Joyful days, heavy thoughts and sunshine.

[Edited: Bad Monday luck?! The very moment I wanted to publish my post yesterday night, the internet went off and the connection didn’t return until Monday afternoon hence my delay in posting.]

Sunshine! Summer, er, spring! Is it apparent I’m really appreciating the sun finally blessing us with so many hours of its presence? No matter what’s going on in my mind [no shortage of ramblings, ever]: sunshine helps.

Something I’ve noticed – and admittedly not for the first time – is that I tend to eat my feelings. The past few days of having family and at that loved ones around, my appetite even disappeared at times. Yet a few things enraging me brought back the urge to eat just because I couldn’t adress the true issue at hand. This is frustrating to say the least.

A lot of the anger and frustration inducing this came from what should actually have brought only joy. Family and friends visiting. And spending time with family members, some of which I hadn’t seen in way too long, did fill those happiness batteries. It was the arrival of some unexpected guests, strangers to me, staying in my apartment, that irritated and angered me. For the sake of privacy even of people I’m not on good terms with I won’t go into details. What I can say is that the way they behaved and the return of feeling like an intruder in my own apartment got to me more than I’d like to admit and I let it take away from the overall joy a family weekend could have brought. Missed chances – whatever they are about – never feel good.

But I’m not here to spread gloominess. Despite some additional not so happy happenings, the week still had its silver linings; sunshine being an obvious one here.

Here’s a look at the past week of life as inspired by our lovely host Meg.

Week in review

In the past seven days I …

Worked just three days due to a national holiday, Himmelfahrt. Unfortunately not easy work days as I had a really itchy throat that got so bad I could hardly focus or talk at times. Thanks to my colleagues trying to think of ways to easen it. [By Thursday evening I felt fine again]

Spent time with the family – this really made up the biggest part of my week. Several aunts [plus husband respectively boyfriend] cousins, my sister, her husband and P, my brother, his girlfriend and four of their friends visited us for the weekend.

Finally picked up my new inlays. Do me a favour and don’t search the blog for when I first ordered them … it’s been forever. In my defense, I just couldn’t be bothered going there again after work. The place has the charm of a 1960ies house ware store …

Got my bike back after necessary repair. And:

pink flowers

Went on the first longer bike ride of the year with part of the family, including P. in his cool new Croozer[and muscle soreness in my derierre for good measure afterwards]. Also worked up a belated tan aka got a mini sunburn on my forehead. It’s looking pretty now and didn’t hurt at all so no complaints there.

Went on a walk with one of my cousins that allowed for a deeper conversation and catch-up on some parts of her life I hadn’t know about before.

Slept many many hours around the weekend. Most definitely catching up on sleep from the past two weeks or so. Major win for going to bed earlier every day this past week. Not early as in early for you guys – need to hold up my night owl status after all; it’s just me – but it was an improvement compared to past weekends in particular. Fingers crossed I’ll keep it up this week. Goodness knows I need my sleep.

bed_pyjama

Relaxed a little more in certain ways I find hard. Still no couch yoga for hours on end but working on it ;).

Blogged twice, including more good good links perfect for checking out when bored at work. I obviously didn’t tell you that ;).

Turned to podcasts, food prep and cleaning when I noticed I was eating my feelings. This did help refocus me at least a little.

Finally started looking for a new laptop. It’s a work in progress but I know making this decision + investment [= getting back the ability to upload new pictures!] will also bring back my often missing blogging mojo.

Not much to talk about in terms of actual accomplishments here – outside of basic unmentionworthy usuals –  as my family was staying with us from Wednesday until Sunday afternoon.

Coming up on Thursday – fingers crossed for the internet working! – is another episode on the little or bigger differences between Germany and the US.

Better late than never:

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today:  Walking home in the gorgeous sunshine. All the Vitamin D ;).

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 thoughts on “Joyful days, heavy thoughts and sunshine.

  1. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    Yay for family time – and how cool that little P could come along for the bike ride too! Though, he totally would have had the easiest role out of all of you – oh what I’d do to be pushed around 😛

    I’m looking forward to your differences post!

  2. chasetheredgrape says:

    You know sometimes I think when things are tough you just need a place to vent. A place where you can be you without judgement. If you found it tricky having guests and it wasn’t as ideal as you would have liked well you always have us here to read, listen and just be your friend. It always makes me feel good opening up and letting my frustrations out rather than building up!
    Awesome work getting some more sleep in. It’s so important and I always notice when I don’t get enough!

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    Awesome job continuing to work on increasing your rest and finding ways to take away those uncomfortable feelings that visitors and family can bring up. That’s hard work and takes a lot of conscious practice. I know having others in your space can bring a whole slew of discomfort and, if stretched a bit too long, can turn to anger. I’ve been there. I like what Jen said about just make sure you are getting it out somehow and not bottling it up. That’s what I, at least, completely break down. Hopefully that fixed up bike can bring in more relaxing and mind soothing time outside!!

  4. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    You just keep working on that couch yoga and don’t beat yourself up for eating your feelings. I do have done this…often, especially with the tiny human who is napping again, although waking up in the middle of the night. Scratches head. These little people are tough to figure out sometimes.

    I’m so glad you got more family time with little P. The bike ride sounds awesome. I need to get Ave a cruiser too.

    Here’s to a good week filled with naps, reading and no scratchy throats.

Leave a Reply

