How to live more intensely or: No week gets left behind

Ever since joining Meg’s Week in Review club I’ve found more significance in individual weeks. It probably sounds odd but prior to listing what I did throughout the previous cycle of seven days life felt like it was – major life events aside – passing by in a steady stream. Sure, some weeks were busier than others, some happier, others heavier. But I wouldn’t have been able to tell you the subtle changes. How did I feel about life two weeks ago?
This also helps me see what works and what doesn’t. In terms of productivity. In terms of sleep [improvement during the week]. In terms of work. It’s some sort of life analysis, laying open the success and the areas of further improvement. Some of the latter unfortunately are recurring themes that I have yet to make significant progress in which frustrates and in a way scares me because life is so fleeting and time the one thing we’ll never be able to get back once it’s passed. But I’m digressing too far for a Week in Review again so let’s stay in the moment for now and then look back at what happened in the past seven days in my life. Don’t forget to tell me about yours in the comments, too.

Thanks as always to Meg for encouraging us to truly see and reflect on every week in our lives. Even if a week – like the past one – holds no memories of major life changes recording our lives like this allows us [bloggers] to look back in time and see “oh hey, that’s when I did that” or “ah, that was fun”.  A little like a photo album minus the plethora of pictures in my case [blogger fail].

In the past week I …

Worked the usual five days, one of those subbing in for my colleague at the front desk again. It’s my new favourite spot – who knew I’d ever say this?? My male boss was still working from home this past week and I’m feeling slightly bad saying it made work that much better. Not that he’s a terrible person, it’s just his vs. her way of working and temperament. Both are nothing short of amazing at the work they do.

Started two new book and picked up an older one I’ve never been able to get into before. After finishing my previous one – it really was the best I ever read and aspects of it have been on my mind every day since – I find it hard to get into new literature. One of the two I started – unfortunately my mum’s birthday gift for me – will likely stay unfinished. As a novel it’s just too light for me despite its in fact serious background topic [life after leucemia]. I’m very happy with Gretchen Rubin’s “Better than before”, though.

Books I

Chatted with the cheese guy. Okay that sounds weird so let me elaborate. There’s this one younger cashier at one of our local grocery stores. Maybe it’s just my impression but I find him to be a little sassy/snobbish and feel somewhat self-conscious when he’s sitting at the checkouts. The other day, my mum asked me to pick up some cheese while I was running errands at said store in anyway and this guy was operating it. For some reason, I decided to make some friendly small talk to eliminate a bit of that previous awkwardness. We’ll see how this works. Either way, I’m the queen of chatting up random people as you might remember. Really, though, who knows whom you might connect with that way?!

Finally took a trip to the glass containers and got rid off empty jars. There were a -lot- of those. I’m surprising myself with how long I can postpone something that takes all of three minutes [plus driving there] for so long every. single. time. Okay, maybe because it’s gross.

Ran a special ‘errand’ for my dad on Saturday at a time inconvenient for me.  Sweetheart that he is he wanted to welcome my mum back from her short weekend getaway with flowers so I rushed into town and the florist’s shop last minute [read: five minutes before their official closing time at 2 PM]. Initially, my dad asked me to pick up a bouquet for myself as a gift, too, but I couldn’t decide [typical] and also wasn’t entirely sure I still had enough money in my purse. It happens.

Flowers

[Not the bouquet I got for my mum but flowers I had in my apartment some time ago]

Finally created a new recipe for the blog. It’s actually a rendition of a old favourite I’d been meaning to try for ages and I’m happy it worked so well. Unfortunately, the pictures I tried to take didn’t turn out so I’ll have to postpone sharing it once again. I know I owe you several recipes already but I’m incredibly frustrated with the lighting situation here [= I need to get myself a light box. Soon  Better yet sooner than soon..]

Prepared a batch of said treats for my mum to bring along on her weekend trip as a birthday gift for my aunt. She’s a Valentine’s Day baby so a little sweet favour seemed appropriate.

Meal prepped while watching/white noise-streaming the first episode of this year’s “Germany’s Next Topmodel”.  I wouldn’t be able to stand it if I was actually watching but it’s a nice enough white noise. I’m not into any kind of celebrity gossip ish so maybe that’s my one guilty pleasure? We all have some, no?

Prepared another batch of my new recipe creation – late on Saturday night while I  simultaneously  …

Proofread the new version of this restaurant’s menu. If you’ve been around for a while you might remember I translated their menu about a year ago  [I think?]. They’ve now made changes to the menu and asked me to proofread the German version and translate it again. Proofreading makes me happy and that fact makes me a grammar nerd but it’s a label I’m fine wearing.

Hoovered and swept the floors in my apartment. Cleaned the sinks. The usual weekly clean-up.

Baked another batch of granola for one of my colleagues.

Walk_sun

Listened to several podcasts. I’m only now getting into English ones. Previously, I’d listened to German ones here and there but noticing how big of a trend they are in the US I’ve been curious about those, too. There are huge differences in between the nationalities so I’m getting both a lesson in listening comprehension and culture. Fascinating.

Overall, it’s been a good week minus letting myself stay up too late on Friday night which messed up my whole weekend/internal clock. It’s a recurring pitfall of my night owl-ish ways I need to work on so now that I say it you get to keep me accountable ;).

While no recipe there will be at least one more post coming your way this week. Sunday’s time for good good links again and I might squeeze in some thinking out loud, too.

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  A short walk in the sunshine. It’s cold outside but a little bit of sun always brightens my days.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

What are some of your favourite podcasts?

Tell me about your past week! Highs? Lows?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

21 thoughts on “How to live more intensely or: No week gets left behind

  1. Ellie says:

    I can’t wait for your new recipe. I made the millionaire’s shortbread last week and they were delicious! How thoughtful of your dad to get both his ladies flowers (even if he sent you to get them). I wonder if my dad did that for my mom more often their relationship would be better.
    My favorite podcasts are running related ones, but I bet you’d like the Rich Roll podcast, The Nourished Podcast or The Happier Hour.
    Also, any podcast for NPR is great!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oooh! Thank you for trying my Millionaire’s shortbread, Ellie. I’m happy you liked it as much as we do.
      Hm, it’s difficult to say what is needed to sustain or repair a relationship. My dad isn’t exactly buying flowers or bringing home gifts for my mum regularly – which I think is perfectly fine – , either.
      I didn’t get a chance yet but will look into your podcast recommendations soon!

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    I like that you talked to the cheese boy. Maybe he’s snobbish because he likes you….?? 🙂 🙂
    Also glad to hear you are still enjoying the different position at your job. I wonder if you could ever transfer over in the future?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, I don’t think – and certainly hope – he’s not into me. Not my kind of guy.
      Ah, I wish changing positions was an option. It’s not, though, as we’re just winging things through a shortage of staff right now. I hope I’ll get to sub in more often, though.

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I can relate to this post on so many levels:

    1) You know I adore the fresh flowers. I may have to pick myself up some soon.
    2) I’m really appreciating the WIR as a sort of online baby book for Ave. I’ve got snapshots of pretty much every week in her life now. That’s crazy and cool.
    3) Make friends with the cheese man. He’s a good one to know. 🙂
    4) I need to share recipes too….although in my case I need to find time to cook them and then photograph them…oh and then write about them. At this rate, I’ll be sharing one a month. Ha!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Given it’s been quite a few days I hope you picked up flowers for yourself in the meantime. They brighten those gray days.
      I like your weeks in review as a chance to see Ave grow, too. Combined with your notes she’ll get to read through her own accomplishments and growth steps later.
      One recipe a month is plenty. I’m probably averaging around that rate, too, and I’m not keeping a little human alive and happy on the side …

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I love that you love proofreading. Me too. 🙂 It’s so cool that you got to help work on the translation of a restaurant menu!
    I love how your Week in Reviews so often focus on those little life joys. I think it says so much of you how you notice and appreciate so many small, beautiful things.
    I totally hear you on how men can have a different working style than women. I’ve definitely had some great colleagues and professors who I had a lot of respect for but just didn’t quite click with in my working style, partly, I think, because of gender.
    Enjoy getting to read. ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Proofreading is one of my favourite things to do. It’s a riddle to most other people but I’m happy you and I share this trait.
      I think the full magic and beauty of life is only visible to us when we can see the little things, too. It took me some learning, too, but life is much fuller now if that makes sense.

  5. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    When I type up Week in Review posts, it’s always a liberating feeling to reflect on another week in the books. Even if it was a particularly tough week, looking back and saying “I got through it” always puts a smile on my face. What’s the premise of Better Than Before? I’m always looking for a good book. Proofreading makes my heart happy too 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! Even if all we managed was somehow scramble through the week alive that still counts.
      Better than before is about – for lack of a more elaborate description that wouldn’t have me going on for ages – becoming better versions of ourselves. It’s like a manual to understanding our character and its traits which then allows us to see how we can create new habits that actually work for us. It’s fascinating.

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    I love looking back on these posts too – it shows me just how far I have come!
    I really enjoyed Better Than Before too – Gretchen Rubin also does a really good podcast with her sister called The Happiness Project. I’m sure you would enjoy it. I always wonder if my Scottish accent makes it difficult for my non English speaking listeners to understand – hearing my voice back makes me stunned on how much of an accent is there!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s funny you mentioned the book on your blog just a day later, too. Goes to show I’m not the only one who finds its content very insight- and helpful for everyone. I really need to get back to listening to the Happiness Project podcast again. I randomly did so before but never regularly.

  7. SuzLyfe says:

    I get self conscious if I do a week in review post–they make me feel like I’m not doing enough and make me feel self critical! On the other hand, the weekend recap posts make me feel like I do way more than I do. It doesn’t make sense!

    • Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

      I have to jump in here since I’m nosy and opinionated like that. 🙂

      The whole purpose of the WIR posts is to celebrate how much you accomplish in any given week because so often we focus on the undone items on our to do lists without giving credit to all the things we did achieve. I bet you walk that dog of yours every day and eat and work and shower and blog and juggle IVF treatments and train clients and well you get the idea….

      Seriously some days all I accomplish is keeping myself and my baby alive and that’s pretty damn awesome when you step back and look at the big picture. I know you’re still kicking it and that cute little pup of yours too. Being responsible for someone else whether a human or a pet is no joke.

      I would love to see you pen a WIR post with the sole purpose of celebrating all the stuff you did do versus trying to compete with your own to do list. Why not give it a whirl and see.

      Blows kiss.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, this makes a lot of sense. I feel you on this and it’s taking effort to convince myself I did enough every week. If I was to review just my weekend it would seem lackluster compared to yours. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I fully agree with Meg’s comment below. You do a lot more than you give yourself credit for <3.

Leave a Reply

