Selfish acts of kindness

Oh hi, final Monday of February!
Truth be told: Up until shortly ago I was sure about skipping the Week in Review. After a busy week, the weekend with more leisure time led me into some kind of overthinking funk once more. My original intro for this post elaborated on the ruminations of my mind yet I opted against sharing them for the sake of a more positive start into the week.
Here’s the whereabouts of the slightly odd title. In previous Weeks in Review, I’ve frequently mentioned the little favours I’m doing for others. The inclusion of these things wasn’t an attempt to make myself look like the most selfless or sweetest person on earth or fish or compliments [ick]. Seriously? I can be snappier than a snap pea when I’m moody, tired, hangry. In fact, I’m pretty selfish in my acts of kindness. Why? Because I engage in them even more when I’m not feeling the best myself. Doing favours for others is my way to combat unwelcome thoughts and emotions in my life. So the ‘accomplishment in them is – if there’s any; they’re rather little happiness inducers – getting myself out of moodiness.  Two examples in this past week were the ice cream pick-up for my colleagues and calling my aunt. My mind was spinning in these situations and I needed to get out of it. Helping others or doing little things to brighten their days is a way of charging my own happiness batteries. See: selfish. Or maybe a win-win situation? Either way, it’s benefitting me as much as the person I offer help.
Onto the Week in Review with Meg!

Week in Review

 

In the past seven days I …
Worked the usual five times with Monday through Wednesday being downright insanity. We were shorter than short on staff with one of my colleagues sick and the other on holiday. As I mentioned this meant I was working at the front desk with one of my colleagues. Since she had to simultaneously oversee another area of the business there were moments of just me at the reception, two phones ringing and three clients asking for help. It was nuts but nevertheless I enjoyed it far more than my usual job. Stress is strenuous in the moment of but seriously rewarding afterwards. I truly hope I’ll be able to help out at the front desk in the future again.
Published merely one post. Bummer. This week will be better in that you’ll at least get more good good links on Sunday. If time allows I’m hoping to really get up another post prior to that one, though. I miss blogging more regularly and have multiple drafts yet can’t seem to finish them to my satisfaction.
Called my paternal grandma. It had been a while and she actually tried to put me off right away as she’s not feeling well lately. Yet I decided to just chat a little more – did I mention I’m a smidgen stubborn? –  and while it didn’t turn into a really long conversation she was up for it more than initially stated. My grandma is about to turn 90 and since she’s living too far away for  regular visits I at least wanted to exchange a few more sentences. Life is short.
Called my paternal aunt. She in a rough time in life and knowing how much I appreciate a good conversation in those moments I figured I’d call her. Though nothing can really take away her pain right now at the end of the conversation she sounded happier.

Some people work in the important area of cross-cultural communication. As a German blogger settled into the English-speaking blogging community I'm probably dabbling in that field a little, too. But let's be honest: I'm much better at cross-diet communication 😉. Like with these grain-free, vegan and paleo chocolate tartlets. [yes, the recipe is coming to the blog soon] Prior to blogging I didn't know about all the different diets out there. Now that I do I have fun trying to work out recipes suitable for multiple at once. Though I obviously follow a certain lifestyle myself and at that have preferences blogging and noticing the similarities of on first glance opposing diets has made me more open-minded. At the end of the day, the way we eat doesn't change our character. And if we meet and can share good food suitable for our different diets – what's not to like?! Which diet – if any specific one – do you follow and is there any particular reason why you chose it? . . . #vegan #thefeedfeedvegan #grainfree #glutenfree #daswortzumsonntag #paleotreat #chocolateplease #glutinchensatt #vegandeutschland #veganwerdenwaslosdigga #bgbcommunity #schokocontent #sonntagssüß

A post shared by @chocolatea_me on

Baked a new treat for the blog. Yes, I’m aware I owe you many recipes by now. Once I can figure out the lighting situation and decide on a light box I will get those proper pictures and share them. Actually, I did take a few more picturesof these little tartlets that might not be the worst so we’ll see …
Did some laundry for my parents while they were on a three-day holiday plus a load of my own laundry. This involved lots of frustration about the [insert swearword] washing machine fussing around.
Prepared a new batch of healthy Nutella and managed to not burn my finger this time around. Big deal ;).
Prepared another batch of peanut butter the following day. See, I’m slowly working on overcoming the dread of cleaning the Vitamix afterwards.
Got ice cream for my colleagues on Friday. It was a strenuous day for the two of them yet lighter on the paperwork for me – see above mention of being short on staff – so when I was mostly finished with my duties I walked to the ice cream parlor. Just in case you’re wondering: no ice cream for me because I wasn’t in the mood and – like my boss – found the temperature too cold for a frozen treat. Mostly savoury cravings, though.
Ice cream
 [Recycled picure because I obviously didn’t have my camera on hand at work.]
Cleaned the apartment including a thorough mopping of the floors. Not my favourite part of adulting.
Went on daily walks. I need all the fresh air I can get despite the weather not being the best.Umbrellas and scarves were invented for a reason after all.
Meal-prepped while listening to yet more podcasts. I’m really getting into these and givingnew ones a try every week.
Being a little late in writing my review this week the clock is telling me I should end things here to avoid an overly late bed time. So I’ll leave it at that for now and wish you a …

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  My morning reading time. I picked up a book I’d set aside not enjoying it much previously and it’s better than I initially thought.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

16 thoughts on “Selfish acts of kindness

  1. SuzLyfe says:

    I like that… selfish acts of kindness. I”m going to chalk it up there with Beneficial Strategic Selfishness aka self care. Sometimes, we need to do a little something for ourselves… in order to be kind to others. But that doesn’t mean that we can’t do it under the guise of kindness and kill a whole flock of birds with one stone.
    I am someone who is empowered by empowering others, so I know EXACTLY what you mean! Have a great week!

  2. themomgene says:

    “Happiness-inducing today: My morning readng time. I picked up a book I’d set aside not enjoying it much previously and it’s better than I initially thought.” I love it when that happens!!! I did the same thing last week and got sucked in to one. Sadly, I have to return it to the library. I may just suck it up and pay the fine so I can finish it. That can be my selfish act of kindness to myself!

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I would definitely call those selfish acts of kindness a win-win. Hell, we need more people preforming those, especially in the states right now.

    I’m glad you were able to work the receptionist desk again. I know it’s a happy challenge for you these days. Also catching up with family is always a good thing!!

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    Pshhh selfish… If these acts of kindness are “selfish” then I don’t want to be unselfish! Seriously though, if it benefits others then it SHOULD also benefit us. The two go together and like Suz said, we need to treat ourselves in order to feel empowered. To help others. I would have hopped on that ice cream train. I’ve had quite the craving lately.
    Congrats on not burning your finger and getting more recipes under you. Once you discover the ways of a light box, please let me know.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Maybe I should have said “not entirely altruistic” but that wouldn’t have had the same ring to it ;).
      Oh, you would like the ice cream from our local parlour. It’s popular not just among locals but people from all around the country. As well as French exchange students.
      I’m no further on the light box issue yet. Debating to just buy one rather than make my own, though.

  5. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I don’t think that’s selfish at all, girl! Feeling great as a result of being kind is just a good consequence. I often think perhaps God made us that way so we’re encouraged to be more kind, more often – otherwise no one would be kind.

    I can. not. wait. for that tartlet recipe ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Selfish wasn’t entirely the best expression and I know I wasn’t yet also not as altruistic as some people might be thinking. I like what you said about God and would highly speculate this was his intention in making good deeds feel rewarding.

  6. Sarah says:

    This sounds like a great week, no selfishness involved 🙂
    What podcasts are you cooking with these days, I’m always on the lookout for more shows to listen to?!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sorry for the late reply. So far I’m a fan of Davida’s podcast [That’s so Maven], The Balanced Blonde’s and a few random episodes of others. I don’t listen to podcasts every day hence why I don’t know a lot yet. Which ones do you like?

  7. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I’m totally with you–I like to get outside even if the weather isn’t great. I feel so much better than if I mope around the house!
    I’m not sure “selfish” is what I’d use to describe what you’re talking about. Maybe “mindful”–in the sense that you’re aware of you’re own needs, and meeting them in a healthy way. As opposed to being aware of your needs and meeting them in a way that’s hard on others. We all have needs–physical, mental, spiritual, emotional.
    Love your nut butter love. Glad it was a burn-free process this time. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Getting at least some fresh air and movement outside of the house in is a daily must for me and cabin fever a real thing.
      It’s interesting to read everybody’s explanations on my “un-selfish selfishness” that all find better ways to describe what might motivate us.

  8. chasetheredgrape says:

    Well if that’s what you call selfish then maybe we all need to be a little bit more selfish! 😉
    I once heard a tip about cleaning a vitamix. Once you are done, squirt some soap in and some hot water and blitz. Then pour it out and voila! An almost clean if not perfectly clean vitamix!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Feel free to shake your head but that’s the way I’ve already been using to clean my Vitamix but it still hardly ever helps to sufficiently de-grease it. Frustrating and sometimes keeping me from using the blender altogether.

Leave a Reply

