Mental vs. physical rest

 Alternative title: Dear brain, you’re way too much of a chatterbug. Take a break!
To-do list: Love them, hate them? Does anybody agree that, as beneficial as they are, these [endless] lists have their downsides, too? Checking items off is as satisfying as seeing time running away is anxiety-inducing.  Whenever I stumble across articles stressing the need to make time for self-care and slow down I feel they’re not applicable for me but people juggling many different responsibilites aside from just working and household duties.

What I’ve started to wonder, though, is if there might be a difference between mental and physical rest. Because even in the moments when I sit down – like now – I often don’t feel relaxed, instead finding my mind racing and worrying about all the to-dos I’ve yet to check off. It’s getting to a point where I procrastinate because I don’t know what to do first, time ticking along and me not even enjoying what I’m procrastinating with. This isn’t me asking for pity. Just the thoughts on my brain right now as I’m wrapping up the old week, gearing up for the one ahead. Maybe one of you can relate, maybe it’s just my weird, weird complicated brain. Moving on …

Let’s take a look at what I did do in the past week of life as inspired by Meg. Overthinking brains be quieted.

[I didn’t take any pictures  so will be reusing old ones #sorry]

Week in review

In the past seven days I …

Worked on the same schedule as usual. Things have been very busy lately which is good because I have a steady stream of work coming in and bad because it means staying longer and getting home later. Mostly good, though.

Posted just once. This is frustrating as I did in fact have a post pretty much finished and ready to go live by Tuesday but then things got awry and my mind was elsewhere. I know vague-blogging isn’t cool but I figure all of us have topics they’re not talking about online. Just a heads-up on my continued absence from blogging and commenting. I never made the conscious decision to step back from more regular posting yet it is what happened over the past  [many] months and I’m going to make an effort to change it. Here’s to better weeks ahead! You’ll at least get a new round-up of good good links on Sunday and maybe another post. Knock on wood!

Dropped my mum off at a station a 45-minute drive away right after work on Friday and managed the way back without one of the four radar cameras snapping an unfortunate picture of me. Possibly driving the people in cars behind me a little nuts when I slowed down way before the actual cameras a few times, though. Yes, I’m that annoying overly cautious driver.
Had afternoon tea/coffeewith my parents who invited me over to join them upon returning from a weekend getaway. We had a great conversation that ended on a not so amazing note thanks to [my] parents’ ability to pick up on things that you’d rather not chat about. It still was really nice to sit together.

Said no to a time intense request that just was none of my business. I felt bad afterwards but it didn’t seem to really bother the person asking.
Baked another nut Striezel, this time braving the scary yeast myself. It fortunately worked out quite well, especially the kneeding being more fun than I’d assumed. Unfortunately, it didn’t look as good as the previous one so I’m still debating on whether I like the pictures or not. Blogger confession: Taking pictures is my least favourite part of recipe creating. Why do some delicious foods look so … wrong in pictures?
Did further ‘gluten-free in Germany’ research aka product spotting for my colleague. This was as she told me a) how expensive her first gluten-free grocery run had been [I knew there were cheaper options, only had to check back] and b) that she hated grocery shopping. I wouldn’t have liked her to miss out on foods she used to eat as well as pay much more than necessary so I paid more attention to the gluten-free selection at stores whenever I was running errands.Turns out it was just this week Aldi released a few gluten-free cookie options. Helping my colleague out is just another act of selfish unselfishness: finally getting to use the gluten-free living knowledge aquired through blog reading that I formerly had no use for. Win-win.
Looked up and translated a few mug cake recipes for another colleague after she mentioned she liked cake but never got to bake any since her apartment is oven-less. Mug cakes – popular in the blog world but another thing not widely known over here. Searching for suitable recipes wasn’t a big deal aside from the fact I had to ensure no ‘weird’ ingredients were required. Because coconut flour and various nut butters or alternative sweeters don’t happen to have their place in non-blogger households – who would have guessed ;)? Really, though, us health nuts do have to admit that we use a lot of ‘unusual’ foods.
As is the case every week it’s once again getting late as I’m finishing this post here and wishing you a
Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  My morning reading time. Tea time with my parents and a walk outside.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
What was the last amazing book you read and couldn’t put down?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

16 thoughts on “Mental vs. physical rest

  1. Emily Swanson says:

    I know exactly what you mean about not sharing everything on the blog. It’s definitely A-Ok not to share everything. You should only share what you’re comfortable with sharing.

    And your baked goodies always sound so good…

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I can relate to your brain spinning and spinning even when you’re trying to take a mental rest. Have you tried meditation at all? Maybe you should make a self care list this week and try to check those things off, like read from your book every night, watch a TV show, buy fresh flowers, etc….It could help.

    I think it’s sweet you’re trying to help out your colleague with her new gluten free diet. And yes healthy blogs definitely use some strange ingredients. I actually try to stay away from that myself because it limits who makes your food and I really don’t have any of those ingredients. Ha.

    Happy Monday and here’s to a good week.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Meditation, hm? Well, I used to take yoga classes a while back and we did some kind of meditation at the end of every class. Honestly? It was my least favourite part, enraging me more than it helped me settle down. I guess I’m not cut out for either yoga or meditation …
      That’s what I like about you and your blog. No maca-matcha-collagen-protein powder woo woo but real life, real food.

  3. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Lol on the whole food bloggers having ingredients in their houses that most people don’t think. One time I was at my mom’s house and I was like, “Do you have a kitchen scale?” My mom was like, “Why the heck would I have a kitchen scale.” You know, for accurate measurements for baking…but that is not a thing in my folks’ world. Cocoa powder is about as exotic as my parents’ kitchen goes.
    I totally get what you’re saying about taking a physical break from a busy day and not having as much of a mental break. I actually think of exercise as one of the best mental breaks. When my brain powder is going into exerting my body, the anxious thoughts *usually* quiet down. If I need to quiet the body and the mind, TV is my go-to. Star Trek ftw!
    Congrats on continued luck with the yeast!
    I definitely have things I don’t talk about on my blog. No shame in that.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, my mum would like your parents. She does own a kitchen scale because that’s simply how we measure over here but no other overly fancy gadgets or ingredients.
      Agreed on exercising. It’s really about the only thing that calms my chatterbug of a brain down for at least some time.

  4. mylittletablespoon says:

    Yep I hear you exactly. Lately I’ve been in this all over constant Flux of heightened anxiety, so even my moments of “relaxation” have felt like my mind was on a rat wheel race. It’s frustrating when you just can’t get yourself to slow down, despite your awareness or your attempts. I find being around others – like getting coffee with your parents – to be the only thing that really helps (even if only for short term). I’d say keep focusing on your colleagues and helping your friends find those recipes. They are soooo lucky to have you AND I think it’s a good place to put your energy and desire to be productive. And then sit down with a book ❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sorry your mind has been bugging you lately, too. We share a few unfortunate issues, hm?
      You’re right about being with others serving as a break from the endless mind rumblings. I think it might be the signal of “hey, others are sitting down for a bit and just relaxing, too. This is okay!”
      I’m lucky to have my colleagues, too. They’re a fun, aattentive and kind bunch of people.

  5. Ellie says:

    I just read a book called “Bad Feminist” by Roxanne Gay and I highly recommend it. It is a collection of essays written by her commenting on popular culture and women’s rights. It’s witty and really makes you think.
    Here’s to a better [warmer] week!

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    For me, I have started to write priority lists rather than to do lists and no more than 3 things can be on this list at any one time. These are my must dos and simply what I focus on. They change daily so, for example, my priority today could be to write, take a nap and to leave enough time to enjoy prepping dinner. These are the 3 things I base my day around. Others can wait, if they were important they would be a priority. It has definitely allowed me to relax and focus more!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Priority lists are a great idea. I just think they unfortunately wouldn’t work for me as an indecisive and not too organized person. I wouldn’t be able to keep the lists short enough to still feel/be manageable. I’m super happy they’re working wonderful for you, though. Being more relaxed is a great outcome!

  7. SuzLyfe says:

    Imagine how boring our lives and diets would be if we weren’t health nuts. Makes you feel sad for the standards out there ;D
    I really like my planner–at the top of each day there is a “today’s to do” with 3 spaces. Just 3. Focus on that. I will admit that I rarely use them, but I loved the idea, and that is why I picked that one.

  8. katalysthealth says:

    I love that you’ve been helping your friends and colleagues. I know that mug cakes are super popular in the blog world but I have yet to really become obsessed with them. Which is weird considering how much I love cake! Its probably BECAUSE of my love for cake that I dont make them – there is no such thing as “cake” without frosting in my book! 😉

Leave a Reply

