Mental challenges and the only detox I’ll ever do.

Following my gut feeling aka intuition I decided to change my planned posting schedule yet again. An out-of-schedule week probably just lends itself to this so it’s all good again  (for my order-prefering mind). If you’ve been waiting for the good good links: they’ll be up on Wednesday as I didn’t spend as much time online lately so found myself with only a handful of links by Saturday night. I hope you’re okay with my spontaneous decision [hear hear, Miss Unspontaneous is mixing things up 😉 ]
If you caught my previous post you’ll know the reason for my absence. My paternal grandma left us the previous Saturday and I traveled to the other end of the country to attend her funeral. I won’t write any more about this here as there are no words. Whenever I try to write about this the words sound hollow; not reflecting the feelings behind them.
Initially, I wasn’t going to join the Week in Review this Monday as I assumed traveling most of the week meant hardly any accomplishments. And it’s true in that I don’t really have any visible ones to show. Yet I did see mental improvements that mean just as much or more to me.
So without further ado we’ll dive into an unusual Week in Review. Are mine ever normal, though? I’m glad Meg is forgiving about whichever way I let my thoughts flow.

Week in review

In the past week I …

Worked only three days as we left home on Thursday to attend the funeral.

Published a post about the German attitude towards nudity, why parents are very well off here and our aversion to small talk. Since the feedback was quite well I’m going to share more of these posts in the future.

Got my hair cut. Majorly. I’m still in the confused phase of indecision about whether or not I’m okay with it. 30 centimetres are a LOT. Why did I do this???

Accepted mental challenges I was faced with and noticed that a) my worst case expectations didn’t come true and b) that everything can still be okay. Being thrown off schedule completely when I’ve been living on my own for some time again always provides a little obstacle but this past week proved that everything’s not always as anxiety-provoking as my mind makes it look like beforehand.

Suitcase and shoes

Hardly exercised [which exercised my brain]. Some weeks or for some people this might be fail rather than accomplishment. For me, though, it meant tuning into my intuition on days I spent at home and going with the flow/situation at hand while at my relatives’. Oh, wait, I got serious arm and leg workouts carrying my suitcase up and down many stairs and walking up steep hills ;). Speaking of suitcases …

Unpacked my suitcase the day after my return home. Don’t tell me I’m the only one who tends to procrastinate big time on this!

Talked to strangers on the train journey back once again. – it’s just what I do though I’ve heard this is rather un-German ;).  Sharing a train compartment for [at least initially intended] four hours I figured why not find out a little more about my fellow passengers and take away from the strangeness. Long story short: I wasn’t phased much by the fact they were butchers – hey, I try to not judge you for what you eat – but with the fish baguettes issue [gross] and the man being an annoying know-it-all I may or may not have excused myself to look for an empty seat elsewhere after two hours.

Went on a walk with my grandma’s tenant and aunt’s dog. Major oops regarding the fact we got scolded by a man a little for not carrying those – what’s the proper English term? – dog poop bags with us. This aside I liked getting to know an as of yet unknown person to me a little better. These things are what makes me happy.

Went on a walk with my [maternal] grandma the same night, heading out after 9 PM. Another walk that allowed for a good conversation and strengthening of our bond.

Learned to truly embrace flight mode. Hello, battery-saving amazingness. Embarrassing but true: I hadn’t known how efficient exactly it was but now I’m a huge fan.

Speaking of phones I also took a mini social media detox from Thursday morning to Saturday night. Despite having speedy Wifi at my aunt’s place I just didn’t feel drawn to blogs or any app.

Ate really good potato leek soup prepared by my cousin. It’s worth mentioning because it was some truly good food. Granted, this opinion might have been influenced by the fact coming in after an 11-hour journey makes all kinds of food taste better.

Writing this on Sunday evening I’m looking back at a day of more anxiety and unwelcome feelings than the past few days that I had expected to elicit the latter. Which is both ironic and a lesson in finding that pushing outside our comfort zones can in fact be better than staying within. Probably obvious to some of you yet a necessary reminder for people like me.
Another reminder from the week was noticing how much better I slept and how much less anxiety and restlessness I felt without the constant social media influence. Cora just wrote about the connection between screen time and anxiety which I could relate to before but even more so after this week of my mini social media detox. Throwing myself right into it after I returned not only raised my anxiety but decreased my productivity a lot. Now to regularly schedule social media detox days …
This is – what’s new? – getting lengthy again so I’ll end the post here. Tell me what’s been happening in your lives lately!

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  Sunshine. The weather’s been ugly lately and today was – while a little stormy – really nice.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

12 thoughts on “Mental challenges and the only detox I’ll ever do.

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandmother although I’m glad you were able to attend the funeral and spend time with family and in a sense, out of your usual habits. It’s usually when we’re pushed into an uncomfortable zone where we notice positive changes. Cheers to your social detox; we all need those way more than we take them. I’m here if you need anything.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Meg. And yes, it’s so true that positive change is more likely to happen when we step outside of our comfort zone. Makes one wonder why that is still such a hassle every time!?

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    Diddo everything Meg has said (she always says things perfectly…) I’m very sorry about your loss. I do sense this really cool bit of renewed self-confidence through this post, though. I mean correct me if I’m wrong. But talking to that train stranger, going on a walk with a new person, embracing the messiness of being thrown out of your routine and giving yourself a break from both brain and physical activity with acceptance and grace…. pretty darn impressive, lady.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Super late reply but – not kidding you here – your comment was part of what encouraged me to push myself to overcome a huge challenge in that week. So thank you for seeing growth in me where I’d overlooked it.

  3. Emily Swanson says:

    I love that you are able to talk with strangers on the train; I loved that when we went to Europe; it’s absolutely incredible hearing different people’s stories. I’m glad you were able to get a hair cut; I love getting hair cuts. I always feel really light and fresh afterwards.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Having never been to the US before it’s interesting to hear your impressions, Emily. While us Germans might not be as talkative in grocery stores, we definitely are more likely to be so when traveling :).

  4. chasetheredgrape says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Sending my love to you and your family.
    And oh how a good potato and leek soup can make everything ok. It truly is food for the soul 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Eeep, don’t say ‘chopped off’ :D. You know how sensitive I am in regards to wording. I’d prefer think I gently parted ways with quite a bit more inches of my hair. Finally getting more used to the new length these days.

  5. Kaylee says:

    Sending my thoughts and hugs to you and your family again.
    That IS a lot of hair! Is it the shortest you’ve had it in a while?
    I need to take a cue from you and Cora and stay off of social media for a while. It hasn’t necessarily been a direct impact on my anxiety but there’s definitely a connection between the two. Hope you have a lovely and relaxing weekend. 💕

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Taking time off social media is much harder for me while at home than when I’m travelling, in a new environment and around many people I don’t see often. Maybe give it a try next time you travel?
      Given I hardly ever have my hair cut much, I’d say this would have to be the shortest in years, yes. Crazy.

Leave a Reply

