Good week with a side of introvert’s dilemma

Looking at this intro as well as my past ones the title ‘week in review’ here is definitely misleading. What is showing in these first paragraphs isn’t a review of the past week but a reflection of the weekend. Sunday thoughts – that’s what they are. And oh do these differ from what my mind would churn out on a Thursday or Friday. I’m aware and sorry that I might often appear negative and discontent with the current state of my life in these intros. If you met me on the street I wouldn’t be all gloom and doom. Life and my situation aren’t terrible. The weekends usually throw me way off with their unpredictability. Every. single. time.

As an example the past week held many of those wonderful little moments in it. The ones that bring a smile to your face, recharge both your happiness batteries and overall energy that might usually feel a bit low after a work day. It was a good week. And then came the weekend. Which I want to stress wasn’t bad, either. It’s hard even for myself to fully grasp why it affected me the way it did but I’ll try to explain it here and explore my feelings further for myself.

So we hosted several of my sister’s friends, all of which were staying in my apartment. This isn’t to say I hated hosting people. Like I said I can’t even completely understand my anxiety here but it was the case and is still mulling in my mind. As you will probably know by now I’m an introvert and need the weekends, particularly nights as me time. Sharing my apartment, my little refuge from Friday to Sunday with four people I hardly knew – if at all – was too much. That’s really the only way I can describe it without going into nitty gritty details of the whole situation. For the most part this is – yes, cliché saying – about me, not the others. There was more than one incident of feeling like an intruder in my own four walls. Which just wasn’t  … good. Usually, my weekends leave me looking forward to being surrounded by people at work again but right now I just want to get a day all to myself, nature and books.

[Luckily, I talked about this with a friend who – without me saying a word about my feelings towards hosting strangers for the weekend – expressed a strong dislike to hosting in general. So maybe I’m not the only one here after all …]

Excuse the rambles. I just felt like getting this off my chest. Now onto the good that happened in the past week through a Week in Review with our sweet hosts Meg and Ave.

Week in review

Some of the previous week’s happenings. I …

Worked. Nothing new here. Or, wait: Maybe the fact I got along extremely well with my [male; never a big deal with the female] boss. Probably irrelevant to you yet – blogging for myself – I like to keep track of these happy little things as they significantly change how I feel. Also had a few good conversations with my colleagues.

Got ice cream for the team again on what must have been the sunniest day this year so far. No ice cream for me again because the salty cravings still reign supreme. Sometimes I feel I should get some just to prove I can but then I see my boss – definitely no ED in sight – skip it, too, and am fine following my intuition and cravings. I wouldn’t say no if we were talking Erdnussflips ;). [These made multiple snack appearances at home, though]

Randomly struck conversations with cashiers. No cheese guys this week ;). Just like with the people close to us it’s wonderful – and happiness-inducing – to learn a little more about the others around us. How else would I have found out about the big and amazing goals of the local health food store’s employee than through a mere little comment on packaging? Try it yourself with the people in your life!

Vacuumed and mopped the floors on Thursday night already rather than the usual weekend cleaning. Typing this part of the post on Saturday night, though, I can already tell a repeat might very well be necessary [edit: it was and is yet again].

Posted to the blog twice. The week in review as well as more good good links. Definitely check them out if you didn’t get a chance yet. Especially the first category and the blogging articles really hit the spot on their respective topics. Also the one by Kylie/Imma Eat That which ironically served as a good reminder for myself just yesterday.

Spent some time with the cutest little toddler in the world. Totally biased and I know it ;). The most precious moment was when I went to look for him waking up from his afternoon nap. Still a bit sleep-drunken he was very cuddly and babbled on and on. Way. too. cute. Sorry for the aunt rambles but I’ve really fallen for him´

Bought enough breathing masks to supply a small village – I may or may not be exaggerating slightly but the cashier did look surprised – and delivered them to the eager helpers. This was an unexpected emergency call task that took up about 1 1/2 hours and admittedly threw me off in my Saturday plans more than it should have [create of habit and routines]. In the end I was happy to help, though. Because I just realizse I didn’t explain it in the intro here’s the background Story: my sister and her husband are planning to move to a village not too far from where my parents live. The house in its current state requires plenty of work before the actual rebuilding process can get started. This weekend, my dad, sister and her husband as well as the helpers removed the hay from the attic of the old farm house. They returned covered in dust down to the last bit of skin. Poor guys.

Created a new recipe for the blog that not only was super simple to prepare – way different from my recent yeast experiments – and a hit with the whole crew. Part of it is even – unintentionally – toddler-approved. Now I just need to remake it to get pictures and share with you. I will try to upload a quick picture I already took after work today – well, tomorrow as I’m writing this on Sunday night

Helped my mum out where I could. Running errands, unloading the dishwasher, cleaning up. Isn’t it funny how often we refuse doing these simple tasks as children but will easily offer taking them up as adults because they aren’t that bad after all?

Tried a new workout that left me feeling more at ease when things felt overwhelming on Saturday night. Exerting physical energy is the one thing that very reliably helps me find mental Relaxation.

Lend an ear to a friend in need of somebody to listen and help reframe hr situation. Sometimes helping others is the best way to escape the mess in my own mind.

Thank you if you actually are still reading after my lengthy post and happy Monday! I hope the week ahead will be a happiness-filled one for you,

Happiness-inducing today: Lots of little bright moments calming my anxious mind.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Tell me some achievements from your past week!

Any introverts who can relate?

Random: What was your least favourite household duty as a child?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

 

13 thoughts on “Good week with a side of introvert’s dilemma

  1. Juli says:

    So many things I can totally relate to. I often feel like I am super negative in my posts even though in fact I am really content with my life. I think often the things that make us ponder over are the slightly negative, stressing or unsettling ones. I think it’s okay. And if it’s the weekend that’s throwing you off a bit I think if you wrote your intros on a Friday evening they might be a lot more cheerful. So it’s probably not a good representation for your overall state of mind.

    Also this weekend in particular – holy moly! Seriously hosting a bunch of strangers and feeling like being the intruder in your own apartment is no joke. I’d have gone crazy. Seriously!
    I too desperately need my Sundays to myself otherwise I wouldn’t function during the week. I hope you get some solitude tonight and can recharge your social batteries.

    Also household chores are my favorite thing during the week. Because I use cleaning as means of procrastinating on thesis work 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, honestly? I don’t ever feel you sound negative in your posts [yes, still reading but a loosy commenter …].
      Thank you for letting me know I’m not alone in needing a day of [mostly] solitude before the start of the next week. I definitely felt the effects of not getting it on Monday but was more of myself again on Tuesday.
      Also: touché. I occasionally use cleaning as a way to postpone working on nagging tasks, too ;).

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Side note, your mother’s dishes are beautiful.

    I’m so glad you got to spend time with little P and I’m thrilled for your whole family, your sister is moving closer with the babe. I know how important it is to have close family nearby, for her and for you guys.

    As to the hosting things and general overall anxiety, it makes total sense, especially since you’re an introvert. I’m the same way. I love hosting a meal or having friends and family in town, but once it’s done, I’m more than ready to have my space back and just breath. It’s even harder when you use those weekends to recharge and you lose that ability. Basically, it’s totally normal.

    Happy Monday and here’s to a great week.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Even though it’s not happening for at least 1 1/2 years I’m super excited about the prospect of my sister and her little family moving much closer, too.
      Thank you for sharing your feelings about hosting and at that making me feel more normal, Meg. I seem to be pretty alone in this in my family and circle of friends so it’s relieving to hear I’m not a weird one.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    I know what you mean with the change in mood from week days to weekends. For me, during the week I am usually busy, with my days being scheduled and there only being certain allotments of open time to enjoy. But sometimes if my weekend is bare and not busy and I’m left to my own devices to fill my time, I can actually end my Sunday night feeling really low. That’s another reason I love doing the WIR – it helps me out on Sunday nights when I’m feeling this loneliness and fall of mood. I also feel exactly the same in terms of hosting. I get pretty sad with myself sometimes, because I love my friends and I know I love being around people, but I seem to have such a small threshold for the amount of time I can actually spend with others. And especially if I am hosting, it is very easy for me to suddenly feel like its been too long since I’ve had any “me” time and I begin to feel claustrophobic. Its hard and something us introverts just have to know about ourselves and give us some compassion for. Its just who we are and we can’t change it. And our family and friends will respect us for it. Good for you for sticking through it though. And good for you for offering so much wonderful help to so many people in your life, week after week.

  4. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I can totally relate to what you’re saying, how what we write can look different at times. It sounds like weekends are a bit of a tough time for you–are you someone who particularly likes routine? I’m an extrovert, but even then I think having four people I don’t know well in my house at once would be really overwhelming. Sometimes I feel like I need a second weekend to rest and recover after my weekend.
    I’m glad to hear you’re getting along well with your male boss–I know that’s really important to you.
    I need to email you back, girl! I haven’t done that in so long. I’ll get on that soon.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ah, I didn’t know you were an extrovert so I guess that’s one of the few things we don’t have in common :).
      I’m 100 per cent a creature of habit and need my routines. Which can be both positive and negative.
      Looking forward to your mail [and maybe news about your summer plans?]!

  5. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    I can relate with the need to have a day or so, during the weekend, to be alone or at least with limited human contact (I hope that doesn’t sound mean. I just need quiet time 🙂 ) Since I’m used to having those moments, my space feels invaded and I get frustrated when there are too many people around me. I know my mom gets especially frustrated with me because she is the total opposite. She loves constantly being with people and talking. It’s a give and take kind of thing. Sometimes I have to be willing to sacrifice that time, but I also know that if I don’t have a little uninterrupted me time every so often, I’m unhappy and anxious.

    Post-nap cuddles are absolutely precious. When my nieces are visiting, my favorite part is waking them up from their naps and soaking up their sweet snuggles.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Knowing you’re so similar to me – and your mum sounds like mine, too – makes me feel better about needing this “limited human interaction”. Which, by the way, I don’t think sounds mean. It’s not to say we didn’t want or need to spend time with others. Just that we do better with breaks in between.
      How old are your nieces? I wish little ones didn’t grow up so very fast.

  6. chasetheredgrape says:

    I always felt that I should love hosting… Especially my family. But now I fully embrace the fact that I don’t really enjoy it. Yes I like their company but I like my morning and evening routines more. And that’s ok! Now I usually try and create some boundaries from the begining of their stay. But doing it with complete strangers… Boy that would be hard! it would have put me all out of sorts too.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Jen, you have no idea how relieved I was to find out you feel the same even regarding family. Because it’s like that for me, too. I really like them but I also need my me time to recharge.

  7. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I’m an introvert too so I totally understand how you felt! I like my nights to be quiet and spent watching to or hanging out with Jesse. Especially if I’ve been working during the day!

    My least favourite childhood duty was cleaning my room – but now I love it!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh how I missed having the nights to just watch a movie the past weekend. It was really mostly the evening and night time that I wanted to have to myself.
      I bet your mum is so proud to have raised a daughter who actually enjoys cleaning her room ;).

Leave a Reply

