Week in Review: Quality over quantity

… and here we are on Monday again.

When something’s fun, do it again. Or: never change a running system. Or: everybody likes positivity. That’s the somewhat long-winded way my brain chose to say one thing: I’m jumping aboard the Week in Review train again, once more talking [for the most part at least] about the good happenings only.

Thanks to Meg for inventing and hosting this fun little party to start our Mondays on a happy note.

Week in review

During the past week I …

Published a post I’d been meaning to write or a long time. If you didn’t get a chance to read it yet, I’d really be interestedd to hear your thoughts on the topic, whatever they might be.

Baked more Christmas cookies. Actually even the same recipe again and – bad blogger that I am – forgot to take pictures. I’ll make an effort to keep some aside the next time and snap a picture then. For now, I’ll borrow the original recipe creator’s.

Met up with the friend I mentioned the other week for another cooking date. We chose this recipe by Minimalist Baker [yes, also again; I simply trust in their recipes being winners]. No picture because we ate with her husband again and I didn’t feel comfortable enough to whip out my phone around him. Modifications we made were: using frozen pre-chopped kale that we cooked with pepper and vegetable broth so it ended up resembling German-style kale rather than the way Dana suggested. And: using locally grown Japanese sweet potatoes. Now if you’ve been around for a while you might remember me expressing my dislike of this vegetables before. Still true for the orange ones. But Japanese? Wow! Sign me up! Unfortunately, my friend bought them on a recent trip and I won’t be able to buy them around here. If you haven’t tried them yet but can buy them were you are: do it! Coming from a former sweet ‘tater hater here, that’s saying a lot ;).

More than the food, though, I enjoyed spending the afternoon talking and just being around a friend, getting a change of scenery. We already loosely set a new cooking date which I’m already looking forward to.

Had a full-on examination of my health [as in: blood test, cardiogram and, ahem, handing in an urine sample] at my new GP’s office. Oh do I not like having my blood drawn. Sleeping the night leading up to this? I wish! But it was worth it because the results were good, iron and vitamin B12 levels fine, too [these weren’t in the past]. However, my vitamin D levels are not where they should be. Hence getting a prescription.  And as such …

Started taking a vitamin D supplement. As somebody who tries to avoid taking medication whenever possible, this alone didn’t suit me. When I pocked up the prescription drug, however, I noticed it containing gelatin. Not cool. Hence why I put off taking it for a little bit but then finally reminded myself of this: yes, it sucks. But is me being 100 % vegetarian/mostly vegan worth risking my health? I know this is a struggle others might face, too, and think that health always needs to come first. As hard as it is to wrap my head around this: no animal is saved by me not taking these pills and staying in a nutrient deficit.

Spent some time with P.. My sister, her husband and the little one were in town for less than 24 hours so it wasn’t a long visit but seeing my favourite little boy was wonderful still. Even if just for the excitement of finding he can now pronounce my name [it’s a somewhat difficult one even for some adults].

Met another friend at her parents’ house on Saturday night. We went to school together and she’s now living quite a bit further away so we don’t get to see each other often enough. Following a long phone conversation earlier this week already, we still talked for hours while snuggling with her cat, Oskar. Having these friends that – no matter how much time has passed since the previous meet-up and how far they live away – always get you and that you can lead the deepest conversations with is one of the biggest gifts I can imagine having. Long-winded sentence but I think you get what I mean?

While certain things didn’t happen as planned, work wasn’t the most amazing and self-criticism was high again this week, the overall memory is a good one. Especially writing down just the positives, I’m reminded of all the good in life and the warm feeling of happiness I soaked up while once more breaking out of routines I’ve gotten too used to. And as the title suggests, this week was another reminder that quality matters more than quantity: While both the get-togethers with my friends as well as my sister’s stay were way too short, the brightness they brought into my days made them seem like so much more.

Now it’s getting late [Sunday night] so all that’s left to say for me is:

Happy Monday!

Happiness-inducing today: P. being ridiculously cute. Yes, annoying aunt moment again.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!
When do you usually write your Weeks in Review?

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

14 thoughts on “Week in Review: Quality over quantity

  1. Ellie says:

    I love almond horns. We call them almond crescents at work and every time one breaks I steal it right away. They are ridiculously delicious 🙂 Is it weird that I am enjoying spending time with family, yet I long for some quiet and alone time when I’m not at work? I think I’ve just realized that I do love my roommates but I think I prefer to live alone. What do you prefer? Alone or with someone?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Ah, thanks for pointing out the typo there, too, Ellie. Note to self: Always check for autocorrect mistakes. So you have almond/marzipan crescents over there, too? I didn’t know this yet. And I can totally understand you happily eating any broken ones ;).
      It’s funny you’d .mention the living situation. While I was looking forward to having a roommate when studying, mine weren’t up for joint activities so I’ve been living on my own for years now and enjoying it. Only if I get to spend time with others, too, but like you, I have my limits there [introvert].

  2. katalysthealth says:

    Looks like a full and busy week for you! I’m glad that you got to spend some time with friends and family, even if the time was short. I agree with you – quality over quantity every time! I remember before I moved near my Dad I would drive up just for the weekend, spending literally only a day with my siblings, but to me it was worth it!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh yes, I think you’re dedication to family time even at the cost of long drives for short moments together really is a prime example of quality over quantity. I’m still so happy for you now getting to spend so much more time with your family.

  3. sweetandstrongblog says:

    Wow what a busy week. I love that you started christmas cookie baking. I made some peanut butter oatmeal cookies this weekend and was thinking of all the holiday cookies I want to make 🙂

  4. Kaylee says:

    Japanese sweet potatoes are so underrated! But at least more for us yeah? 😝 Yay for hanging with friends! Those cooking dates sound right up my alley.
    And I’m the same way about taking medicine, using it as a last resort (well, except for allergies…). Have you noticed a difference in how you feel when you’re taking them?
    For my WIRs, I try to get ahead and jot down little accomplishments as my week progresses but honestly end up procrastinating and cram-writing on Sunday. 😳

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Unfortunately just more Japanese sweet potatoes for you because they’re not regularly available here but I might try to figure out if my parents can plant them in their garden next year.
      I have only been taking the medication since the past week so not felt any differences yet but hoping to do so about four to eight weeks in. At least that’s when my levels should be better again according to my doctor. Fingers crossed.
      The problem with me and writing things down during the week so far has been not finding the notes again after the next clean-up … ooops.

  5. Juli says:

    “no animal is saved by me not taking these pills and staying in a nutrient deficit” yes 10000 times! And so proud of you seeing it that way!

    As we spent Christmas abroad this year I am a little bit sad that we’re going to miss all the Christmas cookies my aunt and mum-in-law always bake. Mandelhörnchen are one of my favorites and it’s one of the only baked goods in which I like marzipan.

    I think sometimes it’s important to acknowledge the negative things that happen in life. This gives us a chance to push past them. But I like your approach on focusing on the good things. I too second that focusing on the good stuff will definitely give you a better feeling overall. Especially when the negative ones are a bit out of our immediate control.

    P.S. I am a super annoying aunt and I think we both should just owe that 😀

  6. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Sometimes us introverts just need a little socializing….with the right people. I’m so glad you were able to catch up with friends and spend a short day with little P. Their vocabulary is getting to be amazing. Ave even has some sentences now, which constantly stuns me.

    I can’t believe your friend’s cat is named Oscar too. 🙂

    We all need vitamin D; I take it too, and everyone in the northern US probably should because there just isn’t enough sun.

    Happy Monday and send me some of those cookies please. Borrowed picture or not, they look delicious.

  7. mylittletablespoon says:

    So many wonderful things here, and so beautifully written. Ah your words ❤

    Those friends that you can go years without talking to and then get back together like you'd never been apart…. those are one of the most beautiful gifts in life. I'm so happy you got together with your cooking-date friend again (and have plans to make this a frequent thing, it now seems?) as well as your other friend (and her cat). I'm really happy to hear this. I know when I'm not feeling, or doing, too well, I tend to isolate myself and pull myself AWAY from any friends I have.

  8. Lyss says:

    glad you got to spend time with friends and fam. that’s always so nice. and do some baking! i love the minimalist baker’s recipes. so excited to begin some holiday baking when i get home!

  9. Joyce @ The Hungry Caterpillar says:

    I take a couple vitamins too. I also have mixed feelings about it, but I know that my health comes first and if that’s what my dietitian recommends, it doesn’t hurt to try. I still have low bone density, too, and I know D is really important for bone health.
    I totally empathize with not wanting to whip out my camera when I’m around strangers. I do it, but I get the most annoying questions about it.

Leave a Reply

