so pumped for all this progress you continue to make.
    May your longing for new brain food ALWAYS outweigh that silly conscience. And boo dentists but yay sleep!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Never mind the belated birthday wishes, girl! I wasn’t exactly vocal about the date before.
      It’s so true positive thinking doesn’t come naturally. In fact, I had to develop and nurture it in myself, too, and am so thankful to be in this place mentally today.
      Books are always a worthwhile investment so I’ll make an effort to feel less guilty about spending money on them this year.

  4. Ellie says:

    Perspective really can make life much better or worse. Sometimes even saying out loud “I CHOOSE to be happy.” Is powerful. Other times, it doesn’t work, but at least I try right?
    I have been trying to read for pleasure more and it really puts me into a Zen state. I just finished Shonda Rhymes book “The Year Of Yes” and I highly recommend it.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Saying things out loud to strengthen the belief in them is something my dad tried to convince me to do way back, too, so I think you’re onto something there.
      I think I’ve heard of the book you mentioned before but will definitely look it up because the title sounds promising.

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Happy belated birthday, Miss Polkadot! You sure are lucky that you got to celebrate with homemade ice cream and P.! It’s exciting that P. is walking, and that he likes to say “cheese!” (or “Käse?”)
    I think that happiness is something that does often depend on perspective. I don’t think it’s just that–somethings the things that cause us to be unhappy are things that are really truly outside of our control. But at the same time, we still have a lot of agency to change the way we think about our lives.
    Work does sound a bit stressful right now. Hang in there. No worries about getting to the blog reading as much as usual–honestly, the book reading sounds really refreshing. ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Joyce! Getting to spend my birthday weekend with P. was wonderful.
      P.’s vocab doesn’t involve ‘Käse’ yet but my sister jokingly said he responded to that word more than his own name ;).
      I’m with you on happiness not always being just a change of perspective. While it works in many cases there are some that are simply too hard to wipe away with some positivity.

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    Happy happy birthday!! Isn’t it wonderful when you can spend some birthday time with family, even if it is for a short time. I skyped my parents on my birthday last year and although it was sad not to see them it still boosted those batteries!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Spending birthdays and other special occasions far away from family has to be hard. Aren’t you glad to live in today’s technologically well developed world where connection over huge distances is a breeze?

  7. SuzLyfe says:

    Happy Birthday! I think my husband once said that Happiness is when Reality meets Expectation (I’m sure he heard that somewhere, you know), but I thought that was so interesting and thought provoking. It also gives you so many opportunities–if you aren’t happy, you can change your reality, or change your expectation! Regardless, there are options.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks, Suz! And: just pretend that was your husband’s original thought because it’s genius. You sharing this here actually made me read up on the concept – it’s definitely thought-provoking.

  8. Kaylee says:

    Happy birthday! Sorry you had to go to the dentist during your birthday week but a low-key birthday sounds like my kind of celebration. I think some people make birthdays way to big a deal than they ought to be quite honestly.

    What books did you end up buying? I’m a big reader and would love any recommendations that you’ve got!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m happy to hear you agree birthdays don’t absolutely have to mean huge celebrations all the time.
      I’ll share more about the books once I finish them but the one I can already recommend higher than highly is “When breath becomes air”.

Leave a Reply

