When it rains it pours + seeing the rainbows.

Something tells me it’s been a while since we previously talked life and things, no?

Life – or as I like to think: destiny – has a [insert word I can’t decide on; Funny? Mean? Weird? None of these seem fitting] way of working out. Or: when it rains it pours. It’s been a mixed bag of a week for me and my family. On my side this meant some personal unpleasantries for lack of a better description.Ono of them being an eye infection that’s been bugging me since this past Monday. Essentially, I’m currently the literal equivalent of somebody with a laughing and a crying eye. Sounds more exciting than it is. Fingers crossed I won’t be  this rare phenomenon much longer. It’s getting old pretty fast, you know?  Yet all of that suddenly didn’t matter anymore in the face of some sad news my family found out this weekend. I know vague-blogging sucks but I can neither pretend life was all sunshine and rainbows over here nor – for privacy reasons – share any details. Other than saying that life is fleeting and we need to hug our loved ones tightly whenever we can.

By now you might know I’m constantly refocusing on the good; the silver linings no matter how dark the sky [i.e. life] looks in any certain moment. Only sometimes that’s hard, almost feels wrong. Is living in the moment and re-centering yourself to achieve an at least momentarily positive mood a means of ignorance towards reality? Of self-delusion? A way of avoiding problems and facing emotions until you can’t anymore or things backfire? I do wonder this but have no definite answer. It’s just another case of my mind running wherever it wants so if you have any thoughts on these: feel free to share them.

As I don’t want to get the reputation of “doom and gloom” blogger I’m going to leave it at that and ride the wave of endorphins this lovely Sunday provided me with. Nobody hates positivity. Oh and look at me forgetting what exact day it is  sooo… How was your Easter weekend? Ours ended up very laid back after the previous had been visitor- and stress-filled. Similary to this one a few weeks ago. On a coincidental side note and explaining the title: it was a week where the change of weather mirrored the happenings. Lots of downpours but double (!) rainbows twice in one weekend and lots of sunshine in between.

Not all of the points below are achievements; some are merely notes on life lately. Since Meg has been forgiving towards my changing approaches to the Week in Review in the past I’m hoping she’ll approve once again. Because I had no plans for writing this post and at that didn’t take notes of any achievements. Winging it is my specialty here.

Week in review

In the past week(s) I …

Worked four instead of five days this week. Thank goodness for Good Friday because the piles of paper just keep growing at the moment. Trying not to think of the extra ones coming up after the holidays  …

Spring-cleaned my bathroom and kitchen. Initiated by the  [absolutely amazing] fact of the former’s renovation. Okay, the remodeling of the lighting situation. Because – as I hadn’t told you yet – the latter was a serious joke the past few weeks. Anyway, I dreaded the whole cleaning process but it feels so good in the aftermath. Now when I talk about spring-cleaning or tidying up in general that does not mean I’m the most organized person in the world. Only a slightly more tidied up and less chaotic person – major difference ;). Though I’m proud of myself for having maintained the clutter-free surfaces since.

Did a little pantry purge that felt really good, too. Looks like somebody had a thing for peanuts here. Oops. It also looks like I should get baking again. I’m not complaining about that prospect …

Watched a movie with my mum on Friday night. For the German readers: it was this one which I’d seen before already and highly recommend. Romantic, funny and featuring some of the best German actors of the current time.

Speaking of my mum: she baked her classic ‘Eierlikörtorte’ [egg liquor torte] again – no Easter is complete without it. [Recycled picture with baby P. in the background as the technology issues are yet to be resolved]

Had an unpleasant appointment. At least I didn’t chicken out – that’s my accomplishment here.

Sent out an important email after postponing it for weeks. A big thanks to the two friends helping and encouraging me.

Spontaneously went on a walk with my dad earlier today. If you’ve been reading for a while you know our relationship is difficult so these happenings are rare and not without anxiety on my side. It was good, though. Really good. I’m aware of how quickly the current state here can change, though, but will preserve the memory.

Went for many walks in general, no matter what the weather was like. Lots of things to process require lots of walk-thinking through.

Baked a huge batch of Maple Buckwheat Granola for my colleague. Gluten-free for the first time. As I hadn’t reported back on that: the bread wasn’t a winner – which I admittedly had guessed but am not too sad about; granola-making is way more fun. Yet she said she missed the granola so I got busy in the kitchen after all. It might not become a regular anymore, though, because how insanely expensive are gluten-free oats?!

Blog-wise I wasn’t as active as I’d hoped to – sorry for being way behind on commenting and replying! – but published some really good good links yesterday.

Once again, I’ve been getting wordy so I’ll end this here by wishing you a …

Happy Monday!

Don’t forget to tell me your happenings and accomplishments from the past week!

Happiness-inducing today: Sunshine. The walk with my dad which once again allowed for a good conversation.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
What were some highlights from your past week?


Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

5 thoughts on “When it rains it pours + seeing the rainbows.

  1. Kaylee says:

    I too went on much needed walks with my mother this past weekend. Sometimes the silent walks mean the most for me.
    I’ve really got to get my butt moving on that Spring cleaning thing. My apartment is a mess!

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I think it’s a fine line between ignorance is bliss and dealing with life. Sometimes you have to focus on the positive and other times you need to mourn whatever is holding you down so you can move past it. I will give all my loved ones an extra squeeze today.

    I’m happy to see you back posting and approve of however you want to WIR. You know I’m easy and it’s gives me a good reason to see how life is treating you lately.

    You need to charge for that granola.

    Also little P is so cute in the background of that cake.

    Happy Monday.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    Diddo what meg has said. It is a fine line and one I find myself questioning often. We dont want to numb ourselves away from feeling something we need to let through us, but I also believe in the power of positive thought. I Think we can have both. Acceptance of reality and whatever sadness/grief it provokes, as well as seeing a rainbow. Maybe thats the way of not getting stuck in the sadness.

    Im sorry for the loss your family has had.

    Amongst it all though you were a productivity queen!! Way to go on all the cleaning, organizing and granola making!

  4. chasetheredgrape says:

    That torte looks delicious! I enjoyed some hot cross buns this weekend but next year I’m going to try and make some. Easter just isn’t easter without them for me.
    I hope the rainbows keep coming along with the sunshine 🙂

Leave a Reply

