Good good links #197

Look, I really meant to find a way around saying this because it’s so gosh darn cliché, been said a million times and doesn’t change a thing but: How in the effing world did time pass this fast? Not only is October almost over but the past two weeks flew by in the blink of an eye, too. Meaning: yes, I was a little late on collecting the links I’d scribbled down on various loose scraps of paper, in Word documents or simply as opened tabs on my laptop and phone. Organisation pro? Me. Not. Ha! Anyway, here we are again with an attempt to fill your browser with open tabs, too, so I can feel less alone in that. You’re welcome ;). Honestly, though, I hope you find some good reads in the links below. As always, leave any recommendation you have in the comments, too.

Good good [food for thought]

The Problems with Yoga Culture via Pretty Little Grub

How our society/the media has turned an amazing ancient practice into a platform for their [false] ideas of health and body imagine.

One Question To Ask Yourself Before All Food and Exercise Decisions via Rachael Hartley Nutrition

It’s funny – or sad? – how we’re technically just one question away from letting our intuition guide our choices.

Thoughts on losing fitness.  via Nutrition On A Mission

Such a good reminder for many of us. Exercise might be a part of our lives but the space it takes up might changes in an ebb and flow.  This way, “losing” fitness means  winning in/making more room for other areas of life.

The “I love my body” message (and why I hate it.) via Yeah … Imma Eat That

Really great points on why ‘loving’ your appearance – interpreting the word this way – probably isn’t the best goal to have.

 

Good good [advice, inspiration and other worthwhile reads]

12 Unconventional (But Easy) Ways to Save Money While Reducing Your Carbon Footprint via The Financial Diet

Killing two birds with one stone?! #6 is one I don’t even know doing any other way [okay, yes, I’ve heard of it] so can assure you 100 % works with ease.

7 Lessons I Learned From Gilmore Girls via The Everygirl

Further proof that it’s more than just any old TV series and always worth rewatching, err, refreshing your knowledge.

10 Free Online Certifications to Boost Your Resumé via The Everygirl

Such a smart idea fir when you’d like to polish your resumé but neither have the money nor time to devote to in-person classes. Bless the internet!

 

7 Foods This Dietitian NEVER Eats via Heather Caplan

Well, I disagree with her on many of these foods – but  that exactly is the point of this post.

Sorry, ‘Negative-Calorie’ Foods Aren’t A Real Thing via Self Magazine

Because apparently that nutrition myth is still making rounds. The rule to live by? Found in the second to last paragraph.

 

Blogging and social media

How I Slowly Grew My Blog My Own Way via Cait Flanders

The honestly best and most helpful post on the topic I’ve read so far.

Social Media False Reality: It’s All A Distraction via Eat Teach Blog

Along the lines of why other peoples’ lives might not be quite as goal-worthy as you think, this post also makes an important point to keep in mind after tragedies like the one in Vegas a few weeks ago.

 

Miscellaneous

12 Picturesque Christmas Markets You Have To Visit In Europe via Hand Luggage Only

Just in [the unlikely] case you’re bitten by the travel bug during Christmas time and want to get to know how we’re “doing” Christmas over here. My favourite city is on the list, too.

How to Become an Adult via The Financial Diet

No real spoiler here because I want everybody to take the time to read this and a trip down memory lane. It’s worth it, promise.

 

Good good [food]

Healthy Double Chocolate Bran Muffins via Amy’s Healthy Baking

Bran muffins are my favourites and you can never go wrong with some chocolate action, right?!

10 Simple No-Bake Chocolate Recipes  via Katalyst Health

Because you need more chocolate in your life,  And because all of these look really good. No more words needed.

Vegan Breakfast Burrito Bowl with Chipotle Sauce via Running On Real Food

Savoury breakfast > sweet ones for me all the way. If somebody was making this one for me – can you tell I’m lazy in the mornings? – I’d be so down with this.

Vegan Pumpkin Lasagna with Cashew Cheese via Elephantastic Vegan

Fusing one of the best seasonal vegetables around with one of the ultimate comfort food classics – winning!

One Pot Creamy Pumpkin Sage Pasta via Yup, It’s Vegan

More pumpkin because a) you can never have enough of it and b) this must be one the creamy-dreamiest pasta dishes I’ve seen to date. Also, you can’t beat one-pot dishes.

 

 

Happiness-inducing today: Friendly cashiers. A rather rare breed so it’s really nice to happen upon them [can’t blame some for being less than cheerful looking at the way some customers treat them, though].

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 thoughts on “Good good links #197

  1. Kaylee says:

    Oh girl you are far from alone in the everlasting list of open tabs. Once I think I’ve made a dent in them, the pile just creeps back on up. With that being said, thank you for adding to the list. 😉

    Those pictures of European holiday markets are amazing!!! Can only imagine what they’re like in real life. The dream is to one day visit them in person.

  2. katalysthealth says:

    I honestly can’t believe that October is over. Now I have to start buying Christmas gifts and my bank account is sooo not ready for that 😉

  3. Evangeline Kennedy says:

    I just recently had an encounter with a friendly cashier too. It can really turn a day around.

    I clicked on the chocolate bran muffin recipe and came to the terrifying realization that I haven’t had a muffin for over two months. How did that happen?

    Also, thanks for these posts. It’s nice to have the latest good reads and good eats in one place to look at, especially since I find myself getting so far behind on my blog reading and failing to keep up with all the blog I want to keep up with.

Leave a Reply

