Week in Review: Life lately

Hello there, friendly people!

Lately, I’ve in a sort of overthinking, not so comfortable phase in life, very much in my brain most of the time. If I was to try and describe the feeling it would be like swimming, not seeing exactly where I’m going. Which sounds scary for the fact I despise swimming alone ;). Anyway, it’s because of this that I’ve fallen out of the blogging loop lately. When the thoughts in mind are changing directions all the time, it’s hard to share anything without confusing all of you like crazy. Which I likely just did with this intro. Oh well.

That being said, I’m still working just as usual. It’s in my free time that my brain is going into overdrive. Thinking is good and necessary, thinking too much isn’t ideal.

Another issue that’s been keeping me from diving into blogging more again is my very moody old laptop. Here’s calling all of you for recommendations!  Which powerful but affordable laptops do you use and recommend? In the massive sea of offerings, I have a hard time deciding. Well, I really like my maritime metaphors today, it seems.

Not all of the points below are achievements; some are merely notes on life lately. Fortunately,  Meg is a very forgiving party host, letting all of us run wild with our interpretation of her fabulous original idea. Share some updates on your life lately in the comments with me. I don’t want this to be all about me

So here’s my by no means complete list of recent going-ons.

Week in review

In the past week(s) I …

Worked. Same same here. Which might be one of the reasons for my current not-so-happiness. Looking for job opportunities has been unsatisfying lately to say the least and I’m letting it get to me more than I’d like to.

Went shopping for the first time in … a long while. It was getting sort of necessary. You know you need to act when you live in tights – still no pants for me – and the majority of them have at least small holes. Note that we’re talking holes in places not visible from the outside but very much for me [mostly in the sole part]. So new tights made up the biggest part of my overall not immense haul. A new cardigan and a book thrown in for good measure. I’m not complaining about that.

Dean and David_vegan curry

Had lunch at Dean and David’s while in Hamburg and was pleasantly surprised  by the addition of edamame [not visible in the above picture] to my curry. Which unfortunately ended up hardly filling me up. On the upside, I took this as another lesson in intuitive eating: what’s enough for other people doesn’t have to be for you plus our needs change from day to day. It’s okay to need more after finishing a meal even if people around you don’t.

Called my insurance company asking them to pay for an extra that I wasn’t sure would be covered. Not my favourite thing to do so I’d been postponing it for a while but in the end it was surprisingly  .. good. The jury’s still out on whether they’ll end up paying but I’m glad I asked.

Faced a fear I’ve been dealing with for a while. It’s too ridiculous to specify but something I absolutely need and want to work on. This also inspired me to tackle more of those fears I have yet know are keeping me from fully enjoying life. Okay just in case this makes me sound nuts: I’m okay. Just always a bit too careful. I didn’t inherit that sprinkle of healthy carelessness that other people own. And we all know cake is better with sprinkles ;).

Visited my sister for a belated celebration of her birthday on Saturday. It was a laid-back family get-together of just her, her husband, P., my parents and me but so very nice. Looking forward to seeing them again in two weeks. On that note:

Successfully picked out a gift and bought it way ahead of time. This one’s definitely an accomplishment as I’m just about the least creative person in picking gifts and tend to postpone it to the last minute.

Started two of my new books. I’m not sure how I like them because they both have their lengthy passages but reading still makes me so happy. Plus, allowing myself to start two newly purchased books at the same time feels just that bit luxurious. Living on the wild side ;).

Blogged just once but there are some really good links waiting for you.

Drafted two blog posts. My mind constantly changing directions isn’t helpful to finishing any of them but I’ll definitely be back with another post later this week.

Once again, I’ve been getting wordy so I’ll end this here by wishing you a …

Happy Monday!

Don’t forget to tell me your happenings and accomplishments from the past week!

Happiness-inducing today: The sun peeking through in the late afternoon on a rather rainy day, allowing for a quick walk through the fields.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
What were some highlights from your past week?
Any laptop – please no Macs as it’d take me forever to get used to them and they’re also not exactly my price range 😉 – recommendations? I’d really appreciate any help here.


Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

8 thoughts on “Week in Review: Life lately

  1. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    Sending hugs today. I can relate to those periods of time when I’m just holed up inside myself and not particularly sad about anything, but overthinking and over analyzing quite a bit. It’s frustrating. On a lighter note, your maritime metaphors are spot on, as is your alliteration in maritime metaphors. Does a heart good to dabble with words. “What’s enough for other people doesn’t have to be for you.” Thanks for that reminder. It’s so, so true, but I still struggle with comparing my food choices and amounts with other people. Facing fears, even the so called silly ones, is a huge reason to celebrate. Also, I think it makes us feel better. Often the thing we fear is less scary than the stress we build up around fearing the fear…if that makes sense. And I almost always procrastinate gift buying, usually until the day before, so I applaud you for getting it done early.

  2. sweetandstrongblog says:

    I feel you on those moments. My only advice is to take a mini break from things that feel like ‘work’ and social media. That always helps me. The weather has been so nice here in southern MD, it’s typically so hot and humid this time of year. It has put me in a better mood and wish it would stick around.

  3. Kaylee says:

    Sorry to hear about the job situation. But congrats on facing that fear of yours. I love Meg’s linkups because even if we list some non-accomplishments, ultimately we can realize the things we did get done outweigh those we were beating ourselves up about.

    Love that intuitive eating lesson! Trying really hard to remember that point for myself but obviously much easier said (or read) than done.

    I can’t be of any help of the laptop front since I’m a Mac user. In terms of what went done in my week = caught up on reading blogs, watched a play and made some pizza.

  4. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Way to go taking on and tackling some of your fears. That is always the hardest thing to do, yet usually the most worthwhile and rewarding in the end,

    New clothes always make feel good so I’m glad you were able to step up your tight game. I have a few holey shirts I can’t seem to part with even though the Hubby threatens to toss them out when I’m not looking.

    I love reading too, even when the book isn’t great like right now. I still enjoy curling up with my book and relaxing.

    Lovely to have you back, pensive or not. 🙂

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Whoa. Starting two books at once? That is living life on the wild side. 😉
    These all sound like real accomplishments. I tend to live in my head too, and not always for the better, so I totally empathize with what you’re saying here.
    Working with insurance can be so frustrating! Good for you for giving them a call, though. Never hurts.
    Looking forward to checking out your good good links!

  6. mylittletablespoon says:

    So I just looked down at my shirt a couple of hours ago and discovered it has a series – maybe 4 or 5 – little holes all around the belly. a) how did this even happen? b) I’d say I need to get new clothes but I know that just won’t happen….

    I totally get this feeling of having too much in the head to be able to get out one concise blog post. To be honest with you, I often feel like I write a post, and then the next day feel a completely different way. So then I’m stuck with not knowing if I should publish the post because it WAS what I was thinking at that moment, or change it to my new thoughts, or make some weird confusing hybrid of the two. Which then of course ends up being way too long and just all over the place. I also often feel guilt when I post something and then later have a change of feeling. I feel like my mind is constantly changing its mind. Its not something I like about myself.

    I’m glad you are still popping in when you feel fit and are trying to wade through those collections of thoughts with draft posts. Because ultimately that’s what our blogs are there for right? A place to write. Even if a post remains as a mind dump that is never published and only seen by you – it still means you wrote.

  7. Claire B. says:

    I’d love to hear what you’re reading when you finish your books! I am in one of those phases of life where I’m reading everything in sight lately so always looking for more recommendations!

    Highlights from this week: finally got bedsheets so I don’t have to sleep in a sleeping bag anymore, Skyped three loved ones, and finally got my California drivers license!

Leave a Reply

