Changing [habits, wardrobe and routines]

Hello from the other side. Way overused phrase? totally. But hey, technically, I am in fact oon the other side of the world from most of your views. Anyway … I spontaneously decided to join Meg and her Week in Review again.

The reason I ended up not going for it this past Monday was actually a good one. We had family around for the second weekend in a row. Since Monday was when everyone left again, we sat on my parents’ patio and chatted until it was time to bid goodbyes. Truth be told, I also wasn’t feeling too amazing. The whole having an apartment full of other people and not running on my own schedule was too much for this introvert  [I don’t like talking about myself in third person but we’re going to roll with it for once]. As a result, I felt funky from Thursday [when the first guests arrived] until Monday. With the previous guests having left a mere four days earlier and being tired from work, it just was too much. I didn’t like how I felt; didn’t like how I dealt with it. In the terminology of Cora’s post I would dare to assume that I was – in a way – socially overstimulated. Having a weekend mostly  to  myself this week was all the more relaxing.

Let’s get going with another Week in Review with Meg and Miss Ave before the day’s over [writing this Sunday night so I mean this literally].

Week in Review

Some of what happened in the past seven days: I. ..

Worked four days as – like mentioned above – Monday was a national holiday.

Shared some more good good links and – the other week – a few more funny and good-to-know things about Germany, including your handy restaurant dining 411.

Rode my bike to work more often again. I can’t say I liked it a lot in the morning – not an early riser if you remember – but all the more so after work. It’s refreshing and calming for the mind. Much appreciated after staring at a screen for hours. It’s a nice change of routine.

Ordered two new books for myself. For the first time in months, I should add. That whole spending money on myself issue isn’t getting any easier but I had to cave for books because I need them. Speaking of purchases …

Stuck to my budget pretty well. I’ve been making a more concerted effort to really track my spendings because that’s never a bad idea and I also have a few larger investments planned for the near future [cough, laptop, cough].

Ate the first strawberries of the year, coming straight from my mum’s garden. Homegrown berries > any other, even organic ones. Too bad the first harvest is fully digested already. Now to patiently wait for more to ripen …

Drank less Pepsi. Confession: I used to drink Pepsi max cherry every day. It’s my one really bad, definitely not healthy guilty pleasure kind of thing. No alcohol for me, no smoking, no nothing but diet Pepsi. Sue me! Though in my ‘defense’ [not actually defending myself because I don’t judge others for consuming any of the above, either]: I don’t drink coffee so diet coke is my replacement, if you will. I haven’t been drinking it by the litre but when I felt a slump/tiredness kicking in. However, and that’s why I’m listing it here, I kind of curbed that habit. I can’t say why but I just tried to not have it one day recently. And because I’m ever so slightly competitive,  I decided to see how long I could go without it. Well, I’m proud to say I can now already go days without having any, then maybe a small sip on a hot day and not feel compelled to have more.

Got new clothes for free and priceless. The latter because they were sewn by my mum respectively sister. One was a dress modeled after one I had seen in our local second hand shop’s window but didn’t even get a chance to try on as it was sold the next day already. My mum’s version turned out just as if not even more amazing if I dare say so, though. Because I like hers so much, my sister gifted me several of her handmade undies. If you’re curious to see more of her clothes, she’s showing some of them off on Instagram, too [below are my mermaid undies].

Meal-prepped while listening to a podcast. Some of you have asked for my podcast recommendations and I’m a bit afraid I don’t have anything new to offer there [or at least in terms of English ones; I figure the German ones I listen to aren’t of any interest to the majority of you ;)]. Given English isn’t my mother tongue, I’ve stuck with just a few that I found I could follow along with even when simultaneously doing something else. Two I go back to time and time again are That’s so Maven  [did you see that Davida just got engaged?!] and The Balanced Blonde. There are always episodes I don’t find as interesting, obviously, but these two are mostly up my alley. Let me know any others I should check out in the comments.

Went on a late night-ish walk with two of our guests when they visited. I hadn’t seen these two in way too long and forgot how much I enjoy being around them. It’s these kind of situations – walks, being outside, having deeper conversations – that I thrive on. They light me up, stop the constant chatterbox in my mind and make me feel good.

The fact I can’t think of anything else worth adding here [or at least things I would want to share on the blog] is proof that I need to get back into my sudoku habit. They’re good for memory function ;). In reality, though, it’s just getting late again around here and I need to wrap up this post to not drag out my bedtime too much.

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today [actually from a few days ago but it was a nice one]: The stranger wishing me a ‘particularly happy day’ [in  a non-creepy way] after I gave him directions. It’s little things like these that brighten my day and why I like thanking others and giving them compliments, too.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three or more achievements or happenings from your past week!
What are your favourite podcasts?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

10 thoughts on “Changing [habits, wardrobe and routines]

  1. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    Homegrown strawberries taste incredible. They have an extra layer of flavor that can’t be found anywhere else but in your own garden. It must be nice to have a mom and a sister who are seamstresses. Do they sew for you often? And I empathize with feeling guilty about spending money on personal purchases. It seems to be an inherited trait (my parents are frugal, and their parents were frugal), and in many ways I’m thankful for it 🙂 But I have to remind myself, when I feel guilty, that money spent on books and other enriching things is an investment in my mental health (books can be wonderfully therapeutic) as well as my academic health. The latter probably isn’t even a thing, but you get my point.

    Also, I should have picked this up a long time ago, but I didn’t realize English isn’t your first language. I’m currently learning Spanish, and as I’ve started venturing into longer essays and writing assignments, it’s interesting (and sometimes frustrating) to see the disconnect between what I want to say in English and what I end up saying in Spanish. I never see that disconnect in your writing though. You write brilliantly 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “Money spent on books and other enriching things is an investment in my mental health” – this is brilliant and definitely good to keep in mind for us frugal people. I think I might have inherited it from my dad, too.
      You’re too sweet, girl. I cringe when I reread posts after publishing and spot typos all around. Spanish is hard to learn so kudos to you for working on it.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Mermaid underwear for the win. Now she just needs to make a unicorn pair and it’ll sell quicker than a latte.

    I understand how hard it can be to share your space and how it can push you out of your comfort zone. That being said, I’m glad you got to spend time with family. I’m doing a lot more of that these days, and it’s well worth the awkwardness I might feel about needing my time. Perhaps because I so rarely get it with the tiny human, it makes it more manageable.

    Way to go on the book purchases. I feel like those are almost always worth it. Whether the book turns out to be good or not, it’s so nice to sit back and read.

    I had local and even one homegrown strawberries last week too. They were everything!

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Honestly? Even though they’re all over social media, I hadn’t thought of suggesting unicorns to my sister. I immediately texted her when I saw your comment. She says thanks and is now looking for suitable patterns.
      You’re so right about book purchases. I’m not too smitten with the ones I picked up this time around so far but not giving up hope just yet.
      I hope you got some time to yourself thanks to grandparent babysitting again this week.

  3. mylittletablespoon says:

    How cool is it that your sister makes handmade undies!! And that your mom sewed up that better-than-the-original-dress. Sigh. My mom used to sew allll my clothes. They are just so special.

    All these visits from family no doubt must be exhausting for you. As much as visits from family are wonderful (your walks out with a few of them as prime examples) – and as much as we need to continue to push ourselves out of our own comfort zones – I hope you get some time to yourself now to recalibrate. Yay for ordering books for yourself 🙂

    I love your happy inducing moment. That would be something that would totally put a smile on my face amidst even the gloomiest day.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Is your mum not sewing clothes for you anymore at all or just not as often? Mine sewed some for me when I was younger, than none for a while [maybe also because I was in the awkward teen phase of not appreciating it as much …] and now by request again. I feel really blessed.
      It’s hard for me to get my medium level of people time vs. me time. Either there are too many visitors or none. I wouldn’t mind having just two or three every other weekend.

  4. Kristy from Southern In Law says:

    How long do you have to ride for? I love riding my bike – but I’m not very good at it… we live in such a hilly area that the second I get on a hill my body is like NOPE!

    Right now I’m really into true crime podcasts which is really odd – because it’s not something I’d normally listen to. One of the podcasts I was listening to, the girl who ran it started running a true crime podcast and had a teaser episode and I listened to that and was hooked. Now I’m listening to the Innocence podcast which is about people who were wrongly convicted of a crime – and it blows my mind as to how they were ever sentenced in the first place! I can’t imagine going to jail knowing you were innocent – but not knowing how to prove that!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s a very short commute, actually. Just around 10-15 minutes, depending on which way I choose. That’s definitely enough for sleepy me in the mornings 😉 but in general I enjoy longer bike rides, too.
      Crime anything – books, podcasts, TV shows – is not for me at all. I’m a scaredy cat.

  5. Claire B. says:

    I always love hearing what you’re up to and I’m so glad to be able to catch up on my favorite blogs today! 🙂 Also, LOVE getting new clothes for free, even if they’re not-quite-new. ThredUp is my new favorite place to buy (really inexpensive but nice) secondhand clothes online!

    Three achievements from this week: shipped our moving boxes, our bikes, and got ourselves out to California after almost missing our connecting flight! Phew!

  6. Kaylee says:

    Okay, first of all THOSE STRAWBERRIES. 😍 They look so red and so so juicy.
    That’s So Maven is pretty good! I’ve also been into Modern Love recently. It’s not too too long (just over 20 min each), which I like. Sometimes podcasts can be intimidating for me because of their length.
    Those little acknowledgments–like a hello or a thank you–from strangers always make my day too so no not creepy at all.

Leave a Reply

