Week in Review: The spontaneous and happy one.

Let’s do this Monday posting thing again. This week, I’m going the route of sharing only the little things that brightened my days rather than including the mundane or not so amazing ish. Because while yes, that definitely happened, too. But I’d rather not let it take over my mind right now  [which I’m sure you’ll know things do when you write them down]. Given my spontaneity in writing this post, it’ll be on the shorter side. Short and sweet. [edited: I didn’t delete this sentence because we can all laugh at my self-assessment].

So here’s my by no means complete list of recent going-ons, joining Meg’s motivational Monday party.

Week in review

Worked at the front desk several times. You might remember me talking about subbing in for my colleague usually working in this position before. And enjoying it a lot. Which honestly isn’t what anybody knowing me in real life would ever guess. Because I’m not exactly the most extroverted of characters and multitasking probably isn’t my hugest strength, either. Or maybe that’s just a side of me that needs strengthening? I unfortunately won’t be able to test this hypothesis as my colleague will be back from her vacation again today.

Semi-spontaneously met up with a friend to – finally – watch a movie we’d meant to forever. This really made my Friday. Talking to a friend, just chatting about anything and everything is what I absolutely needed. Always need, really. Which lead to neither of us really paying much attention to the movie – priorities. Worth the longer drive through the misty dark [scaredy cat here].

Rolled a lot of balls. TWSS. Okay, truth be told: this doesn’t even sound dirty to me because I’m German and a ball is just a … ball?! The kind children or soccer players kick around. You’re the ones with the dirty minds ;). Anyway: I made a double batch of my healthy Snickers truffles for my colleague’s wedding. I’d forgotten how much fun making them is. Granted, what helped was maybe that I did it while I …

Snickers truffles - healthy and vegan

Listened to several really good podcasts. I don’t know about you but I like when people not only recommend a podcast but point out specific episodes they liked [because at least I don’t find every episode of every podcast I like relatable or interesting]. So that’s what I’ll do on the blog from now on. One I found really interesting was episode 126 of the Food Psych podcast in which Kaila Prins [author of the blog Performing Woman, formerly In My Skinny Genes]. Especially interesting: Min. 36:20 – what she says about marketing? Ick. Marketers’ techniques suck.  Earlier on, Kaila also talks about a blogger she once tried to help in her recovery but failed and who’s negatively influencing her audience which is something I’ve noticed in the blogosphere before, too. Post on that topic coming soon.

Baked an apple cake for my sister. She just started the studies for her master and along with taking care of P. every day, doesn’t get have a lot of freetime on her hands anymore. Meaning less time for baking, too, so when I found out my mum was driving over to babysit Saturday night, I spontaneously baked the cake to send along. Much like the truffle rolling, this was some serious kitchen therapy. The recipe I used unfortunately is in German though I still highly recommend it. It’d be worth translating because it’s made from very simple nutritious ingredients, sweetened by a mere two tablespoons of maple syrup and filled with a LOT of apple goodness as well as – and that really is the most important part delicious. Another note just to clarify: I absolutely don’t think there’s anything wrong with desserts made with refined sugar and flour. At. All. My whole family eats those, too. I just like to sneak some more nutritious treats in there every now and then. This cake was even picky eater approved and we’re not talking about P. enjoying a slice – my mum ate it ;).

Speaking of not shunning sugar, I. ..
Ate a lot of chocolate*. This was … interesting. You might not remember me mentioning a lessened interest in it a few months ago. This is actually still true for the most part. While I do eat it every day and certainly more than just one piece, it’s definitely less than a year ago and not intentionally. I won’t lie in saying that the amount I ate on the weekend made me feel uneasy at first. But then I reminded myself of what I’d call a little intuitive eating lesson. Most of us recovering/having a strained relationship with food might fear overeating/figuring out their right level of fullness. Here’s what helps me: Pausing to notice if I can still taste the food I’m eating. Sounds obvious? What I mean is that when I eat for reasons other than cravings or hunger  [i.e. boredom, stress etc.], I don’t actually notice the individual food’s taste. It’ll taste merely sweet/salty/sour/whatever. If it’s that, I will then put the food aside and ideally brush my teeth. In yesterday afternoon’s case, I was definitely longing for more chocolate and since my intuition knows best, happily followed suit.

Maybe this was super obvious to you but I find it helpful in discerning true hunger and different motives for eating. That said, I’m not perfect and still eat emotionally at times. Practice makes perfect.

*when I say ‘a lot’ this isn’t to say any amount of a certain food was too much but merely that I occasionally ate more than was [physically] comfortable for myself

Listened to this song

… many times. Don’t judge me because while you might be so over it already, it’s only been on the radio for a short time over here. Plus,I don’t have a radio at home so only ever use one while driving [not often].

Looking back, there were quite a few acts of spontaneity in the mix. Unusual for a planner like me but even though some of them threw me off my routine for the day, they all ended up being worth it. In fact, the past week overall – excluding the uncomfortable parts – was a truly good one. Now to figure out ways/opportunities for more pleasureable spontaneity in weeks to come …

Full disclosure again: No, this week wasn’t all happy happy,  joy joy. I’m just choosing to focus on the good parts only today. If you had your rough moments in the past seven days: I can relate. That being said:

Happy Monday!

How spontaneous are you?

What was the last thing you baked? Any Christmas cookies yet [no shame here]?

Happiness-inducing today: Not feeling the usual Sunday sadness  too heavily.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

14 thoughts on “Week in Review: The spontaneous and happy one.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s funny because I wasn’t sure if I liked his songs at first but now I really do. For the most part, at least.
      The podcast episode actually isn’t heavily focused on food which is why I liked it so much better than some of the others.

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I’m not one for spontaneity although I tend to live very day by day with the tiny human now. For example, I just made a library play date for us this afternoon. It’s much easier to do when your entire day is open.

    Sometimes ignoring the mundane and focusing on the good things is worthwhile for our own sanity. I don’t blame you for doing it one bit.

    Also I want to try the apple cake. Ave loves apples right now. I wouldn’t turn down a Snickers ball either.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up. It’s always lovely to see you.

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    Spontaneity can be just the thing to lift our spirits in an unusual, new, and freeing way. Yay for embracing it this week and focusing on these little lovely tid bits. Your friend movie date sounds marrrrrvelous. I could really use one of those! Same with the balls… 🙂 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Everybody’s keen on those balls, it seems ;).
      The movie date was all I needed, really, and I’m glad I didn’t back off last minute when the day didn’t go as planned. I could really use one already again.

  3. bucketlisttummy says:

    I love the positive mindset posts, I think it can be contagiuos and sometimes we all need a motivational uplift! I have definitely caught myself enjoying too much of something and not tasting it, so I agree with that mindset of still tasting and enjoying it – that’s the point of eating, right? 🙂

  4. chasetheredgrape says:

    Eh I don’t think I’m that spontaneous… I do have moments, but I plan to have them if that makes sense! So I plan that I will go with the flow for lunch one day or we will see what looks good for a coffee date. But just general spontaneity makes me feel uneasy… And that’s ok because I know my tendency doesn’t thrive from it.
    I used to buy those little Moser Roth chocolate bars all the time when I was back in the UK. It was the perfect portion… And great chocolate too!

  5. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    Thanks for sharing your thought about intuitive eating. I don’t think it is necessarily obvious to recognize whether we’re still tasting the food–I certainly forget it sometimes.
    Glad you got a chance to work the front desk. Sometimes it’s really good to have a change of pace in a job.

  6. Ellie says:

    The last thing I baked was actually a Christmas cookie recipe!! Is it too soon? NO!
    I have been eating straight chocolate as dessert recently and I feel as though it’s tasty, but not an I NEED IT situation. I simply enjoy it, not a craving, but just something that makes me happy. I suppose if I didn’t have it, I’d be ok too.

    Have a great week xoxoxo

  7. Kaylee says:

    Those long, winding conversations with friends are the best. I’ve recently been fitting more phone calls and long distance video calls into my schedule. Re-prioritizing feels good.
    Hmm, your comments on tasting the food are really making me think. I’ll get back to you on that one…
    I am one of the least spontaneous people I know. Seriously, everything comes down to a plan for me. Definitely something I want to work on challenging.

Leave a Reply

