Letting my mind run wild and free [ToL]

… and then there was no Week in Review. Breaking from my usual blogging schedule felt both weird and very freeing. The decision was not entirely spontaneous but my heart just nudged me into the decision-making on Saturday. The sun was out, my mind telling me I’d better start drafting Monday’s post early and me ultimately neglecting my to-do list for the Moment and heading out for a longer walk instead. One of the sort that clears your head and heart, connects you to nature and makes you feel incredibly light and free. A twinge of guilt found its way into my brain again yesterday night but I reminded myself of my intuitive blogging premise. Instead deciding for less screen time on the weekend and returning with some ramdom thoughts today [a few days early as i might have another post coming later this week].. Ready, set, random!

Thinking-Out-Loud

Can we talk about changing taste buds? Because I’m not sure what happened to mine. If you’d asked me not too long ago I would have told you I had a major sweet tooth. Now? I can’t exactly say that anymore. The majority of my meals and snacks are savoury. Some days, I eat way less chocolate than I used to. Edited to add: the joke’s on me here. The very day I write about craving chocolate less what hits me big time? Yes, you guessed it. The intensity is almost crazy.

When I’m reading a really good book the word ‘read’ is actually inaccurate. Rather, I savour books. Which means I assign a certain time/setting to when I will read in every single one currently on my nightstand [i.e. morning/after work/weekends] and slow myself down a bit. Yes, I’m aware that will seem odd but my overworrying as well as money-saving tendencies are at play here. Worrying about not finding a follow-up book that’s just as amazing and saving-savvy in that we all know my struggle of treating myself to anything outside the necessary things by now, I guess. I’d call the fact I semi-decided on a small monthly book budget starting in March a first step of improvement, though. Because nourishing the mind with words and screen-free time is just as important as buying food, right?!

Absence truly makes the heart grow fonder in every area of life. Proof? You might not even remember me mentioning the first time I didn’t put my ear plugs in on a walk. Well, they hardly made an appearance anymore since. Quiet walks are my most creative time. The other day, though, I felt like listening to some music again and it felt so good. I still took in my environment, not letting the lyrics distract me. If anything, my heightened mood made me appreciate the beauty of nature even more.

flower_nature

Speaking of music I’m a classic ‘victim’ of the “mere exposure effect”. When I first heard Coldplay’s new song it didn’t feel up my alley. Being exposed to it during my daily commute, though, I’m suddenly a huge fan and added it to my Spotify. Well played, radio stations, well played. Literally.

Not so well [played] are the glitches my electronics have been going through lately. If you’ve been waiting for all the recipes I promised to share in recent posts I owe you an explanation and here’s why. I’ve been experiencing an unlucky juxtaposition of electric devices and platforms letting me down. My laptop has been on its last legs for well over a year already. Now it’s definitely time to say goodbye after about 7 (8?) years as it’s no longer working properly in regards to uploading pictures from my camera and constantly crashing when I’m online. Additionally, WordPress has been kindly reminding me that my data volume is close to used up meaning new pictures are scarce on here. I know that buying a new laptop is inevitable but any ideas on a quick and easy solution for the WordPress issue? I’m scared of [the cost and technological knowledge involved in] going self-hosted.

Something that never lets me down? Opening a fresh jar of white almond butter. Granted, I’m not a fan of the inavoidable oil spillage but the naturally sweet flavour – way different from the dark kind – and creaminess on top of my oat bran all but make up for it. Not that I’d be opposed to having one of these ingenious tools at hand but – you guessed it – they’re not available over here. So I keep getting those nut butter stirring arm workouts in.

Work’s been insane already again today so I’ll end this here and try not to hit the pillow too late. Fingers crossed and happy Tuesday to you!

Happiness-inducing today: My current [afternoon] book as well as – it never gets old – sunshine.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Share your random thoughts with me!

What’s a song you only got hooked on upo nhearing it multiple times?

Blogging advice?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

21 thoughts on “Letting my mind run wild and free [ToL]

  1. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Agreed! Sunshine never gets old. Nor does reading. ❤
    Sorry about the tech issues! Sounds super-frustrating.
    I had no idea there was a distinction between light and dark almond butter. Does the light stuff just have the skin removed? It looks yummy! And I definitely empathize with the oil spillage thing.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Now that’s obvously my biased mind – stomach ;)? – speaking but there’s a major distinction between the two kinds of almond butter. The white one is creamy-sweet with no roasted flavour. If you do get to Germany this summer you’ll have to try it!

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    I also had no idea there was a light and dark almond butter. I’ve never seen it over here. Is it a German thing, you think?
    Oh the blogging dilemma. I had to go self hosted because I ran out of space. But I do not regret it. If you do have the money, I would help you out any way I could in the transition. If I can do it, anyone can… believe me.
    You enjoy walks for all the right reasons. They truly can re-align us with the ground and with ourselves. Keep enjoying them, and keep enjoying the sun! It makes such a huge difference.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      From what a short search engine browse has told me yes, I think white almond butter must be one of the few foods not [widely] available on the other side of the pond. Once I figure out the whole tech issues I may or may not have a recipe for homemade to share, though …
      Speaking of tech issues: I’ll gladly take up your offer soon and ask you a million questions in my next mail!

  3. jlivingwell says:

    I totally understand what you mean by “savoring” books. I always set a time and place to fully enjoy reading them. Also… white almond butter? Never heard of it, but now I’m intrigued!

  4. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    I love the idea of savoring a book. Often I speed right through, feeling like I need to quickly finish so I can move on to the next one, but I know I miss out on the wonderful, hidden things that take some time to find. I wonder if the white almond butter is made with skinned almonds? I’ve never seen in the states, but it looks delicious. But I think all nut butter is delicious, so…

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh I’m the polar opposite. Like written above I moreso fear that I won’t have a [good] next one lined up so I try to stretch the pleasure of my current book out for as long as I can.
      Yes, white almond butter is made from blanched almonds and -so- good, Though, like you, I don’t discriminate nut butters; only like some a little more at times.

  5. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Books are my happy place. I could sit and savor one day long except other obligations tend to interrupt…(cough, Ave, cough). 🙂 She’s well worth it though.

    You WIR whenever you want. I’ll miss you but I understand.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      With a mum like you, chances are Ave will turn into a little [and then big] book fiend herself. Which doesn’t seem a given anymore these days. An acquaintance and young mum herself recently told me she’d yet to read a whole book from start to finish in her life which made me sad. Hard to believe.

  6. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    I read the whole sweet tooth disappearance thing and thought WHAAAAT?! Then I read that you were craving chocolate and the world felt normal again 😜

    My blogging tip? Just go with what works for you. The blog will still be there – and so will the people who love reading your posts! ❤

  7. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    Mmm… Savoring books sound perfect. 🙂 It’s such a good way to describe immersing yourself in the story, the experience of the book, instead of just skimming through words (which is something I’m guilty of)

    And I love when bloggers just share what they’re thinking about. I often get ideas or things to think about when you ramble!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Really taking the time to read and at times even reread certain passages in books can make a big difference. Rereading whole books after a few years is particularly good as well. Interesting as we’ve changed in the meantime so might also react differently to the same books.

  8. chasetheredgrape says:

    Nut butter hack! When you buy the jar, keep it upside down for a few days. This allows the oils to filter through and ‘ta da’ you have blended, non oily butter!
    And my solution to the book buying guilt – use your local library! I haven’t bought a book in years!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’ll have to keep your trick in mind for the next time I buy nut butter, Jen!
      Unfortunately, our local library is tiny, not well stocked and if I want to – which is my preference – read English books – not a chance. I might still visit it sometime soon.

  9. Kaylee says:

    Missed you on WIR this past week but so glad to hear that you are intuitively blogging.

    “Because nourishing the mind with words and screen-free time is just as important as buying food, right?!” <<<< YES!!! There is more to nourishment than food so I've found. I haven't felt like that in a while when it comes to reading and wish I can back into that feeling of savoring and devouring books. What have you been reading lately?

    That Coldplay song is way too catchy. I don't want to like it but I can't help but listen (…and okay sing along) when it comes on the radio.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      You’re so sweet, Kaylee! Thanks for you kind words.
      Just give reading, completely unplugged and rested a try again. Maybe reread an old favourite from several years ago – that’s how I got back into my reading habits in the past year.

  10. Claire B. says:

    I’ve never seen one of those nut butter mixers before but now I think I need one! What a brilliant invention! 😀

    Blogging advice: it’s A-OK to take a break for as long as you need to. I’m on a break, maybe permanently, and I can tell you that for me, the time it’s freed up to put into things in my life that are more important right has been invaluable. Also, I know several bloggers have been posting sporadically lately for various reasons, and guess what? When I make my blogging rounds every weekend, I still bother to check back on their blogs, even if they haven’t posted in a month. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Isn’t that nut butter stirrer genius?! I really wish we had those over here.
      Thank you for your reassuring words on blogging, Claire. I’m glad we’ve still been able to stay in touch and that your decision to quit feels good to you.

Leave a Reply

