Family time and facing yeast fears

Be thankful for what you have, don’t yearn for what you don’t. 
Something that I’d like to think I’m quite good at. If I give into those thoughts lingering in my mind or have a particularly bad day – rather week – I can think of a many things I don’t have. Most of the time, though, I’m aware of how blessed I am. Hearing about the harsh contrast in the life of somebody else once again both made me wish I could do more good than just small favours for others. And realize [once again] be even more thankful for all I have. Not necessarily focusing on materialistic things here.
Anyway, this very mindset seems absent whenever I reflect on past weeks. Rather than seeing the wonderful opportunity to spend time with my family I see a lot of unchecked items on my to-do list. It’s something I wish was different because it keeps me from truly enjoying the days with them when I constantly worry about my unfinished to-do lists.  Sunday afternoons/nights don’t do my mind any good and I’d be better of not writing these kind of posts at that time lest I scare all of you away.
How about we just jump right into another Week in Review with Meg and Miss Ave? Sounds good?! I thought so.

 

Week in Review

 

Some of what happened in the past seven days: I. ..

Worked. Technically the same as usual but it was an unusually good week. No ropportunity to work in my favourite position this time around, yet acknowledgement from my [male] boss  [the harder to please one] and simply a good flow and conversations with colleagues. This makes such a difference even in less than exciting jobs.

Published two post: a Week in Review revealing the “selfish” side of my random acts of kindness and more good good links.
Took a spontaneous rest from my workout. I haven’t talked about this before – other than mentioning it on a side note – but exercise is a tricky issue for me. While I’m not doing any crazy strenuous or long workouts balance and taking a break out of schedule don’t come easily for me.
Spent time with my family [sister, maternal grandparents, my brother and his girlfriend], including little P. who’s not qute as little anymore. It’s both marvelous and sad how fat he has grown from baby to toddler in seemingly no time. Seeing him walk around in his own when it feels like just yesterday that he crawled through the house makes me want to slow time down …
nephew_toddler in nature
Bought not one but two new books. Those of you who have been around for a while know this is a major accomplishment for me. Spending on myself – food and daily necessities such as toiletries not included – is hard.
Helped a colleague out. She’s been suffering from constant stomach problems for years and finally gotten further tests done lately. Being a blogger and hence – a real advance as I’ve come to find – familiar with more potential causes/illnesses thanthe average German I printed out some information for her [assuming it might be IBS from the symptoms she described] and after her diagnosis – celiac’s disease – showing her some blogs and Instagram accounts. This might sound odd to most of you but these diseases as well as information on how to deal with them or what to eat are mostly unknown around here so she was genuinely lost on how to cook from now on.
Burnt one of my hands when pouring hot water into my thermos from the electric kettle. If you’re having a deja-vue deja-thought moment: true. Yes, I do seem to have a slight, albeit not worrisome, tendency to accidentally hurt myself in the kitchen. This accident was particularly unfortunate as I’m left-handed and guess which hand happened to be involved? Cooling salve and a tight bandage put a damper on my productivity for the next few hours. [The hand is now fine again.]
Dared to work with yeast for the first time. Granted, I have memories of baking a yeast-based cake years ago but that doesn’t really count. Anyway, yeast was still one of the ingredients intimidating me and I had my mind set on conquering it this past week. Thanks to abovementioned incident the making of turned into a family business with my mum, grandma and self-proclaimed yeast expert sister chiming in on the dough prep. As well as my sister graciously offering to do the final kneeding by hand and rolling out the dough. Because there was no hygienic or practical way of doing it for me. Long story short project healthy Almond Striezel [a certain type of strudel] was a huge success. You know it is when all three of your ‘yeast experts’, some of them skeptical of healthy baked goods, give you a thumbs up.
Mandelstriezel_healthy almond Striezel
 Now that leaves me wondering if I should remake and share the recipe on the blog or not. On one hand, I really want to because it passed the taste test of all family members, is suitable even for toddlers because – final point – the whole Striezel contains a mere 3 1/4 or so tablespoons of coconut sugar yet is sweet enough. Woop!
Honest opinion please! Does anybody still bake with yeast these days?
As usual when finishing these posts it’s getting late again so I’ll bid you goodbye for now and wish you a …

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today: The time with P. and the remainder of the family, obviously.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

22 thoughts on “Family time and facing yeast fears

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    You’re left handed?! Me too! No wonder you’re so awesome 😉

    I am also very accident prone in the kitchen… and life in general. I burnt my left forearm on the oven the over night as I lifted my arm too high when getting a dish out and yeah, no good!

    I Bake with yeast… sometimes… because it’s so temperamental and it either works really really well or it’s an absolute fail!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ah, I didn’t know you were left-handed. Now that’s why -you- are so fabulous :).
      Ouch! Like the saying goes: most accidents happen in the kitchen. I hope you got through this week unscathed, though!

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I want that recipe. Maybe it can be Ave’s one year old cake. I certainly don’t want to overwhelm her with something super sweet.

    I’m so glad you got to spend some good time with the family, even if the to do lists were on your mind. The more you do it, the more you’ll learn to let it go. It is amazing how fast the tiny humans grow at this age. Ave is pulling herself up on everything she can reach now AND climbing stairs (with me safely behind her ready to catch her if and when she falls back).

    Great job on the rest period. I know it’s difficult for you and I’m proud you did it.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ave walking has to be such an amazing milestone for you as a mum. Go her!
      Even if the pictures I take of the Striezel tomorrow – it looks a little mishaped – don’t turn out I’ll mail you the recipe in advance. It’s crazy Ave’s first birthday is coming up. Fingers crossed she’ll have a better celebration than poor sick P.

  3. Emily Swanson says:

    It looks like your yeast creation was SUCCESSFUL! And girl, I know exactly what you mean about rest; it’s so good and therapeutic for our bodies, and God made us to need that rest. So cherish that rest and don’t feel guilty about it!

    And I love how you said to be grateful for what you do have and don’t be discontent about what you don’t have. I’ve got to remember that today.

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    Whoooa that Striezel looks crazy! I’ve never heard of baking desserts of that kind with yeast!? I just wish I could come and try and these totally different German baking delights that you make… they are so different from all the normalcies around here.
    Your friend (with Celiac) is so lucky to have you. Its interesting to hear you say that this kind of diet knowledge is not well known over there. You are a token gem to so many!
    I think we should all take a week to completely cast away to do lists. And just hang out with family.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, you would like German baking! Sweet yeast baked goods are a big thing here.
      The idea of to-do list-free and family time filled weeks is awesome. I guess we’d only stumble on the issue of those annoying necessary life to-dos that we can’t take a break from. Or that’s just me overthinking again…

  5. anaesrout01 says:

    Congratulations on facing your yeast fear! I’m glad your almond striezel (sp?) turned out well. I’m also glad that you’ve been hanging out with your family more; for me, all I want to do after work is go home, chuck on some comfy clothes, and hermit for the rest of the day.

    Anyhow, I always love reading your blog posts. I hope the rest of your week goes swimmingly. 😊

      • anaesrout01 says:

        My week did go pretty well. I just got back from my sister’s baby shower (we painted and had homemade snacks). Now, I have a pretty open week. Time to paint my nails, again! 😊

  6. SuzLyfe says:

    An idea, if you are hesitant about spending on yourself but love to read: Kindle unlimited, or there are several apps that allow you to get/use a library card to read ebooks. I’m doing both, and reading voraciously as a result!

  7. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Heck yeah I bake with yeast. Not that often. It is tricky. But I would love to see the recipe.
    Sounds like there were some good things this week. So glad you got some recognition from your boss and also took a short break to rest your body from working out.
    That’s so awesome that you were able to help your friend with celiac. It’s hard to imagine being diagnosed with celiac if you hadn’t heard of it or weren’t that familiar with following a gluten-free diet. Wow. Awesome that she had you as a resource. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Tricky indeed. I’m usually all for simple recipes so anything with yeast is a huge step outside my comfort zone. I’ll post the recipe sometime soon but am afraid I can’t offer a tested gluten-free version.
      It’s really odd that knowledge of celiac’s and the variety of suitable products both are so far behind the state in the US.

  8. Ellie says:

    I bought yeast because I wanted to make donuts, but I haven’t had the chance to do them at work yet. It’s been so busy, that would just take up space. Next week is Spring Break for the students so we will be slower. I might have to try it then! Have a great week 🙂

  9. Kaylee says:

    uhhh, YES YES YES you should post the recipe! I would love to try my own at some striezel (I hope I am not messing up that pronunciation though!) I think there’s something really rewarding about baking with yeast so I wish I did it more often.
    Hope your good vibes carried over into the week!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t worry about the pronunciation, girl. German is so hard to learn. We have some odd words :D. It’s true that – while a bit frustrating at times – baking with yeast does feel more rewarding than a batch of quick cookies .

Leave a Reply

